$88 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 25, 2015 Check-out: Jan 28, 2015

Hollywood Historic Hotel

3 stars
5162 Melrose Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90038
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
269 reviews
Wonderful Hotel in Hollywood

Front desk was great. Room was super clean, bathroom as well. Would definitely stay again and... See full review

  • MCMCMC
  • Oct 20, 2014
Old Hollywood Vibe and Great Location

I booked this hotel with about 75% confidence that everything would turn out alright, and my... See full review

  • Fairest Traveler
  • Oct 13, 2014
1920s era hotel with free parking and Wi-Fi in Hollywood, Los Angeles
Affordable accommodations are more than just a Hollywood dream at the restored white and red brick Hollywood Historic Hotel. The property is family-owned just one block from Paramount Pictures on Melrose Avenue. After a day in Hollywood, come back through an arched entrance to narrow carpeted hallways of the Hollywood Historic Hotel with black-and-white 1920s-era star photos and a room that offers its original windows and, in some, a view of the Hollywood sign. Guests enjoy the free high-speed wireless Internet access and parking.
Highlights
  • Free on-site parking
  • On the National Register of Historic Places
  • 24-hour front desk 
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
Location
The Hollywood Historic Hotel stretches a block wide in the middle of Los Angeles. The nearest freeway is Highway 101. Visitors of the Hollywood Historic Hotel with a personal vehicle find the best of Hollywood within a short drive.
Rooms
The Hollywood Historic Hotel is a European style guesthouse hotel with simplified amenities and artistic furniture. Black-and-white framed photos of Old Hollywood adorn every interior. All 62 rooms boast private bathrooms, large beds (one king or two queens) and a desk. Windows, doors, mirrors and bathtubs are the original fixtures of the building. Air conditioning, bath products, coffee makers, mini-refrigerators and 32-inch LCD TVs are provided. Hairdryers and iron/ironing boards are available upon request. Feel safe with interior hallway access (stairs only, no elevator) and electronic key card entry. Views at the Hollywood Historic Hotel are of the Hollywood sign, Griffith Observatory or greater Los Angeles.
Features
The Hollywood Historic Hotel tells a snapshot story of Old Hollywood in restored stained glass and gilded baroque accents through the small lobby. This hotel is owned and furnished by the family who operates the handcraft furniture store on street level of the same building. The front desk of the Hollywood Historic Hotel is open 24 hours. Guests enjoy the free high-speed wireless Internet access and parking.
Transportation
  • Los Angeles International Airport (22.5 mi/36.5 km)
  • Burbank Airport (13.6 mi/21.9 km)
  • Vermont Metro stop (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Union Station (5.2 mi/8.4 km)
Attractions
  • Paramount Pictures (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Larchmont Village shops and restaurants (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Pantages Theatre (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Kodak Theatre/Hollywood Walk of Fame (2.8 mi/4.4 km)
  • Beverly Hills (5.9 mi/9.6 km)
  • Universal Studios Hollywood (6 mi/9.1 km)
  • Staples Center (6.4 mi/10.3 km)
Policies and fees
  • An incidental deposit of $100.00 per room/per stay is required.
  • The property charges $100 USD deposit fee per room per stay, collected upon check in.
  • Must be 18 or older to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hollywood Historic Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hollywood Historic Hotel Rooms

Deluxe - 3 - Star
One Non Smoking King bed with 32 LCD TV and premium cable channels, coffeemaker/coffee,refrigerator, free parking, Hollywood/Downtown view.
Deluxe - 3 - Star
One Smoking King size bed with 32 LCD TV and premium cable channels, coffemaker/coffee, refrigerator, free parking, Hollywood/Downtown view.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Amoeba Music: 1.4 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 1.8 mi
  • Koreatown: 1.9 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 2 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 2.1 mi
  • Magic Castle: 2.2 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 2.4 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 2.5 mi
  • The Grove: 2.7 mi
  • Farmers Market: 2.8 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 2.8 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 2.9 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 3.5 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 1.4 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 1.8 mi
  • Koreatown: 1.9 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 2 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 2.1 mi
  • Magic Castle: 2.2 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 2.4 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 2.5 mi
  • The Grove: 2.7 mi
  • Farmers Market: 2.8 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 2.8 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 2.9 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 3.5 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 3.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 3.8 mi
  • Staples Center: 3.8 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 4.1 mi
  • Kitson: 4.1 mi
  • Music Center: 4.1 mi
  • Pershing Square: 4.2 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 4.2 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 4.3 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 4.4 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 4.5 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 4.5 mi
  • Galen Center: 4.7 mi
  • Autry Museum Of Western Heritage: 4.8 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 4.8 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 5 mi
  • Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum: 5 mi
  • California Science Center: 5.1 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 5.3 mi
  • Simon Wiesenthal Center: 5.5 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 6 mi
  • Fowler Museum at UCLA: 7.4 mi
  • University of California: 7.4 mi
  • Westwood Memorial Park: 7.6 mi
  • Pauley Pavilion: 7.7 mi
  • UCLA: 8.1 mi
  • Ultrazone Laser Tag: 9.2 mi
  • J. Paul Getty Center: 9.3 mi
  • Getty Center: 9.3 mi
  • Getty Villa: 14.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (269)

