$104 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 20, 2014 Check-out: Jul 21, 2014

Hollywood Historic Hotel

3 stars
5162 Melrose Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90038
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
357 reviews
Well worth a stay!

I had a great time at the Hollywood Historic Hotel. Free parking is a huge plus, and my room was... See full review

  • Amy in Hollywood
  • Mar 27, 2014
Beautiful restored hotel with a great location.

We were pleased with our stay. Quiet evenings and great location. Staff was helpful and parking was... See full review

  • Retired 70 Year Old
  • Mar 15, 2014
1920s era hotel with free parking and Wi-Fi in Hollywood, Los Angeles
Affordable accommodations are more than just a Hollywood dream at the restored white and red brick Hollywood Historic Hotel. The property is family-owned just one block from Paramount Pictures on Melrose Avenue. After a day in Hollywood, come back through an arched entrance to narrow carpeted hallways of the Hollywood Historic Hotel with black-and-white 1920s-era star photos and a room that offers its original windows and, in some, a view of the Hollywood sign. Guests enjoy the free high-speed wireless Internet access and parking.
Highlights
  • Free on-site parking
  • On the National Register of Historic Places
  • 24-hour front desk 
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
Location
The Hollywood Historic Hotel stretches a block wide in the middle of Los Angeles. The nearest freeway is Highway 101. Visitors of the Hollywood Historic Hotel with a personal vehicle find the best of Hollywood within a short drive.
Rooms
The Hollywood Historic Hotel is a European style guesthouse hotel with simplified amenities and artistic furniture. Black-and-white framed photos of Old Hollywood adorn every interior. All 62 rooms boast private bathrooms, large beds (one king or two queens) and a desk. Windows, doors, mirrors and bathtubs are the original fixtures of the building. Air conditioning, bath products, coffee makers, mini-refrigerators and 32-inch LCD TVs are provided. Hairdryers and iron/ironing boards are available upon request. Feel safe with interior hallway access (stairs only, no elevator) and electronic key card entry. Views at the Hollywood Historic Hotel are of the Hollywood sign, Griffith Observatory or greater Los Angeles.
Features
The Hollywood Historic Hotel tells a snapshot story of Old Hollywood in restored stained glass and gilded baroque accents through the small lobby. This hotel is owned and furnished by the family who operates the handcraft furniture store on street level of the same building. The front desk of the Hollywood Historic Hotel is open 24 hours. Guests enjoy the free high-speed wireless Internet access and parking.
Transportation
  • Los Angeles International Airport (22.5 mi/36.5 km)
  • Burbank Airport (13.6 mi/21.9 km)
  • Vermont Metro stop (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Union Station (5.2 mi/8.4 km)
Attractions
  • Paramount Pictures (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Larchmont Village shops and restaurants (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Pantages Theatre (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Kodak Theatre/Hollywood Walk of Fame (2.8 mi/4.4 km)
  • Beverly Hills (5.9 mi/9.6 km)
  • Universal Studios Hollywood (6 mi/9.1 km)
  • Staples Center (6.4 mi/10.3 km)
Policies and fees
  • An incidental deposit of $100.00 per room/per stay is required.
  • The property charges $100 USD deposit fee per room per stay, collected upon check in.
  • Must be 18 or older to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

34.0835 -118.3128
Area served
Hollywood Los Angeles West Hollywood, CA.
Nearby airports
Los Angeges (LAX) Burbank (BUR).
Area description
Located in the heart of Hollywood on the famous Melrose Avenue. One block from Paramount Pictures and Studios. 10 minutes from the Hollywood Walk of Fame, Grauman's Chinese Theater, Kodak Theater, Pantages Theater, El Capitan Theater, Griffith Observatory, the popular restaurants and clubs and Downtown Los Angeles. Walking distance from Larchmont Village for shopping or dining.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hollywood Historic Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.4 out of 5

Hollywood Historic Hotel Rooms

Deluxe - 3 - Star
One Non Smoking King bed with 32 LCD TV and premium cable channels, coffeemaker/coffee,refrigerator, free parking, Hollywood/Downtown view.
Deluxe - 3 - Star
One Smoking King size bed with 32 LCD TV and premium cable channels, coffemaker/coffee, refrigerator, free parking, Hollywood/Downtown view.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Amoeba Music: 1.4 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 1.8 mi
  • Koreatown: 1.9 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 2 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 2.1 mi
  • Magic Castle: 2.2 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 2.4 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 2.5 mi
  • The Grove: 2.7 mi
  • Farmers Market: 2.8 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 2.8 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 2.9 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 3.5 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 1.4 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 1.8 mi
  • Koreatown: 1.9 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 2 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 2.1 mi
  • Magic Castle: 2.2 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 2.4 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 2.5 mi
  • The Grove: 2.7 mi
  • Farmers Market: 2.8 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 2.8 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 2.9 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 3.5 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 3.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 3.8 mi
  • Staples Center: 3.8 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 4.1 mi
  • Kitson: 4.1 mi
  • Music Center: 4.1 mi
  • Pershing Square: 4.2 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 4.2 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 4.3 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 4.4 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 4.5 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 4.5 mi
  • Galen Center: 4.7 mi
  • Autry Museum Of Western Heritage: 4.8 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 4.8 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 5 mi
  • Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum: 5 mi
  • California Science Center: 5.1 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 5.3 mi
  • Simon Wiesenthal Center: 5.5 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 6 mi
  • Fowler Museum at UCLA: 7.4 mi
  • University of California: 7.4 mi
  • Westwood Memorial Park: 7.6 mi
  • Pauley Pavilion: 7.7 mi
  • UCLA: 8.1 mi
  • Ultrazone Laser Tag: 9.2 mi
  • J. Paul Getty Center: 9.3 mi
  • Getty Center: 9.3 mi
  • Getty Villa: 14.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (357)

