$104 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 21, 2014 Check-out: Jul 22, 2014

Hollywood Historic Hotel

3 stars
5162 Melrose Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90038
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
357 reviews
Well worth a stay!

I had a great time at the Hollywood Historic Hotel. Free parking is a huge plus, and my room was... See full review

  • Amy in Hollywood
  • Mar 27, 2014
Beautiful restored hotel with a great location.

We were pleased with our stay. Quiet evenings and great location. Staff was helpful and parking was... See full review

  • Retired 70 Year Old
  • Mar 15, 2014
1920s era hotel with free parking and Wi-Fi in Hollywood, Los Angeles
Affordable accommodations are more than just a Hollywood dream at the restored white and red brick Hollywood Historic Hotel. The property is family-owned just one block from Paramount Pictures on Melrose Avenue. After a day in Hollywood, come back through an arched entrance to narrow carpeted hallways of the Hollywood Historic Hotel with black-and-white 1920s-era star photos and a room that offers its original windows and, in some, a view of the Hollywood sign. Guests enjoy the free high-speed wireless Internet access and parking.
Highlights
  • Free on-site parking
  • On the National Register of Historic Places
  • 24-hour front desk 
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
Location
The Hollywood Historic Hotel stretches a block wide in the middle of Los Angeles. The nearest freeway is Highway 101. Visitors of the Hollywood Historic Hotel with a personal vehicle find the best of Hollywood within a short drive.
Rooms
The Hollywood Historic Hotel is a European style guesthouse hotel with simplified amenities and artistic furniture. Black-and-white framed photos of Old Hollywood adorn every interior. All 62 rooms boast private bathrooms, large beds (one king or two queens) and a desk. Windows, doors, mirrors and bathtubs are the original fixtures of the building. Air conditioning, bath products, coffee makers, mini-refrigerators and 32-inch LCD TVs are provided. Hairdryers and iron/ironing boards are available upon request. Feel safe with interior hallway access (stairs only, no elevator) and electronic key card entry. Views at the Hollywood Historic Hotel are of the Hollywood sign, Griffith Observatory or greater Los Angeles.
Features
The Hollywood Historic Hotel tells a snapshot story of Old Hollywood in restored stained glass and gilded baroque accents through the small lobby. This hotel is owned and furnished by the family who operates the handcraft furniture store on street level of the same building. The front desk of the Hollywood Historic Hotel is open 24 hours. Guests enjoy the free high-speed wireless Internet access and parking.
Transportation
  • Los Angeles International Airport (22.5 mi/36.5 km)
  • Burbank Airport (13.6 mi/21.9 km)
  • Vermont Metro stop (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Union Station (5.2 mi/8.4 km)
Attractions
  • Paramount Pictures (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Larchmont Village shops and restaurants (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Pantages Theatre (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Kodak Theatre/Hollywood Walk of Fame (2.8 mi/4.4 km)
  • Beverly Hills (5.9 mi/9.6 km)
  • Universal Studios Hollywood (6 mi/9.1 km)
  • Staples Center (6.4 mi/10.3 km)
Policies and fees
  • An incidental deposit of $100.00 per room/per stay is required.
  • The property charges $100 USD deposit fee per room per stay, collected upon check in.
  • Must be 18 or older to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hollywood Historic Hotel Rooms

Deluxe - 3 - Star
One Non Smoking King bed with 32 LCD TV and premium cable channels, coffeemaker/coffee,refrigerator, free parking, Hollywood/Downtown view.
Deluxe - 3 - Star
One Smoking King size bed with 32 LCD TV and premium cable channels, coffemaker/coffee, refrigerator, free parking, Hollywood/Downtown view.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hollywood Historic Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

34.0835 -118.3128
Area served
Hollywood Los Angeles West Hollywood, CA.
Nearby airports
Los Angeges (LAX) Burbank (BUR).
Area description
Located in the heart of Hollywood on the famous Melrose Avenue. One block from Paramount Pictures and Studios. 10 minutes from the Hollywood Walk of Fame, Grauman's Chinese Theater, Kodak Theater, Pantages Theater, El Capitan Theater, Griffith Observatory, the popular restaurants and clubs and Downtown Los Angeles. Walking distance from Larchmont Village for shopping or dining.

Nearby points of interest

  • Amoeba Music: 1.4 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 1.8 mi
  • Koreatown: 1.9 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 2 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 2.1 mi
  • Magic Castle: 2.2 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 2.4 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 2.5 mi
  • The Grove: 2.7 mi
  • Farmers Market: 2.8 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 2.8 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 2.9 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 3.5 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 1.4 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 1.8 mi
  • Koreatown: 1.9 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 2 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 2.1 mi
  • Magic Castle: 2.2 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 2.4 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 2.5 mi
  • The Grove: 2.7 mi
  • Farmers Market: 2.8 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 2.8 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 2.9 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 3.5 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 3.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 3.8 mi
  • Staples Center: 3.8 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 4.1 mi
  • Kitson: 4.1 mi
  • Music Center: 4.1 mi
  • Pershing Square: 4.2 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 4.2 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 4.3 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 4.4 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 4.5 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 4.5 mi
  • Galen Center: 4.7 mi
  • Autry Museum Of Western Heritage: 4.8 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 4.8 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 5 mi
  • Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum: 5 mi
  • California Science Center: 5.1 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 5.3 mi
  • Simon Wiesenthal Center: 5.5 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 6 mi
  • Fowler Museum at UCLA: 7.4 mi
  • University of California: 7.4 mi
  • Westwood Memorial Park: 7.6 mi
  • Pauley Pavilion: 7.7 mi
  • UCLA: 8.1 mi
  • Ultrazone Laser Tag: 9.2 mi
  • J. Paul Getty Center: 9.3 mi
  • Getty Center: 9.3 mi
  • Getty Villa: 14.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (357)

Ratings and reviews for Hollywood Historic Hotel

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
357 out of 357
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.9

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TravelingScorpion
London, UK
Jan 15, 2011

Terrible hotel!

