$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2015 Check-out: Sep 22, 2015

Hollywood Historic Hotel

3 stars
View map of 5162 Melrose Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90038

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
254 reviews
A Piece of History

We loved the look of this vintage hotel. The corridors were lined with photos of old Hollywood. The... See full review

  • Dana R.
  • Feb 25, 2015
Great Location, Great People

The first thing I notice online was that it was cheap. I took a gamble and I was very glad I did.... See full review

  • cjmarbutt
  • Jan 6, 2015
Affordable accommodations are more than just a Hollywood dream at the restored white and red brick Hollywood Historic Hotel. The property is family-owned just one block from Paramount Pictures on Melrose Avenue. After a day in Hollywood, come back through an arched entrance to narrow carpeted hallways of the Hollywood Historic Hotel with black-and-white 1920s-era star photos and a room that offers its original windows and, in some, a view of the Hollywood sign. Guests enjoy the free high-speed wireless Internet access and parking.
Location
The Hollywood Historic Hotel stretches a block wide in the middle of Los Angeles. The nearest freeway is Highway 101. Visitors of the Hollywood Historic Hotel with a personal vehicle find the best of Hollywood within a short drive.
Rooms
The Hollywood Historic Hotel is a European style guesthouse hotel with simplified amenities and artistic furniture. Black-and-white framed photos of Old Hollywood adorn every interior. All 62 rooms boast private bathrooms, large beds (one king or two queens) and a desk. Windows, doors, mirrors and bathtubs are the original fixtures of the building. Air conditioning, bath products, coffee makers, mini-refrigerators and 32-inch LCD TVs are provided. Hairdryers and iron/ironing boards are available upon request. Feel safe with interior hallway access (stairs only, no elevator) and electronic key card entry. Views at the Hollywood Historic Hotel are of the Hollywood sign, Griffith Observatory or greater Los Angeles.
Property features
The Hollywood Historic Hotel tells a snapshot story of Old Hollywood in restored stained glass and gilded baroque accents through the small lobby. This hotel is owned and furnished by the family who operates the handcraft furniture store on street level of the same building. The front desk of the Hollywood Historic Hotel is open 24 hours. Guests enjoy the free high-speed wireless Internet access and parking.
Highlights
  • Free on-site parking
  • On the National Register of Historic Places
  • 24-hour front desk 
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
Nearby attractions
  • Paramount Pictures (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Larchmont Village shops and restaurants (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Pantages Theatre (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Kodak Theatre/Hollywood Walk of Fame (2.8 mi/4.4 km)
  • Beverly Hills (5.9 mi/9.6 km)
  • Universal Studios Hollywood (6 mi/9.1 km)
  • Staples Center (6.4 mi/10.3 km)
Transportation
  • Los Angeles International Airport (22.5 mi/36.5 km)
  • Burbank Airport (13.6 mi/21.9 km)
  • Vermont Metro stop (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Union Station (5.2 mi/8.4 km)
Policies
  • An incidental deposit of $100.00 per room/per stay is required.
  • The property charges $100 USD deposit fee per room per stay, collected upon check in.
  • Must be 18 or older to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hollywood Historic Hotel also booked these hotels.

★★★
$107
3.6 / 5 26 reviews
★★★★
$215
4.3 / 5 82 reviews
★★★
$160
3.4 / 5 173 reviews
★★★
$183
4.1 / 5 9 reviews
★★★★
$193
3.8 / 5 63 reviews
★★★★
$214
3.6 / 5 95 reviews
★★★★
$245
3.3 / 5 3 reviews

Hollywood Historic Hotel Rooms

Deluxe - 3 - Star
One Non Smoking King bed with 32 LCD TV and premium cable channels, coffeemaker/coffee,refrigerator, free parking, Hollywood/Downtown view.
Deluxe - 3 - Star
One Smoking King size bed with 32 LCD TV and premium cable channels, coffemaker/coffee, refrigerator, free parking, Hollywood/Downtown view.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Amoeba Music: 1.4 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 1.8 mi
  • Koreatown: 1.9 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 2 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 2.1 mi
  • Magic Castle: 2.2 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 2.4 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 2.5 mi
  • The Grove: 2.7 mi
  • Farmers Market: 2.8 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 2.8 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 2.9 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 3.5 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 1.4 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 1.8 mi
  • Koreatown: 1.9 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 2 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 2.1 mi
  • Magic Castle: 2.2 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 2.4 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 2.5 mi
  • The Grove: 2.7 mi
  • Farmers Market: 2.8 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 2.8 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 2.9 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 3.5 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 3.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 3.8 mi
  • Staples Center: 3.8 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 4.1 mi
  • Kitson: 4.1 mi
  • Music Center: 4.1 mi
  • Pershing Square: 4.2 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 4.2 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 4.3 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 4.4 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 4.5 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 4.5 mi
  • Universal Studios: 4.6 mi
  • Galen Center: 4.7 mi
  • Autry Museum Of Western Heritage: 4.8 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 4.8 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 5 mi
  • Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum: 5 mi
  • California Science Center: 5.1 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 5.3 mi
  • Simon Wiesenthal Center: 5.5 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 6 mi
  • Fowler Museum at UCLA: 7.4 mi
  • University of California: 7.4 mi
  • Westwood Memorial Park: 7.6 mi
  • Pauley Pavilion: 7.7 mi
  • UCLA: 8.1 mi
  • Ultrazone Laser Tag: 9.2 mi
  • J. Paul Getty Center: 9.3 mi
  • Getty Center: 9.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Hollywood Historic Hotel

