$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 19, 2014 Check-out: Oct 21, 2014

Hollywood Historic Hotel

3 stars
5162 Melrose Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90038
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
261 reviews
nice hotel in hollywood

It was great, not a lot around it really within walking distance of interest but central enough to... See full review

  • Jennapples
  • Jul 25, 2014
Well worth a stay!

I had a great time at the Hollywood Historic Hotel. Free parking is a huge plus, and my room was... See full review

  • Amy in Hollywood
  • Mar 27, 2014
The Hollywood Historic Hotel opened in 1927 at the beginning of the early glamour days of Hollywood. Recently restored, the hotel honors the Old Hollywood Era and style. Built by acclaimed architect S. Charles Lee, The Hollywood Historic Hotel is a historic landmark of the "Golden Era". The hallways and rooms adorn black and white photos of the 1920's and 30's Hollywood and the celebrities of it's time. Hollywood Historic Hotel is located on the famous Melrose Ave. and is just ONE block away from Paramount Pictures/ Paramount Studios and 10 minutes away from the Hollywood Walk of Fame. The rooms offer nostalgic views of the Hollywood Sign, Griffith Observatory and Downtown Los Angeles Skyscrapers. A landmark property in the heart of Hollywood. The Hollywood Historic Hotel rooms offer state of the art card key locks, LCD TV's with premium channels,stainless steel refrigerators, coffee makers with coffee and condiments,high quality linens,towels,amenities and spacious Eastern King beds. The front desk is open 24 hours a day. Parking is Free. Must be 18 or older to check in. Please note that the deposit policy is $100 due upon check in per room per stay.

Hotel Map

34.0835 -118.3128
Area served
Hollywood Los Angeles West Hollywood, CA.
Nearby airports
Los Angeges (LAX) Burbank (BUR).
Area description
Located in the heart of Hollywood on the famous Melrose Avenue. One block from Paramount Pictures and Studios. 10 minutes from the Hollywood Walk of Fame, Grauman's Chinese Theater, Kodak Theater, Pantages Theater, El Capitan Theater, Griffith Observatory, the popular restaurants and clubs and Downtown Los Angeles. Walking distance from Larchmont Village for shopping or dining.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hollywood Historic Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hollywood Historic Hotel Rooms

Deluxe - 3 - Star
One Non Smoking King bed with 32 LCD TV and premium cable channels, coffeemaker/coffee,refrigerator, free parking, Hollywood/Downtown view.
Deluxe - 3 - Star
One Smoking King size bed with 32 LCD TV and premium cable channels, coffemaker/coffee, refrigerator, free parking, Hollywood/Downtown view.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Amoeba Music: 1.4 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 1.8 mi
  • Koreatown: 1.9 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 2 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 2.1 mi
  • Magic Castle: 2.2 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 2.4 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 2.5 mi
  • The Grove: 2.7 mi
  • Farmers Market: 2.8 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 2.8 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 2.9 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 3.5 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 1.4 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 1.8 mi
  • Koreatown: 1.9 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 2 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 2.1 mi
  • Magic Castle: 2.2 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 2.4 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 2.5 mi
  • The Grove: 2.7 mi
  • Farmers Market: 2.8 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 2.8 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 2.9 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 3.5 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 3.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 3.8 mi
  • Staples Center: 3.8 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 4.1 mi
  • Kitson: 4.1 mi
  • Music Center: 4.1 mi
  • Pershing Square: 4.2 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 4.2 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 4.3 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 4.4 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 4.5 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 4.5 mi
  • Galen Center: 4.7 mi
  • Autry Museum Of Western Heritage: 4.8 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 4.8 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 5 mi
  • Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum: 5 mi
  • California Science Center: 5.1 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 5.3 mi
  • Simon Wiesenthal Center: 5.5 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 6 mi
  • Fowler Museum at UCLA: 7.4 mi
  • University of California: 7.4 mi
  • Westwood Memorial Park: 7.6 mi
  • Pauley Pavilion: 7.7 mi
  • UCLA: 8.1 mi
  • Ultrazone Laser Tag: 9.2 mi
  • J. Paul Getty Center: 9.3 mi
  • Getty Center: 9.3 mi
  • Getty Villa: 14.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (261)

Ratings and reviews for Hollywood Historic Hotel

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
261 out of 261
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sue aksay
Business
Seatlle, WA
Feb 14, 2013

Nice surprise

Hotel was a very much like a masterpiece from the last century. It was clean, nice, quiet and comfortable. I enjoyed my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sue aksay
Business
Seatlle, WA
Feb 14, 2013

Nice surprise

Hotel was a very much like a masterpiece from the last century. It was clean, nice, quiet and comfortable. I enjoyed my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Angelselene
Business
California
Nov 6, 2013

Awesome place

It was really nice inside and the room was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bentonville, AR
May 28, 2011

Clean, Cheap and Close By

The place was really close to hollywood blvd.it was clean and it had a home feeling to it. The authentic mexican restaurant "Antequera de Oaxaca" is the best mexican food I've ever had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You hve to try the authentic mexican food next door "antequera de Oaxaca". Best auntenthic mexican food I've ever had. Try the "Tlayuda con Cecina" or "Memelitas con chorizo"

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco, CA
Sep 24, 2010

Good service and good location

The hotel staff were even kind enough in helping to check my rental car when it showed a unexpected sign. Thanks again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CONCERT GO'ER
BAKERSFIELD, CA
Aug 8, 2012

Awesome, just what I was looking for!

Devon, at the front desk was super friendly, helpful, and attentiive! The place was clean, the room was clean, and quiet. The entire place is observed with cameras my car was safe, we felt safe. I will definately go again. The price matches the hotel, it's quaint, beautifully re done!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
manyela
Vancouver, BC
Feb 15, 2011

Excellent Service

Nice and clean room. Free parking is a real benefit. Excellent value. Close to many tours sightseeing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Short drive to all popular tourist destinations.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
joseph lexie and ace.
dallas, Texas
Oct 14, 2013

awesome nostalgia feel

This is my 2nd time here and I always enjoyed my stay at HHH!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
nystic
san jose, ca
Oct 11, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

We went to hollywood bowl for a concert, and it's the best price in hollywood. It's also close to shops at Melrose st.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Retired 70 Year Old
Hollywood Hotel
Mar 15, 2014

Beautiful restored hotel with a great location.

We were pleased with our stay. Quiet evenings and great location. Staff was helpful and parking was secure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Amy in Hollywood
New York, USA
Mar 27, 2014

Well worth a stay!

I had a great time at the Hollywood Historic Hotel. Free parking is a huge plus, and my room was enormous and had a perfect view of Melrose Avenue and the Hollywood sign. The staff were always friendly and helpful, and I loved the classic old-timey Hollywood decor. The location is great if you have a car with you, which I did, but I'd imagine that most of the tourist points would be a bit too far to walk to from the hotel. I really enjoyed my stay and would definitely recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top