$94 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 20, 2015 Check-out: Apr 23, 2015

Hollywood Historic Hotel

3 stars
View map of 5162 Melrose Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90038

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hollywood Historic Hotel

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
281 out of 281
Amenities:
2.8
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tayloryan
Business
Texas
Aug 20, 2013

great location for LA Hollywood

Loved the room, wonderful view with windows to open and let the breeze thru. A block from Paramount Studios, and seemed like everything was within like a 5 mile drive. Would def recommend, enjoyed the days spent here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Melrose Cafe

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
prousse
Business
Maine, USA
Sep 7, 2013

Great Stay!

My room was clean, comfortable and cheap by LA standards. You only need it for a decent place to sleep, right? Quiet too, on the side opposite from the street. Staff very friendly. I'd stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Flopi
Business
Atlanta, Georgia
Sep 14, 2013

Cheap and well located

A good place to stay for the location, the price and the free parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I recommend you have dinner at La Osteria de la bucca.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traquair Girl
Business
San Francisco, California
Sep 16, 2013

Simple and clean - great value

Not a lot of frills - but comfy and clean with a really great staff. The hotel has a 1930's feeling and you definitely get the Hollywood vibe. Wish my room had a comfy chair to sit in other than the desk chair and a little more art on the walls of the room, but that is really my only complaint. I am looking forward to staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Nu Cafe next door - AWESOME breakfast and not expensive!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KayakMayor
Business
Napa, CA
Sep 17, 2013

great building, modest amenities

This is a lovely building with good parking in a transitional part of town. The soap, towels and coffee were on the cheap side, but then so was the price. Very good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tim7
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Oct 14, 2013

Visiting old stomping grounds

Came into LA to visit old friends in WeHo, Hancock Park, and the Valley, as well as places I haunted when I lived in West LA. Not looking for a resort experience, but clean, safe, comfortable, accommodations in a convenient location. SCORE!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jacqueline Murray
Business
Vancouver, BC
Oct 18, 2013

I had a blast!!!

I stayed at the Hollywood Historic Hotel this past weekend and I have to say that I had a really great time. I used to live in Los Angeles so I understand what the buildings and neighborhoods are all about... the location is a little shady at night, but I still felt safe. The staff were great!! I loved the door men, very helpful and pleasant. My room was great, I stayed in a corner unit on the second floor, it was very spacious and the King size bed was great, linens were clean... carpets were clean. The bathroom, although a little dated, was very clean and everything worked. There was a little mini fridge which was very convenient. The only thing that I disliked was there were no phones in the room, so I had to go downstairs each time I needed to talk to the front desk. But, it is a historic hotel, the electricity and plumbing are up to date so that is all I care about. I loved the design of the hotel, the furniture was fantastic and in great condition. I didn't find it very noisy, I was in the back of the hotel, not facing the road. But if you are gonna stay in a hotel on one of the busy streets like Melrose then the noise is to be expected. The price was great, the staff was great and my room was great.. I would stay here again for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Elle Adams
Business
Santa Fe, NM
Dec 3, 2013

Centrally located hotel in Hollywood

A few miles from everything you'd want to enjoy and experience in Hollywood. We really staying in the room on the far end of the building, it was roomy, comfortable, and we got to see awesome views of the Hollywood sign and observatory. Many of the places close by, aside from the divey bars, require cocktail attire so plan accordingly. My fiance and I returned from Hawaii and were denied entry in this cool Cigar bar about a mile away from the hotel. It's a good walk, despite the shady looking parts of Hollywood it is quite safe. The hotel had great historic photos, a fridge in the room (YES!) and a nice flat screen television.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oakland, CA
Jun 25, 2010

Hollywood Historic Hotel-a hidden secret

I took my daughter to see the Hollywood sights - Walk of Fame, Universal Studios, etc. It was the perfect location. The staff was friendly and helpful. The only thing was the ants. There were several in our bathroom sink area. I am sure that if we made a stink about it they would have gotten rid of them. I definitely suggest this hotel if you are looking for a place to lay your head for a few nights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The Grove is down Fairfax avenue. Lots of shopping, food and a movie theater. I also stumbled upon The Wild Oats Cafe right on Melrose a few blocks from Paramount Pictures. Wonderful breakfast spot.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Robg
Business
Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA, USA
Sep 24, 2011

Great place

The rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable. The rooms facing melrose, although a lil noisy, have great views . The staff is great. Wish they had an outlet in the bathrooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Head west on melrose

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top