$111 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2015 Check-out: Aug 27, 2015

Hollywood Historic Hotel

3 stars
View map of 5162 Melrose Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90038

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
254 reviews
A Piece of History

We loved the look of this vintage hotel. The corridors were lined with photos of old Hollywood. The... See full review

  • Dana R.
  • Feb 25, 2015
Great Location, Great People

The first thing I notice online was that it was cheap. I took a gamble and I was very glad I did.... See full review

  • cjmarbutt
  • Jan 6, 2015
Affordable accommodations are more than just a Hollywood dream at the restored white and red brick Hollywood Historic Hotel. The property is family-owned just one block from Paramount Pictures on Melrose Avenue. After a day in Hollywood, come back through an arched entrance to narrow carpeted hallways of the Hollywood Historic Hotel with black-and-white 1920s-era star photos and a room that offers its original windows and, in some, a view of the Hollywood sign. Guests enjoy the free high-speed wireless Internet access and parking.
Location
The Hollywood Historic Hotel stretches a block wide in the middle of Los Angeles. The nearest freeway is Highway 101. Visitors of the Hollywood Historic Hotel with a personal vehicle find the best of Hollywood within a short drive.
Rooms
The Hollywood Historic Hotel is a European style guesthouse hotel with simplified amenities and artistic furniture. Black-and-white framed photos of Old Hollywood adorn every interior. All 62 rooms boast private bathrooms, large beds (one king or two queens) and a desk. Windows, doors, mirrors and bathtubs are the original fixtures of the building. Air conditioning, bath products, coffee makers, mini-refrigerators and 32-inch LCD TVs are provided. Hairdryers and iron/ironing boards are available upon request. Feel safe with interior hallway access (stairs only, no elevator) and electronic key card entry. Views at the Hollywood Historic Hotel are of the Hollywood sign, Griffith Observatory or greater Los Angeles.
Property features
The Hollywood Historic Hotel tells a snapshot story of Old Hollywood in restored stained glass and gilded baroque accents through the small lobby. This hotel is owned and furnished by the family who operates the handcraft furniture store on street level of the same building. The front desk of the Hollywood Historic Hotel is open 24 hours. Guests enjoy the free high-speed wireless Internet access and parking.
Highlights
  • Free on-site parking
  • On the National Register of Historic Places
  • 24-hour front desk 
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
Nearby attractions
  • Paramount Pictures (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Larchmont Village shops and restaurants (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Pantages Theatre (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Kodak Theatre/Hollywood Walk of Fame (2.8 mi/4.4 km)
  • Beverly Hills (5.9 mi/9.6 km)
  • Universal Studios Hollywood (6 mi/9.1 km)
  • Staples Center (6.4 mi/10.3 km)
Transportation
  • Los Angeles International Airport (22.5 mi/36.5 km)
  • Burbank Airport (13.6 mi/21.9 km)
  • Vermont Metro stop (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Union Station (5.2 mi/8.4 km)
Policies
  • An incidental deposit of $100.00 per room/per stay is required.
  • The property charges $100 USD deposit fee per room per stay, collected upon check in.
  • Must be 18 or older to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hollywood Historic Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hollywood Historic Hotel Rooms

Deluxe - 3 - Star
One Non Smoking King bed with 32 LCD TV and premium cable channels, coffeemaker/coffee,refrigerator, free parking, Hollywood/Downtown view.
Deluxe - 3 - Star
One Smoking King size bed with 32 LCD TV and premium cable channels, coffemaker/coffee, refrigerator, free parking, Hollywood/Downtown view.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Amoeba Music: 1.4 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 1.8 mi
  • Koreatown: 1.9 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 2 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 2.1 mi
  • Magic Castle: 2.2 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 2.4 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 2.5 mi
  • The Grove: 2.7 mi
  • Farmers Market: 2.8 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 2.8 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 2.9 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 3.5 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 1.4 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 1.8 mi
  • Koreatown: 1.9 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 2 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 2.1 mi
  • Magic Castle: 2.2 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 2.4 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 2.5 mi
  • The Grove: 2.7 mi
  • Farmers Market: 2.8 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 2.8 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 2.9 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 3.5 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 3.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 3.8 mi
  • Staples Center: 3.8 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 4.1 mi
  • Kitson: 4.1 mi
  • Music Center: 4.1 mi
  • Pershing Square: 4.2 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 4.2 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 4.3 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 4.4 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 4.5 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 4.5 mi
  • Universal Studios: 4.6 mi
  • Galen Center: 4.7 mi
  • Autry Museum Of Western Heritage: 4.8 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 4.8 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 5 mi
  • Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum: 5 mi
  • California Science Center: 5.1 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 5.3 mi
  • Simon Wiesenthal Center: 5.5 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 6 mi
  • Fowler Museum at UCLA: 7.4 mi
  • University of California: 7.4 mi
  • Westwood Memorial Park: 7.6 mi
  • Pauley Pavilion: 7.7 mi
  • UCLA: 8.1 mi
  • Ultrazone Laser Tag: 9.2 mi
  • J. Paul Getty Center: 9.3 mi
  • Getty Center: 9.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Hollywood Historic Hotel