Well was expecting a bit more out of this hotel for what was advertised, they basically have one staff member watching door day and night with no security what so ever, people are free to park and enter the hotel as they please. Signs around the hotel advising you not to leave valuables in your room doesnt help the situation either, good job it was just a place for me and my wife to lay our heads for two nights. Any longer and i may have started to feel a little nervous, esspecially with some of the characters walking around locally. Best o pay a bit more and book somewhere near or on the Hollywood Boulevard, you will be better of for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Also Hollywood boulevard is about 10 minute drive there you can park you car for roughly about $10 for the whole day, so your free to go and explore!

Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TravelingScorpion
London, UK
Jan 15, 2011

Terrible hotel!

Well was expecting a bit more out of this hotel for what was advertised, they basically have one staff member watching door day and night with no security what so ever, people are free to park and enter the hotel as they please. Signs around the hotel advising you not to leave valuables in your room doesnt help the situation either, good job it was just a place for me and my wife to lay our heads for two nights. Any longer and i may have started to feel a little nervous, esspecially with some of the characters walking around locally. Best o pay a bit more and book somewhere near or on the Hollywood Boulevard, you will be better of for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Also Hollywood boulevard is about 10 minute drive there you can park you car for roughly about $10 for the whole day, so your free to go and explore!

Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
A very concerned citizen.
DSM, IA.
May 20, 2013

THE MOST HORRENDOUS EXPERIENCE

I had to stay at this hotel and i checked in with my daughter. It had only one guy at the front desk, no security, nothing! Rooms are HOT, NOISY and UNSAFE! No women, mothers or families should stay here. It is fit to stay for hooligans, drug addicts and gamblers/gangsters. No phones in the room, no fans(which can be turned on without having to turn on the light, if the fan is on the light has to be on??). NOBODY helps you if you need help. I had to leave my room in the middle of the night because I felt my safety threatened.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
union city,ca
Jun 22, 2011

STAY AWAY!!

I wouldn't want to stay at this hotel. I saw a few cockroaches and the hotel is not returning back my deposit. Just read carefully what you sign.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
union city,ca
Jun 22, 2011

STAY AWAY!!

I wouldn't want to stay at this hotel. I saw a few cockroaches and the hotel is not returning back my deposit. Just read carefully what you sign.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ycyc
Chicago
Sep 11, 2013

Does not satisfy my requirement

We ordered a deluxe king bed but they only give us a queen size bed. Further, the coffee machine is broken. We asked the front desk who says that only the manager can handle this. But the manager never show up during our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Clearlake, Ca
Jul 5, 2011

So much for Historic

I came to attend summer school at a local college. Thiis hotel was a $25 cab ride from the train station (I was told it would be $10-15) My room was on the third floor. There is NO elevator nor are there any staff to help wsith luggage. Having a disability made it difficult with 3 trips up and down the stairs. The carpeting was dirty in the stairs and hall. The room had nNO phone and I had to pull the bed out from the wall to have a plug to use for my laptop. The coffee pot was in pieces and I had to put it together to make coffee. The next day, they called a shuttle for me to go to car rental. The cost was to be $55 and use of credit card permitted. When I got there it was $65. and cahs only with the driver raining his voice. He left so fast and did not give me a receipt. ele

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don 't take this one!

Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
LAS VEGAS,NV
Jun 24, 2010

HORRIBLE!!! COCKROACHES IN OUR BED!

THIS WAS NOT AT ALL THE PLACE IT DESCRIBES IN THE DESCRIPTION. IT ISN'T CLOSE TO A BEACH, IT IS IN A BAD AREA OF HOLLYWOOD, IT IS EXTREMELY LOUD AT NIGHT. THERE IS 2 PEOPLE RUNNING THE HOTEL. THEY TELL YOU NOT TO TAKE A BATH BECAUSE THE BATH TUBS ARE "TOO OLD"! THEY ARE RUDE AND BARELY SPEAK ENGLISH! ON OUR SECOND NIGHT WE WOKE UP WITH A COCKROACH IN OUR BED! WHEN I TOLD THE OWNER HE DIDN'T BELIEVE ME EVEN THOUGH WE KILLED IT AND LEFT IT THERE SO HE WOULD SEE! HE SAID THE MOST HE COULD DO WAS GIVE ME A 20 DOLLAR BILL! I WILL NEVER STAY HERE AGAIN NOR WILL I RECOMMEND IT TO ANYONE! THERE ISN'T EVEN AN ELEVATOR OR EMPLOYEES TO HELP YOU WITH YOUR BAGS UP THE STAIRS

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Laguna Beach, CA
Jul 6, 2011

Hollywood Historic Hotel

I went with my sister. It was worn down and didn't have an elevator, ice machine or phone in the room. The room smelled like body odor and didn't feel very clean. When we came home the evening we were staying there, our tv had been turned on, and we didn't do it. And the topping on the experience was finding a roach the size of a mouse scurrying from my luggage!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Captn J
San Francisco, CA, USA
Jun 11, 2012

average hotel

Staff was good. But that's all. Overpriced. Will not return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top