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
32 out of 254
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.8

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Andrew Bly
Business
N/A
Jan 7, 2015

No Frills but worth the price

This hotel isn't loaded with frills and the bed isn't all that comfortable but it's a great value based on it's location and price. It's clean just hasn't been updated in a long time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cjmarbutt
Business
Camp Hill
Jan 6, 2015

Great Location, Great People

The first thing I notice online was that it was cheap. I took a gamble and I was very glad I did. Built in the 1920's the Historic Hollywood is a living part of history with a quaint charm. However all the amenities are up to date, the staff is wonderful and the location is perfect for exploring all that Hollywood has to offer. If you aren't up for the walking, just get a bus pass. The bus stop is literally right out front.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Tony Easy
Business
Milpitas, California
Oct 24, 2014

Too old and not clean

There's nothing wrong to be retro except that it has to be clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MCMCMC
Business
San Francisco, California
Oct 20, 2014

Wonderful Hotel in Hollywood

Front desk was great. Room was super clean, bathroom as well. Would definitely stay again and highly recommend. Loved at the old photos throughout!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TRodS2000
Business
Ft. Worth, Texas
May 31, 2014

Very Quaint

Very nice Hotel and the weather was good so I was able to open the Windows and not run the AC. However RM 301 is right above the smokers area and if you don't like the smell of cigarette smoke this room may not be that great. The staff was very friendly and helpfull if you want to see the sites and need directions. I liked my room when I was in it. There is no phone in the room but they do have free WiFi and a mini fridge to keep drink and food in. I would definitely stay in this Hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The number 10 Bus runs right in front of the Hotel and it connects with a great number of other buses to get you where you want to go.

Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Johnny Becker
Business
Maryland
May 16, 2014

Historic Hollywood Hotel classy place

I had a nice corner room on the second floor with a king bed. Lots of room with lots of windows to look out my windows I see 4 palm trees and to the left of them I see the Hollywood sign across the mountainside. When I look at the wall to the other side of the windows I see a nice size picture of the same view, but from the 1920's when the sign across the mountainside read HOLLYWOODLAND. It was only a block and a half from Paramount Studios where I had to be for the "Taurus World Stunt Awards" I'd like the same room next year. The only thing I didn't like were the TV controls & the stations You get. The fan was alittle wabbly and noisy. I like the way they kept most of the building original and all the pics of the stars of that time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BooneK
Business
WNY
Apr 11, 2014

Business Stay

Great location made it easy to get to my meetings. Close to Larchmont Village for casual breakfasts. Clean room. Looks like it was once an residence hotel and they're renovating, but a lot of charm. No gym, no phones in rooms. Window air conditioner was a little tricky but a great value for LA.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Larchmont Village for breakfast. Lots of choices. 5 min drive.

Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
intrepid women
Business
USA
Dec 20, 2013

quaint

the hotel is very cute and had the touch of classic hollywood. the first room we checked into smelled like a cat's litter box so we immediately requested a room change. the rooms are very nice (not luxurious by any means but we are simple people). the location was great, we could see the hollywood sign and griffith observatory from our room, we were centrally located, and we never felt unsafe. the desk staff were friendly and resourceful but the cleaning staff unplugged our refrigerator twice, spoiling our food (the woman at the desk did reimburse us so we feel that the problem was addressed). the internet was free but spotty. overall, good for our needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Angelselene
Business
California
Nov 6, 2013

Awesome place

It was really nice inside and the room was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traquair Girl
Business
San Francisco, California
Sep 16, 2013

Simple and clean - great value

Not a lot of frills - but comfy and clean with a really great staff. The hotel has a 1930's feeling and you definitely get the Hollywood vibe. Wish my room had a comfy chair to sit in other than the desk chair and a little more art on the walls of the room, but that is really my only complaint. I am looking forward to staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Nu Cafe next door - AWESOME breakfast and not expensive!

Back to menu Return to top