Ratings and reviews for Hollywood Historic Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
43 out of 269
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.8
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fairest Traveler
Business
Minnesota
Oct 13, 2014

Old Hollywood Vibe and Great Location

I booked this hotel with about 75% confidence that everything would turn out alright, and my expectations were greatly exceeded. My room was clean, stylish, and quiet, with an old-fashioned feel. The people behind the desk (night and day) were friendly and very helpful. This hotel is situation 10 minutes from Warner Bros Studio, Hollywood Blvd, and Griffith Observatory. You can easily walk to Paramount Studios, Hollywood Forever Cemetery, and Cafe Gratitude. Parking is free and plentiful (at least when I was there). My only warning: don't walk too far east from the hotel. The neighborhood gets really sketchy really fast. Keep to the west, near the studios and cute shops. You'll be just fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Try the tasty buckwheat pancakes with cashew whipped cream at Cafe Gratitude.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jennapples
Business
vancouver bc
Jul 25, 2014

nice hotel in hollywood

It was great, not a lot around it really within walking distance of interest but central enough to a lot of places with a car or uber, but great price for the hollywood area. Clean, updated enough but charming historic vibe. Staff very helpful and friendly. Corner store, funky cafe close enough to walk to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Amy in Hollywood
Business
New York, USA
Mar 27, 2014

Well worth a stay!

I had a great time at the Hollywood Historic Hotel. Free parking is a huge plus, and my room was enormous and had a perfect view of Melrose Avenue and the Hollywood sign. The staff were always friendly and helpful, and I loved the classic old-timey Hollywood decor. The location is great if you have a car with you, which I did, but I'd imagine that most of the tourist points would be a bit too far to walk to from the hotel. I really enjoyed my stay and would definitely recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chopps
Business
San Francisco,CA
Jan 4, 2014

Classic Hollywood

Very cool hotel, art deco with lots of classic photos in all the halls, central location and free parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Astro Burger makes a tasty burger.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
fries
Business
usa
Dec 26, 2013

work

the best, clean rooms, great help with ride to airport

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jacqueline Murray
Business
Vancouver, BC
Oct 18, 2013

I had a blast!!!

I stayed at the Hollywood Historic Hotel this past weekend and I have to say that I had a really great time. I used to live in Los Angeles so I understand what the buildings and neighborhoods are all about... the location is a little shady at night, but I still felt safe. The staff were great!! I loved the door men, very helpful and pleasant. My room was great, I stayed in a corner unit on the second floor, it was very spacious and the King size bed was great, linens were clean... carpets were clean. The bathroom, although a little dated, was very clean and everything worked. There was a little mini fridge which was very convenient. The only thing that I disliked was there were no phones in the room, so I had to go downstairs each time I needed to talk to the front desk. But, it is a historic hotel, the electricity and plumbing are up to date so that is all I care about. I loved the design of the hotel, the furniture was fantastic and in great condition. I didn't find it very noisy, I was in the back of the hotel, not facing the road. But if you are gonna stay in a hotel on one of the busy streets like Melrose then the noise is to be expected. The price was great, the staff was great and my room was great.. I would stay here again for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gypsy one
Business
Chicago, IL
Oct 15, 2013

Great one night stay.

very cute charming hotel. Nice clean room. friendley front desk staff. Great little cafe next door for coffee and breakfast. Loved the cute little charming room. free parking is a plus. felt safe with parking cameras. will stay again and recommend too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

short drive to Hollywood Blvd attractions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JJ Sparkle
Business
Seattle
Oct 10, 2013

Cool, funky place.

Hotel was right down the street from Paramount Studios. Rooms have not been updated, but that is a plus in my book; I don't want the room to look like 2013, I want it to look like 1920! However, the decor could be better. Staff was outstanding!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KayakMayor
Business
Napa, CA
Sep 17, 2013

great building, modest amenities

This is a lovely building with good parking in a transitional part of town. The soap, towels and coffee were on the cheap side, but then so was the price. Very good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Pounce
Business
New York, NY
Sep 8, 2013

A little better then expected.

Needed a room for a couple of hours to do some work before a 6AM flight and didn't want to spend a fortune. My main concern when booking a hotel at this price point was cleanliness. It was actually very clean - but everything else was exactly what you would except for the price. Creepy old hotel with no amenities - no ice machine either. Front desk staff was very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top