Ratings and reviews for Hollywood Historic Hotel

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
357 out of 357
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.9

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mrs. Jennifer of Cali
San Fransisco, California
Jun 22, 2014

Great and Safe location

Very helpful staff, gated parking. Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Northern California
Sep 27, 2010

Unique hotel

The hotel has been renovated and is beautiful. The staff were very courteous and the rooms were clean. Given that it's an old hotel the walls are a little thin so you hear your neighbors but the price is right for the Los Angeles area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
meegit64
Fresno, CA
Jul 29, 2010

Nice accommodations

The hotel was very nice especially considering the low price. The room was small but clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location was very convenient to many Hollywood attractions. We really liked the old Hollywood photos that decorate the hotel. We would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Omaha
Jun 16, 2011

Great staff at Hollywood Historic Hotel

This is a basic hotel room for sleeping and then going out to see things. Paramount Studios is within walking distance. We walked all the way to Hollywood Blvd, but it was quite a hike--about an hour. Staff here is very helpful, courteous, and gracious. The historic vibe is what we loved best. Bed was comfortable, street noise was noticeable but not bothersome to us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brown Eyed Girl
Nampa, ID
Jun 8, 2011

Our Hollywood Historic Hotel Experience

When my boyfriend and I got to the hotel late at night, [...]instantly welcomed us in. He was the only one there at the time and treated us like good friends. He told us he was going to make us very comfortable, put us in an awesome room complete with it's own kitchen, and even carried my luggage up all the way to the third floor! We spent the first night of our week's stay in this room. The next day, Dustin and I went for a walk in downtown Hollywood. When we came back, we were unable to access our room. We were told that wasn't supposed to be our room, and we were moved to the other end of the hallway to a room without a kitchen. This was really the hotel's only downfall, but we weren't too upset because we knew Vladimir didn't mean to put us in someone else's room. The rest of our stay went great. It was a nice, quiet hotel. We often wondered if anyone else was staying there, but it was nice. I really enjoyed the walk-in closet because I like to take everything out of my suitcase, and there was also cable and free wifi!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Downtown Hollywood is 2 miles away, Beverly Hills is 6 miles away, and Universal Studios is a short drive away as well. The hotel is really in the center of everything!

Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tetorr
Santa Monica, CA.
Jun 14, 2014

Night out

Clean room. Old Hollywood feel. Would recommend when visiting Hollywood

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Johnny Becker
Business
Maryland
May 16, 2014

Historic Hollywood Hotel classy place

I had a nice corner room on the second floor with a king bed. Lots of room with lots of windows to look out my windows I see 4 palm trees and to the left of them I see the Hollywood sign across the mountainside. When I look at the wall to the other side of the windows I see a nice size picture of the same view, but from the 1920's when the sign across the mountainside read HOLLYWOODLAND. It was only a block and a half from Paramount Studios where I had to be for the "Taurus World Stunt Awards" I'd like the same room next year. The only thing I didn't like were the TV controls & the stations You get. The fan was alittle wabbly and noisy. I like the way they kept most of the building original and all the pics of the stars of that time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Broke College Kids
Orlando, FL, USA
Nov 2, 2011

Halloween in LA

This place was great for anyone who is looking for a cheap no frills place to stay. The bus stop is right out front with easy access to anything. Def recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traquair Girl
Business
San Francisco, California
Sep 16, 2013

Simple and clean - great value

Not a lot of frills - but comfy and clean with a really great staff. The hotel has a 1930's feeling and you definitely get the Hollywood vibe. Wish my room had a comfy chair to sit in other than the desk chair and a little more art on the walls of the room, but that is really my only complaint. I am looking forward to staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Nu Cafe next door - AWESOME breakfast and not expensive!

Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
wichtounet
Berkeley, California
Dec 30, 2012

Excellent place to visit Los Angeles

For its price, this hotel is very good. The location is not bad, there are several buses coming near enough to the hotel. Moreover, the hotel is located minutes away from the Paramount Studios. The room was clean, but lacking some things (trash in the room and a second nightstand). The staff was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top