$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 6, 2014 Check-out: Nov 7, 2014

Hollywood Historic Hotel

3 stars
5162 Melrose Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90038
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
264 reviews
Wonderful Hotel in Hollywood

Front desk was great. Room was super clean, bathroom as well. Would definitely stay again and... See full review

  • MCMCMC
  • Oct 20, 2014
Old Hollywood Vibe and Great Location

I booked this hotel with about 75% confidence that everything would turn out alright, and my... See full review

  • Fairest Traveler
  • Oct 13, 2014
The Hollywood Historic Hotel opened in 1927 at the beginning of the early glamour days of Hollywood. Recently restored, the hotel honors the Old Hollywood Era and style. Built by acclaimed architect S. Charles Lee, The Hollywood Historic Hotel is a historic landmark of the "Golden Era". The hallways and rooms adorn black and white photos of the 1920's and 30's Hollywood and the celebrities of it's time. Hollywood Historic Hotel is located on the famous Melrose Ave. and is just ONE block away from Paramount Pictures/ Paramount Studios and 10 minutes away from the Hollywood Walk of Fame. The rooms offer nostalgic views of the Hollywood Sign, Griffith Observatory and Downtown Los Angeles Skyscrapers. A landmark property in the heart of Hollywood. The Hollywood Historic Hotel rooms offer state of the art card key locks, LCD TV's with premium channels,stainless steel refrigerators, coffee makers with coffee and condiments,high quality linens,towels,amenities and spacious Eastern King beds. The front desk is open 24 hours a day. Parking is Free. Must be 18 or older to check in. Please note that the deposit policy is $100 due upon check in per room per stay.

Hotel Map

34.0835 -118.3128
Area served
Hollywood Los Angeles West Hollywood, CA.
Nearby airports
Los Angeges (LAX) Burbank (BUR).
Area description
Located in the heart of Hollywood on the famous Melrose Avenue. One block from Paramount Pictures and Studios. 10 minutes from the Hollywood Walk of Fame, Grauman's Chinese Theater, Kodak Theater, Pantages Theater, El Capitan Theater, Griffith Observatory, the popular restaurants and clubs and Downtown Los Angeles. Walking distance from Larchmont Village for shopping or dining.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hollywood Historic Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hollywood Historic Hotel Rooms

Deluxe - 3 - Star
One Non Smoking King bed with 32 LCD TV and premium cable channels, coffeemaker/coffee,refrigerator, free parking, Hollywood/Downtown view.
Deluxe - 3 - Star
One Smoking King size bed with 32 LCD TV and premium cable channels, coffemaker/coffee, refrigerator, free parking, Hollywood/Downtown view.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Amoeba Music: 1.4 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 1.8 mi
  • Koreatown: 1.9 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 2 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 2.1 mi
  • Magic Castle: 2.2 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 2.4 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 2.5 mi
  • The Grove: 2.7 mi
  • Farmers Market: 2.8 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 2.8 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 2.9 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 3.5 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 1.4 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 1.8 mi
  • Koreatown: 1.9 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 2 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 2.1 mi
  • Magic Castle: 2.2 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 2.4 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 2.5 mi
  • The Grove: 2.7 mi
  • Farmers Market: 2.8 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 2.8 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 2.9 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 3.5 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 3.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 3.8 mi
  • Staples Center: 3.8 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 4.1 mi
  • Kitson: 4.1 mi
  • Music Center: 4.1 mi
  • Pershing Square: 4.2 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 4.2 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 4.3 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 4.4 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 4.5 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 4.5 mi
  • Galen Center: 4.7 mi
  • Autry Museum Of Western Heritage: 4.8 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 4.8 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 5 mi
  • Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum: 5 mi
  • California Science Center: 5.1 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 5.3 mi
  • Simon Wiesenthal Center: 5.5 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 6 mi
  • Fowler Museum at UCLA: 7.4 mi
  • University of California: 7.4 mi
  • Westwood Memorial Park: 7.6 mi
  • Pauley Pavilion: 7.7 mi
  • UCLA: 8.1 mi
  • Ultrazone Laser Tag: 9.2 mi
  • J. Paul Getty Center: 9.3 mi
  • Getty Center: 9.3 mi
  • Getty Villa: 14.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (264)

Ratings and reviews for Hollywood Historic Hotel

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
120 out of 264
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.8

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dan Dan Noodle
Business
Seattle, WA
Sep 12, 2014