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
118 out of 254
Amenities:
2.8
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.9

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mimi88
Business
N/A
May 3, 2015

mini vacation

It was OK. The area it was in is not as great I thought it would be but it's just a coulple of minutes away from Hollywood.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
iiesa
Business
Moreno Valley
Mar 24, 2015

stay after a concert

We are staying the night after attending a concert and this hotel was only a few minutes away. I really wanted to like this place for its historic value but I just couldn't. The rooms are extremely small and do not even get me started on the bathroom. I am a small woman of 5 feet tall and the toilet is literally facing the bathtub and my legs would not fit in the tiny space between the toilet seat and tub. Just too tiny all around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anthony R.
Business
Las Vegas
Mar 19, 2015

Hollywood Historic Hotel

This hotel is nice and one of the cheapest in Hollywood. You are walking distance to Hollywood Blvd. It is not the best area. It is fine if you just need a place to sleep and shower. The beds are not the most comfortable. I did like how old it was and the 1920s architecture.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dana R.
Business
Turlock
Feb 25, 2015

A Piece of History

We loved the look of this vintage hotel. The corridors were lined with photos of old Hollywood. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and well maintained. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
David P.
Business
N/A
Jan 24, 2015

Great ambiance

This hotel was well situated in West Hollywood with good access for getting around LA. The free parking was a fantastic bonus considering the cost of parking in LA. The photos of LA's past created a nice atmosphere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jorge S.
Business
N/A
Jan 14, 2015

Very Good Location

They were remodeling so the place was very noisy at night, we couldn't sleep! The location is perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TRAVELIN DON
Business
BEACON
Jan 5, 2015

Fantastic LA weekend

The hotel was clean and conveniently located and there was always parking in the parking lot. No amenities except for some vending machines and the hotel is old, but I think that's what I liked about it. I was disappointed by the nightlife in the area, as it is supposed to be an up and coming area for that sort of thing, or at least according to the kid at the front desk it is, but walking and driving all around the area one night led us nowhere. During the day, though, it's convenient to everything and there is good shopping up and down the strip there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jakkiroc
Business
Bakersfield, CA, USA
Dec 4, 2014

LA trip

It was cool staying in a historic hotel. The staff was nice enough. Room was small but do-able.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kazs
Business
PA
Nov 6, 2014

Historic Hollywood - great location

Very clean. Courteous staff. Simple room. Great location once you know your way around. Close to many things.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Coyote's for great Mexican food!

Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jadedragonxxx1
Business
Long Beach, California
Nov 5, 2014

An Average Hotel

While I'm not very particular about my hotels, if you travel with a female companion I think you may find this hotel not to their liking. The rooms are old but clean. The bathrooms are not meant for women to get ready in. They are small and, at least in the room I had, had no counter space at all and only a very tiny sink and mirror. When I say tiny I mean tiny. The room itself was of average size but you can see the age of the place. I knew when I was going in it was an old place so I was fine with it. On the plus side I did like that the parking was free and I never had a problem finding a spot. The location was close to everywhere I needed to go. The staff was helpful and courteous. The free wifi came in handy too. Oh and just be sure to ask them for a room on the back side of the hotel. I stayed on the street side and even with the double pane windows it was still a bit noisy. If you're traveling solo and not too particular about your hotel but would like to stay close to Hollywood and want free wifi, parking and a fair price then go for this place. If you're traveling with a female companion I would look elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

When driving around Hollywood try to stay off the main streets. They are always crowded. Learn to use the streets that run parallel to the main blvd and you'll get to where to need in half the time.

Back to menu Return to top