$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 6, 2014 Check-out: Nov 7, 2014

Hollywood Historic Hotel

3 stars
5162 Melrose Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90038
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
263 reviews
Wonderful Hotel in Hollywood

Front desk was great. Room was super clean, bathroom as well. Would definitely stay again and... See full review

  • MCMCMC
  • Oct 20, 2014
Old Hollywood Vibe and Great Location

I booked this hotel with about 75% confidence that everything would turn out alright, and my... See full review

  • Fairest Traveler
  • Oct 13, 2014
The Hollywood Historic Hotel opened in 1927 at the beginning of the early glamour days of Hollywood. Recently restored, the hotel honors the Old Hollywood Era and style. Built by acclaimed architect S. Charles Lee, The Hollywood Historic Hotel is a historic landmark of the "Golden Era". The hallways and rooms adorn black and white photos of the 1920's and 30's Hollywood and the celebrities of it's time. Hollywood Historic Hotel is located on the famous Melrose Ave. and is just ONE block away from Paramount Pictures/ Paramount Studios and 10 minutes away from the Hollywood Walk of Fame. The rooms offer nostalgic views of the Hollywood Sign, Griffith Observatory and Downtown Los Angeles Skyscrapers. A landmark property in the heart of Hollywood. The Hollywood Historic Hotel rooms offer state of the art card key locks, LCD TV's with premium channels,stainless steel refrigerators, coffee makers with coffee and condiments,high quality linens,towels,amenities and spacious Eastern King beds. The front desk is open 24 hours a day. Parking is Free. Must be 18 or older to check in. Please note that the deposit policy is $100 due upon check in per room per stay.

Hotel Map

34.0835 -118.3128
Area served
Hollywood Los Angeles West Hollywood, CA.
Nearby airports
Los Angeges (LAX) Burbank (BUR).
Area description
Located in the heart of Hollywood on the famous Melrose Avenue. One block from Paramount Pictures and Studios. 10 minutes from the Hollywood Walk of Fame, Grauman's Chinese Theater, Kodak Theater, Pantages Theater, El Capitan Theater, Griffith Observatory, the popular restaurants and clubs and Downtown Los Angeles. Walking distance from Larchmont Village for shopping or dining.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hollywood Historic Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hollywood Historic Hotel Rooms

Deluxe - 3 - Star
One Non Smoking King bed with 32 LCD TV and premium cable channels, coffeemaker/coffee,refrigerator, free parking, Hollywood/Downtown view.
Deluxe - 3 - Star
One Smoking King size bed with 32 LCD TV and premium cable channels, coffemaker/coffee, refrigerator, free parking, Hollywood/Downtown view.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Amoeba Music: 1.4 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 1.8 mi
  • Koreatown: 1.9 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 2 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 2.1 mi
  • Magic Castle: 2.2 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 2.4 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 2.5 mi
  • The Grove: 2.7 mi
  • Farmers Market: 2.8 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 2.8 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 2.9 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 3.5 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 1.4 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 1.8 mi
  • Koreatown: 1.9 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 2 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 2.1 mi
  • Magic Castle: 2.2 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 2.4 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 2.5 mi
  • The Grove: 2.7 mi
  • Farmers Market: 2.8 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 2.8 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 2.9 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 3.5 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 3.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 3.8 mi
  • Staples Center: 3.8 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 4.1 mi
  • Kitson: 4.1 mi
  • Music Center: 4.1 mi
  • Pershing Square: 4.2 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 4.2 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 4.3 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 4.4 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 4.5 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 4.5 mi
  • Galen Center: 4.7 mi
  • Autry Museum Of Western Heritage: 4.8 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 4.8 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 5 mi
  • Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum: 5 mi
  • California Science Center: 5.1 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 5.3 mi
  • Simon Wiesenthal Center: 5.5 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 6 mi
  • Fowler Museum at UCLA: 7.4 mi
  • University of California: 7.4 mi
  • Westwood Memorial Park: 7.6 mi
  • Pauley Pavilion: 7.7 mi
  • UCLA: 8.1 mi
  • Ultrazone Laser Tag: 9.2 mi
  • J. Paul Getty Center: 9.3 mi
  • Getty Center: 9.3 mi
  • Getty Villa: 14.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (263)

Ratings and reviews for Hollywood Historic Hotel

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
263 out of 263
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.9

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
asuncion wallace
Business
hollywood. California
Feb 7, 2014

no nothing was fantastic....

