$122 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 3, 2015 Check-out: May 4, 2015

Hollywood Historic Hotel

3 stars
View map of 5162 Melrose Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90038

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hollywood Historic Hotel

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
281 out of 281
Amenities:
2.8
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CONCERT GO'ER
BAKERSFIELD, CA
Aug 8, 2012

Awesome, just what I was looking for!

Devon, at the front desk was super friendly, helpful, and attentiive! The place was clean, the room was clean, and quiet. The entire place is observed with cameras my car was safe, we felt safe. I will definately go again. The price matches the hotel, it's quaint, beautifully re done!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
icurnvs
Business
Santa Clara, CA
Jan 7, 2013

Interesting historic hotel

Stayed here a night and enjoyed it. Not in the greatest part of town, but it seemed safe. Definitely has a historic look and feel, photos of celebs line the hallways. The room was as expected for the price. No complaints, would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
UCLA girl
Business
Westwood, Los Angeles, ca
Jan 20, 2013

Great deal and convenient location.

Extremely approachable staff. Very flexible with checkout and check in times. Wifi was slow but free. Room was clean and simple. Old time feel in a good atmosphere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Mario bateli's mozza is a 5 min drive from the hotel!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
xyz to LA
Business
Oakland, CA
Mar 13, 2013

A very pleasant stay!

I checked in during the afternoon and clerk gave me a room on parking lot side. This was much appreciated as the street side has noisy vehicle traffic on Melrose Ave. Just like the hotel name sounds, it is older and noise above and in the hallway is noticeable. On the plus side, the price is great, location is good, internet was solid, room was clean, comfortable bed, free parking (plenty available). Hallways were wonderfully decorated with photos of classic movie stars. I am a big fan of the 1920's LA architectural style! I give HHH a big thumbs up!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Youre best suited to rent a vehicle. I had a memorable drive on Hollywood blvd, Sunset blvd & Melrose Ave. You can feel the history of show biz!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
German King
Business
Germany
Mar 21, 2013

For 1 Night ok

The room was Good, clean and the view to the Hollywood sign was fabulous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
That Mary Chick
Business
Bakersfield
Apr 7, 2013

Perfect for what I was looking for

This is a quaint little hotel conveiniantly located for any Hollywood trip. The staff was super friendly and helpful. I love the little elevator :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
OK Travler
Business
Oklahoma City, OK
Apr 7, 2013

First Trip to LA

I'm a person that loves nostalgia and this hotel was just that. I could feel the history of Hollywood and it was cool that the hallways were adorned by old photos of actors and venues from the heyday of Hollywood. The hotel has been updated, but they still preserved the historic energy. The room was comfortable and had just what I needed, fridge, t.v. and a bed. There is a Cafe in the building and a small local store next door to grab a drink or snacks. If you need gas, there is a gas station across the street. I didn't stay in the room too much. Great location to hit hot spots, restaurants and downtown LA. Just down the street from Paramount Pictures. Also have a great view of the Hollywood Sign from the fire escape window on the third floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The tourist destinations: Hollywood/Highland; Sunset Strip; West Hollywood; Beverly Hills; Griffith Park;

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
boys mom
Business
El Centro Ca
May 1, 2013

Nice little part of California History

easy check in, clean room, good price overall i'd go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
scarecrow
Business
Detroit, MI
May 18, 2013

Very affordable

Hollywood Historic Hotel is a very clean and affordable hotel. They offer free parking as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

The staff at the hotel were friendly enough to print my boarding passes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MikePC
Business
Hayward, ca
May 19, 2013

Getaway to LA

We enjoyed our stay at the Hollywood historic hotel. Betty and Mike were very friendly. Our room was clean and quiet. Location was perfect and not too far away from our planned destinations. No need to find street parking as they have a parking lot in the back and it's equipped with security cameras. Only cons were probably the toilet not flushing (we didn't use it much) at times and the pillows being old.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Griddles cafe. Best French toast

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Leo513
Business
New York
Jun 14, 2013

Very old

nice stuff, clean, but really old. close to Hollywood so it's a good choice for travellers with limited budge

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Universal Studio/Hollywood/Santa Monica all about 15-20 min's drive

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top