$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2015 Check-out: Sep 22, 2015

Hollywood Historic Hotel

3 stars
View map of 5162 Melrose Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90038

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hollywood Historic Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
254 out of 254
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.9

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CBB74
Friends
Jersey Shore
Mar 14, 2014

girls trip

This hotel is conveniently located to the touristy things of Hollywood. It's quiet, clean and safe. Free parking was a bonus. Staff was super friendly and one I think felt bad he had to charge me for a parking pass for my LA based for friend. Cabs easily accessible. Will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Free parking!!!

Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jonboy1
Couples
Scotland
Mar 1, 2014

mid week break

Definitely worth the money.Close enough to the sites of Hollywood.Bit far from beaches etc but some good bars a bd restaurants in the area

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CAPR
Couples
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Feb 13, 2014

Good deal modest place

Neat, clean, basic, good central location. Good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CC.Wildwood
Family
Wildwood, NJ
Feb 13, 2014

Long weekend in Hollywood

I choose this hotel for its location, which was good. My husband and I had tickets to the price is right and it was close by.There were a few restaurants in walking distance that were fairly good. More of a variety in driving distance. The overall room was very clean, I was disappointed some of the towels which appeared stained. The people at the front desk were outstanding, professional and assisted with all our needs. One recommendations newer mattresses. For the price it meet our needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Aggie Fan
Couples
Sacramento, CA
Feb 4, 2014

3-1/2 stars

The location and price for this small, older motel can't be beat! Had all the amenities we needed for one night. Not enough restaurants, etc. in the area for more than one night, but there was very easy access to downtown LA and Highway 101!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Latin Cowboy
FL
Feb 4, 2014

smells

I had to go buy fabreeze for the room. It was very strong. Hard to sleep, the slamming of the room doors was strong and you can hear noise from the top floor, down the hall. The close was big enough for a broom only. The pictures on the web look a lot better than the real thing. Safe parking spot which was good and the front desk has a good security camera. The WIFI was not very strong in my room so I ended up using my own.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

the Tempo gay club

Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
brinkstrucks
Family
Kentwood, MI
Jan 28, 2014

You get what you pay for

Hollywood is expensive; this hotel is well located, but definitely not top of the line. Electrical outlets did not work; room temp. could not be controlled. Did have very nice staff however, and we felt secure as women in the hotel and the parking lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jenniffer B.
Couples
surprise,az
Jan 25, 2014

Great for the money

I read reviews before staying here and was skeptical but I was pleasantly surprised. the room is a fair size not too small and there were no ghosts, well not in 325 there wasn't. It wasn't anything high end but for the price was nice and comfortable:}

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

There is no real place to have a great time with in walking distance but in a 10 to 15 minute drive you can be somewhere happening!

Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MSFERP
Couples
Morro Bay
Jan 23, 2014

Quirky, delightful, old-fashioned

We loved this place. Not the most luxurious you'll find, but full of wonderful Hollywood history, In nice shape if a little Sparten. Yummy café in the building, wonderful restaurant one block away called Osteria la Buca

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Snakeman56
Couples
Centennial, Colorado
Jan 22, 2014

Birthday Getaway!

Went for the weekend to celebrate my wife's birthday. The area was great, all we did was just sleep and go, every day. Free parking a big plus. Very friendly staff, and helpful!.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top