$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Hollywood Historic Hotel

3 stars
View map of 5162 Melrose Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90038

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hollywood Historic Hotel

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
298 out of 298
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cleveland, OH
Jun 29, 2011

Nice Hotel - Lousy Neighborhood

The hotel was nice, clean, and inexpensive with a friendly staff. The neighborhood doesn't have much going on, but if you rent a car, this is a good place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

You can walk straight north to Hollywood Blvd. The neighborhood is a little dodgy, but not too bad.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
union city,ca
Jun 22, 2011

STAY AWAY!!

I wouldn't want to stay at this hotel. I saw a few cockroaches and the hotel is not returning back my deposit. Just read carefully what you sign.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
notav
Business
oakland ca
Jun 20, 2011

Not so great but not so bad

The hotel is quiet in side noisy out front, needs new carpet and few other amenities. No phones, no extra power outlets, no shelves in med cabinet in sink, lower water pressure than expected, slow drains. Staff was very nice, housekeeping accidentally picked up kids pjs and never found them again due to sending laundry off site. Nice ample parking, not a good area to be walking around, nothing to do in the hotel at all except be in your room and watch tv - would stay there again if i did not have family with

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SoCal Sojourner
Business
PA
Jun 19, 2011

Historic Hollywood Hotel

Pros: 1. Location. It's a quick jaunt to downtown Hollywood. Not far at all. 2. Decor. If you like a historic silver screen ambience, this is your place. Cons: 1. Going Up? There is no elevator. So, pack light, or be prepared to haul heavy suitcases up the historic steps. There are pictures of Marilyn, Humphrey, and Ava on the way if you happen to take a break during your ascent. 2. Aroma. There was a persistent, "pin-the-tail-on-the-donkey" can't quite identify it, type of scent that was a guest at the hotel, too. Not unbearable, but present. Don't take this as a knock to the HHH, it is great if you desire a spot clean and safe nearby downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Jimmy Kimmel shows each weeknight on Hollywood Blvd. Whether you're a fan or not, it's a fun experience. Tickets are free, just find a rep and ask them about it circa 3-4pm. If you're chosen as the "Most Valuable Fan," you might find yourself with $100 credit to fill your gas tank with.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Omaha
Jun 16, 2011

Great staff at Hollywood Historic Hotel

This is a basic hotel room for sleeping and then going out to see things. Paramount Studios is within walking distance. We walked all the way to Hollywood Blvd, but it was quite a hike--about an hour. Staff here is very helpful, courteous, and gracious. The historic vibe is what we loved best. Bed was comfortable, street noise was noticeable but not bothersome to us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, Texas
Jun 12, 2011

Fine for the price - NOT a 3 star hotel

The hotel is actually not a terrible place for the price, especially with so many hotels in Los Angeles extravagantly overpriced. But the Hollywood Historic is NOT a 3 star hotel. It is a 1-Star hotel. The cover on the bed is old and suspicious, but the sheets themselves are fine. The window drapes seem as old as the hotel itself, as does the carpet around the stairs, hall and room. But the coffee machine was clean, the mini-fridge was fine, and the shower water pressure was too high when you have it on full power. I will stay here again if I want to keep my costs down, but do not expect a deal for the price. You are getting exactly what you're paying for. Free parking is an added plus, and so is the free (but slow) internet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mom and her High School Graduate
Business
Spokane, WA
Jun 9, 2011

Great Location

Can't beat the location, price and free parking. The rooms are clean, we felt safe, but is a typical old building. Do not stay here if you are looking for continental breakfast, hair dryers, room service or even elevators. Staff is nice and helpful. I would stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We found a Denny's about 2.0 miles away for breakfast, and you can find anything you want on Sunset Blvd, which is also less than 2.0 miles from the hotel. I recommend renting a car if you stay here (free parking) then your options are unlimited. If you do not have a car, you might not be too happy, not much within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brown Eyed Girl
Business
Nampa, ID
Jun 8, 2011

Our Hollywood Historic Hotel Experience

When my boyfriend and I got to the hotel late at night, [...]instantly welcomed us in. He was the only one there at the time and treated us like good friends. He told us he was going to make us very comfortable, put us in an awesome room complete with it's own kitchen, and even carried my luggage up all the way to the third floor! We spent the first night of our week's stay in this room. The next day, Dustin and I went for a walk in downtown Hollywood. When we came back, we were unable to access our room. We were told that wasn't supposed to be our room, and we were moved to the other end of the hallway to a room without a kitchen. This was really the hotel's only downfall, but we weren't too upset because we knew Vladimir didn't mean to put us in someone else's room. The rest of our stay went great. It was a nice, quiet hotel. We often wondered if anyone else was staying there, but it was nice. I really enjoyed the walk-in closet because I like to take everything out of my suitcase, and there was also cable and free wifi!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Downtown Hollywood is 2 miles away, Beverly Hills is 6 miles away, and Universal Studios is a short drive away as well. The hotel is really in the center of everything!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
minneapolis MN
May 31, 2011

reasonable for price

sleeping great atmosphere

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
De Pere, WI
May 30, 2011

Cheap hotel

Convenient in terms of location. Cheaper than most available around the area. No amenities but. Excellent view of the Hollywood sign from the room that we were staying.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top