Charming, but aging

The hotel was doable. There was a cute, old Hollywood charm to it. But since it is an older motel, things are bound not be perfect. For instance, the hot water in the shower fluctuated from warm to scalding hot. Also, the air conditioning didn't completely cool our room. But this is the worst of the worst. Otherwise, and the bottom line, I'd stay again. Great location to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bubbles101
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 28, 2014

Good for couples

Concierge recommended a room with a view of the Hollywood sign-that was nice. Flat screen TV with digital cable. Bathroom had a tub/shower. Air conditioner was in the window but would blow on you in bed. Bed was comfy. You could hear people upstairs because the floors weren't carpeted. Loved the elevator and pictures on the walls. We didn't see any spirits/ghosts but maybe next time. The major downfall of this place was the extreme chemical/windex smell the entire room had for the duration of time we were there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lucy's adobe cafe

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nits121
Business
Texas
Jul 24, 2014

Good location

It's a average hotel at good location. Staff is friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
KB in T Town
Business
Tucson
Jul 14, 2014

A Place To Sleep

This is a great place if you are looking to "sleep" somewhere. The hotel is clean enough. There are no amenities - not even an ice maker on the premise or a phone in the room. The café featured in on the website was not what we expected. We were hoping for a traditional pancake and egg breakfast - it is not. Parking was free and easy. Location was an easy drive to most destinations. Not a place I would want to stay had the children been with us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
naeraleslie
Business
orlando, fl
Jun 26, 2014

Good Experience

My fiance and I were happy with this place, especially because he is an independent filmmaker, and the hotel has all these amazing hollywood pictures since 1920s in the hall way

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
First timer to LA
Business
Alabama
Jun 18, 2014

Cool old hotel, close to local sites

Nice staff, helpful for tourists. Very small, yet quaint rooms, and our room had clear view of Hollywood sign. Free parking was a suprise, and was close enough to drive to all tourisy sites. Easy to find. Room was extremely quiet, even though widows faced busy street. No restaurant, or ice machine but could walk to nearby cafe. Great for one night stay for site seeking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

If site seeking in LA, scout out all parking facilities. We found lots ranging from $20 day down to $2; should have circled block a few more times to save money. Also, tours were expensive, but could be negotiated!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ishi
Business
San Francisco, CA
Apr 4, 2014

DUPED! Not provided with the NON-SMOKING room I was promised

I had called weeks ahead and the night before to be assured a NON-SMOKING room. The evening I arrived, I was informed that they simply did not have any left despite my reservation and no apology or compensation made...Windowsill was filthy with cigarettes:(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Griffith Observatory

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JV on vacation
Business
Pittsburg, CA
Apr 1, 2014

Near Paramount

Good, room size good, bathroom small, entrance to parking lot off street narrow

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Paramount Studios nearby

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ishi
Business
San Francisco, CA
Mar 23, 2014

Non-Smoking NOT guaranteed

My initial request were for a non-smoking room and I had not received email confirmation, and nobody answered their phones at all hours. I called booker the day before to reconfirm and they conferences Michael who advised that they could assure me a non-smoking room (very important due to allergies and health concerns). Upon arrival the next day he said they were sold out, and are a 50% smoking room. Made no accommodations or apologies for putting us in a smoking room with fresh cigarette butts on the window sills even. Upon check-out the next morning I informed the manager Betty, and she said to ask for her next time to supposedly guarantee a non-smoking room. I have no faith in that promise as it had already been broken once. The location was ok for the price, and parking free, but not worth the frustration of dealing with a switcheroo after a long day of travel with no compensation or genuine remorse.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Griffith Observatory

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
From Portland Oregon
Business
Portland, Oregon
Mar 16, 2014

Explore Los Angeles

Pros: Prime location to freeways under $70 a night large room large closet that was useless FREE PARKING mini frig Cons: All the beds are super worn out. We switched 2 rooms. Jack hammer at the construction next door starts at 7AM everyday. Shower head had very low pressure. Had to use the coffee pot to dump water on myself to speed up the process!! carpet is gross. No tissue, had to use toilet paper. ironing board had stains Stuff to bring if you plan on booking this hotel. Bed slippers shower head ear plugs tissue paper For the money I think it was ok but I would never stay at a super low end hotel again. My back hurts and it just ruins your vacation. Spend a little more money if you want a batter Los Angeles experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top