$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 24, 2015 Check-out: Feb 26, 2015

Hollywood Historic Hotel

3 stars
5162 Melrose Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90038
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
275 reviews
Great Location, Great People

The first thing I notice online was that it was cheap. I took a gamble and I was very glad I did.... See full review

  • cjmarbutt
  • Jan 6, 2015
Wonderful Hotel in Hollywood

Front desk was great. Room was super clean, bathroom as well. Would definitely stay again and... See full review

  • MCMCMC
  • Oct 20, 2014
1920s era hotel with free parking and Wi-Fi in Hollywood, Los Angeles
Affordable accommodations are more than just a Hollywood dream at the restored white and red brick Hollywood Historic Hotel. The property is family-owned just one block from Paramount Pictures on Melrose Avenue. After a day in Hollywood, come back through an arched entrance to narrow carpeted hallways of the Hollywood Historic Hotel with black-and-white 1920s-era star photos and a room that offers its original windows and, in some, a view of the Hollywood sign. Guests enjoy the free high-speed wireless Internet access and parking.
Highlights
  • Free on-site parking
  • On the National Register of Historic Places
  • 24-hour front desk 
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
Location
The Hollywood Historic Hotel stretches a block wide in the middle of Los Angeles. The nearest freeway is Highway 101. Visitors of the Hollywood Historic Hotel with a personal vehicle find the best of Hollywood within a short drive.
Rooms
The Hollywood Historic Hotel is a European style guesthouse hotel with simplified amenities and artistic furniture. Black-and-white framed photos of Old Hollywood adorn every interior. All 62 rooms boast private bathrooms, large beds (one king or two queens) and a desk. Windows, doors, mirrors and bathtubs are the original fixtures of the building. Air conditioning, bath products, coffee makers, mini-refrigerators and 32-inch LCD TVs are provided. Hairdryers and iron/ironing boards are available upon request. Feel safe with interior hallway access (stairs only, no elevator) and electronic key card entry. Views at the Hollywood Historic Hotel are of the Hollywood sign, Griffith Observatory or greater Los Angeles.
Features
The Hollywood Historic Hotel tells a snapshot story of Old Hollywood in restored stained glass and gilded baroque accents through the small lobby. This hotel is owned and furnished by the family who operates the handcraft furniture store on street level of the same building. The front desk of the Hollywood Historic Hotel is open 24 hours. Guests enjoy the free high-speed wireless Internet access and parking.
Transportation
  • Los Angeles International Airport (22.5 mi/36.5 km)
  • Burbank Airport (13.6 mi/21.9 km)
  • Vermont Metro stop (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Union Station (5.2 mi/8.4 km)
Attractions
  • Paramount Pictures (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Larchmont Village shops and restaurants (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Pantages Theatre (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Kodak Theatre/Hollywood Walk of Fame (2.8 mi/4.4 km)
  • Beverly Hills (5.9 mi/9.6 km)
  • Universal Studios Hollywood (6 mi/9.1 km)
  • Staples Center (6.4 mi/10.3 km)
Policies and fees
  • An incidental deposit of $100.00 per room/per stay is required.
  • The property charges $100 USD deposit fee per room per stay, collected upon check in.
  • Must be 18 or older to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hollywood Historic Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hollywood Historic Hotel Rooms

Deluxe - 3 - Star
One Non Smoking King bed with 32 LCD TV and premium cable channels, coffeemaker/coffee,refrigerator, free parking, Hollywood/Downtown view.
Deluxe - 3 - Star
One Smoking King size bed with 32 LCD TV and premium cable channels, coffemaker/coffee, refrigerator, free parking, Hollywood/Downtown view.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Amoeba Music: 1.4 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 1.8 mi
  • Koreatown: 1.9 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 2 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 2.1 mi
  • Magic Castle: 2.2 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 2.4 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 2.5 mi
  • The Grove: 2.7 mi
  • Farmers Market: 2.8 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 2.8 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 2.9 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 3.5 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 1.4 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 1.8 mi
  • Koreatown: 1.9 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 2 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 2.1 mi
  • Magic Castle: 2.2 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 2.4 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 2.5 mi
  • The Grove: 2.7 mi
  • Farmers Market: 2.8 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 2.8 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 2.9 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 3.5 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 3.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 3.8 mi
  • Staples Center: 3.8 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 4.1 mi
  • Kitson: 4.1 mi
  • Music Center: 4.1 mi
  • Pershing Square: 4.2 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 4.2 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 4.3 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 4.4 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 4.5 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 4.5 mi
  • Universal Studios: 4.6 mi
  • Galen Center: 4.7 mi
  • Autry Museum Of Western Heritage: 4.8 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 4.8 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 5 mi
  • Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum: 5 mi
  • California Science Center: 5.1 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 5.3 mi
  • Simon Wiesenthal Center: 5.5 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 6 mi
  • Fowler Museum at UCLA: 7.4 mi
  • University of California: 7.4 mi
  • Westwood Memorial Park: 7.6 mi
  • Pauley Pavilion: 7.7 mi
  • UCLA: 8.1 mi
  • Ultrazone Laser Tag: 9.2 mi
  • J. Paul Getty Center: 9.3 mi
  • Getty Center: 9.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (275)