Nothing work properly. ..no electricity in the room..no hitter work...the courtine of shower fall on my girl...very bad experience. ..I can't even iron my clothes. ..very bad..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ishi
Business
San Francisco, CA
Mar 23, 2014

Non-Smoking NOT guaranteed

My initial request were for a non-smoking room and I had not received email confirmation, and nobody answered their phones at all hours. I called booker the day before to reconfirm and they conferences Michael who advised that they could assure me a non-smoking room (very important due to allergies and health concerns). Upon arrival the next day he said they were sold out, and are a 50% smoking room. Made no accommodations or apologies for putting us in a smoking room with fresh cigarette butts on the window sills even. Upon check-out the next morning I informed the manager Betty, and she said to ask for her next time to supposedly guarantee a non-smoking room. I have no faith in that promise as it had already been broken once. The location was ok for the price, and parking free, but not worth the frustration of dealing with a switcheroo after a long day of travel with no compensation or genuine remorse.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Griffith Observatory

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ishi
Business
San Francisco, CA
Apr 4, 2014

DUPED! Not provided with the NON-SMOKING room I was promised

I had called weeks ahead and the night before to be assured a NON-SMOKING room. The evening I arrived, I was informed that they simply did not have any left despite my reservation and no apology or compensation made...Windowsill was filthy with cigarettes:(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Griffith Observatory

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Los Angeles Jet-Setter
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Dec 13, 2010

Disgusting

Checked in and checked out within 10 minutes. Absolutely out-dated and gross!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Santa Maria, CA
Oct 29, 2010

The Stinky Hollywood Hotel

Although the location was great, the stay and comfort of the bed was, in my book, definitely not worth the skimpy price. We were grateful for directions to a certain destination, however, the were wrong. There was no phone in the room and only one outlet for our 2 phone chargers. The bathroom was as big as the toilets on an airplane and the elevator was out so we had to hike it up some very steep stairs. When we entered our room, it was stuffy and smelled of mildew. The bed was a king size mess. No comfort whatsoever. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone unless you need somewhere to "crash" for an hour or so.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Universal Studios

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
West Hollywood, CA, USA
Oct 16, 2011

nasty is dirty

we had to call Ortiz custmer service on Oct 13th,Thursday night to cancel all reservation at Hollywood Hist, Hotel in West Hollywood. The carpet was mildew and stained so bad it was horrible. there's no elevators or no telephones in the hotel rooms. the beds were so nasty and dirty, there's no way you could lay on them. the bed wasn't made up for anyone to sleep in, it was unbelieveable!!!! Please stop referral people to that horrible hotel...people are over paying for what they receive..its worst than Motel -6...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CALI12
Business
Florida
May 29, 2012

Worst Experience ever!

I felt like a dirty CHEAP you know what, my husband was so ashamed when we walked into this hotel (online it looked decent enough) however the service was terrible, the employees were quite disrespectful and the location was horrendous. DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY! THIS PLACE IS NOT WORTH IT! unless you want to hire someone for personal relations and drugs, because it seems that is what the hotel is good for. (One of the gentlemen staying offered us some cocaine for low price) and towards the end i heard the cops getting into one of the rooms by force.(Don't know why) My only advice is keep looking and don't be fooled by the pictures on the internet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Paramount Pictures was conveniently close... just about the only thing that made this bearable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Captn J
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Jun 11, 2012

average hotel

Staff was good. But that's all. Overpriced. Will not return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Doon
Business
chicago
Aug 28, 2012

Bed bug!!!!

I stayed two nights in a room in 3rd floor that facing hollywood. Nice view. But the beg bug is so terrible! I feel so bad that I didn't left the hotel earlier.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Tom Brady Junior
Business
South America
Sep 24, 2012

Doesn't worth it

You can definitely find something better for its price. Hotel is very old and everything a kind of dusty. Once I'm allergic got really bad in the next day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top