$122 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 3, 2015 Check-out: May 4, 2015

Hollywood Historic Hotel

3 stars
View map of 5162 Melrose Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90038

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hollywood Historic Hotel

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
281 out of 281
Amenities:
2.8
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tetorr
Business
Santa Monica, CA.
Jun 14, 2014

Night out

Clean room. Old Hollywood feel. Would recommend when visiting Hollywood

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
billybear1
Business
rancho cucamonga
Jun 1, 2014

great staff

the cleaning staff was very friendly and professional. front desk staff was friendly and very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TRodS2000
Business
Ft. Worth, Texas
May 31, 2014

Very Quaint

Very nice Hotel and the weather was good so I was able to open the Windows and not run the AC. However RM 301 is right above the smokers area and if you don't like the smell of cigarette smoke this room may not be that great. The staff was very friendly and helpfull if you want to see the sites and need directions. I liked my room when I was in it. There is no phone in the room but they do have free WiFi and a mini fridge to keep drink and food in. I would definitely stay in this Hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The number 10 Bus runs right in front of the Hotel and it connects with a great number of other buses to get you where you want to go.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Johnny Becker
Business
Maryland
May 16, 2014

Historic Hollywood Hotel classy place

I had a nice corner room on the second floor with a king bed. Lots of room with lots of windows to look out my windows I see 4 palm trees and to the left of them I see the Hollywood sign across the mountainside. When I look at the wall to the other side of the windows I see a nice size picture of the same view, but from the 1920's when the sign across the mountainside read HOLLYWOODLAND. It was only a block and a half from Paramount Studios where I had to be for the "Taurus World Stunt Awards" I'd like the same room next year. The only thing I didn't like were the TV controls & the stations You get. The fan was alittle wabbly and noisy. I like the way they kept most of the building original and all the pics of the stars of that time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dammad
Business
tucson az
May 2, 2014

right price and place

love the ambience of the old Hollywood style. worked out perfect for our one night stay to go see a concert in LA and have a bit of sight seeing. the shower could have been a little cleaner (small amount of mold in the corners) other then that room was very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BooneK
Business
WNY
Apr 11, 2014

Business Stay

Great location made it easy to get to my meetings. Close to Larchmont Village for casual breakfasts. Clean room. Looks like it was once an residence hotel and they're renovating, but a lot of charm. No gym, no phones in rooms. Window air conditioner was a little tricky but a great value for LA.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Larchmont Village for breakfast. Lots of choices. 5 min drive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ishi
Business
San Francisco, CA
Apr 4, 2014

DUPED! Not provided with the NON-SMOKING room I was promised

I had called weeks ahead and the night before to be assured a NON-SMOKING room. The evening I arrived, I was informed that they simply did not have any left despite my reservation and no apology or compensation made...Windowsill was filthy with cigarettes:(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Griffith Observatory

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JV on vacation
Business
Pittsburg, CA
Apr 1, 2014

Near Paramount

Good, room size good, bathroom small, entrance to parking lot off street narrow

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Paramount Studios nearby

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Amy in Hollywood
Business
New York, USA
Mar 27, 2014

Well worth a stay!

I had a great time at the Hollywood Historic Hotel. Free parking is a huge plus, and my room was enormous and had a perfect view of Melrose Avenue and the Hollywood sign. The staff were always friendly and helpful, and I loved the classic old-timey Hollywood decor. The location is great if you have a car with you, which I did, but I'd imagine that most of the tourist points would be a bit too far to walk to from the hotel. I really enjoyed my stay and would definitely recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ishi
Business
San Francisco, CA
Mar 23, 2014

Non-Smoking NOT guaranteed

My initial request were for a non-smoking room and I had not received email confirmation, and nobody answered their phones at all hours. I called booker the day before to reconfirm and they conferences Michael who advised that they could assure me a non-smoking room (very important due to allergies and health concerns). Upon arrival the next day he said they were sold out, and are a 50% smoking room. Made no accommodations or apologies for putting us in a smoking room with fresh cigarette butts on the window sills even. Upon check-out the next morning I informed the manager Betty, and she said to ask for her next time to supposedly guarantee a non-smoking room. I have no faith in that promise as it had already been broken once. The location was ok for the price, and parking free, but not worth the frustration of dealing with a switcheroo after a long day of travel with no compensation or genuine remorse.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Griffith Observatory

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top