$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 7, 2015 Check-out: Jul 8, 2015

Hollywood Historic Hotel

3 stars
View map of 5162 Melrose Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90038

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hollywood Historic Hotel

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
299 out of 299
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
OK Travler
Business
Oklahoma City, OK
Apr 7, 2013

First Trip to LA

I'm a person that loves nostalgia and this hotel was just that. I could feel the history of Hollywood and it was cool that the hallways were adorned by old photos of actors and venues from the heyday of Hollywood. The hotel has been updated, but they still preserved the historic energy. The room was comfortable and had just what I needed, fridge, t.v. and a bed. There is a Cafe in the building and a small local store next door to grab a drink or snacks. If you need gas, there is a gas station across the street. I didn't stay in the room too much. Great location to hit hot spots, restaurants and downtown LA. Just down the street from Paramount Pictures. Also have a great view of the Hollywood Sign from the fire escape window on the third floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The tourist destinations: Hollywood/Highland; Sunset Strip; West Hollywood; Beverly Hills; Griffith Park;

Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
boys mom
Business
El Centro Ca
May 1, 2013

Nice little part of California History

easy check in, clean room, good price overall i'd go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
scarecrow
Business
Detroit, MI
May 18, 2013

Very affordable

Hollywood Historic Hotel is a very clean and affordable hotel. They offer free parking as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

The staff at the hotel were friendly enough to print my boarding passes.

Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MikePC
Business
Hayward, ca
May 19, 2013

Getaway to LA

We enjoyed our stay at the Hollywood historic hotel. Betty and Mike were very friendly. Our room was clean and quiet. Location was perfect and not too far away from our planned destinations. No need to find street parking as they have a parking lot in the back and it's equipped with security cameras. Only cons were probably the toilet not flushing (we didn't use it much) at times and the pillows being old.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Griddles cafe. Best French toast

Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Leo513
Business
New York
Jun 14, 2013

Very old

nice stuff, clean, but really old. close to Hollywood so it's a good choice for travellers with limited budge

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Universal Studio/Hollywood/Santa Monica all about 15-20 min's drive

Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tayloryan
Business
Texas
Aug 20, 2013

great location for LA Hollywood

Loved the room, wonderful view with windows to open and let the breeze thru. A block from Paramount Studios, and seemed like everything was within like a 5 mile drive. Would def recommend, enjoyed the days spent here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Melrose Cafe

Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
prousse
Business
Maine, USA
Sep 7, 2013

Great Stay!

My room was clean, comfortable and cheap by LA standards. You only need it for a decent place to sleep, right? Quiet too, on the side opposite from the street. Staff very friendly. I'd stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Flopi
Business
Atlanta, Georgia
Sep 14, 2013

Cheap and well located

A good place to stay for the location, the price and the free parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I recommend you have dinner at La Osteria de la bucca.

Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traquair Girl
Business
San Francisco, California
Sep 16, 2013

Simple and clean - great value

Not a lot of frills - but comfy and clean with a really great staff. The hotel has a 1930's feeling and you definitely get the Hollywood vibe. Wish my room had a comfy chair to sit in other than the desk chair and a little more art on the walls of the room, but that is really my only complaint. I am looking forward to staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Nu Cafe next door - AWESOME breakfast and not expensive!

Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KayakMayor
Business
Napa, CA
Sep 17, 2013

great building, modest amenities

This is a lovely building with good parking in a transitional part of town. The soap, towels and coffee were on the cheap side, but then so was the price. Very good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top