Ratings and reviews for Hollywood Historic Hotel

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
275 out of 275
Amenities:
2.8
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.9

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cleveland, OH
Jun 29, 2011

Nice Hotel - Lousy Neighborhood

The hotel was nice, clean, and inexpensive with a friendly staff. The neighborhood doesn't have much going on, but if you rent a car, this is a good place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

You can walk straight north to Hollywood Blvd. The neighborhood is a little dodgy, but not too bad.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
union city,ca
Jun 22, 2011

STAY AWAY!!

I wouldn't want to stay at this hotel. I saw a few cockroaches and the hotel is not returning back my deposit. Just read carefully what you sign.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
notav
Business
oakland ca
Jun 20, 2011

Not so great but not so bad

The hotel is quiet in side noisy out front, needs new carpet and few other amenities. No phones, no extra power outlets, no shelves in med cabinet in sink, lower water pressure than expected, slow drains. Staff was very nice, housekeeping accidentally picked up kids pjs and never found them again due to sending laundry off site. Nice ample parking, not a good area to be walking around, nothing to do in the hotel at all except be in your room and watch tv - would stay there again if i did not have family with

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SoCal Sojourner
Business
PA
Jun 19, 2011

Historic Hollywood Hotel

Pros: 1. Location. It's a quick jaunt to downtown Hollywood. Not far at all. 2. Decor. If you like a historic silver screen ambience, this is your place. Cons: 1. Going Up? There is no elevator. So, pack light, or be prepared to haul heavy suitcases up the historic steps. There are pictures of Marilyn, Humphrey, and Ava on the way if you happen to take a break during your ascent. 2. Aroma. There was a persistent, "pin-the-tail-on-the-donkey" can't quite identify it, type of scent that was a guest at the hotel, too. Not unbearable, but present. Don't take this as a knock to the HHH, it is great if you desire a spot clean and safe nearby downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Jimmy Kimmel shows each weeknight on Hollywood Blvd. Whether you're a fan or not, it's a fun experience. Tickets are free, just find a rep and ask them about it circa 3-4pm. If you're chosen as the "Most Valuable Fan," you might find yourself with $100 credit to fill your gas tank with.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Omaha
Jun 16, 2011

Great staff at Hollywood Historic Hotel

This is a basic hotel room for sleeping and then going out to see things. Paramount Studios is within walking distance. We walked all the way to Hollywood Blvd, but it was quite a hike--about an hour. Staff here is very helpful, courteous, and gracious. The historic vibe is what we loved best. Bed was comfortable, street noise was noticeable but not bothersome to us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, Texas
Jun 12, 2011

Fine for the price - NOT a 3 star hotel

The hotel is actually not a terrible place for the price, especially with so many hotels in Los Angeles extravagantly overpriced. But the Hollywood Historic is NOT a 3 star hotel. It is a 1-Star hotel. The cover on the bed is old and suspicious, but the sheets themselves are fine. The window drapes seem as old as the hotel itself, as does the carpet around the stairs, hall and room. But the coffee machine was clean, the mini-fridge was fine, and the shower water pressure was too high when you have it on full power. I will stay here again if I want to keep my costs down, but do not expect a deal for the price. You are getting exactly what you're paying for. Free parking is an added plus, and so is the free (but slow) internet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mom and her High School Graduate
Business
Spokane, WA
Jun 9, 2011

Great Location

Can't beat the location, price and free parking. The rooms are clean, we felt safe, but is a typical old building. Do not stay here if you are looking for continental breakfast, hair dryers, room service or even elevators. Staff is nice and helpful. I would stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We found a Denny's about 2.0 miles away for breakfast, and you can find anything you want on Sunset Blvd, which is also less than 2.0 miles from the hotel. I recommend renting a car if you stay here (free parking) then your options are unlimited. If you do not have a car, you might not be too happy, not much within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brown Eyed Girl
Business
Nampa, ID
Jun 8, 2011

Our Hollywood Historic Hotel Experience

When my boyfriend and I got to the hotel late at night, [...]instantly welcomed us in. He was the only one there at the time and treated us like good friends. He told us he was going to make us very comfortable, put us in an awesome room complete with it's own kitchen, and even carried my luggage up all the way to the third floor! We spent the first night of our week's stay in this room. The next day, Dustin and I went for a walk in downtown Hollywood. When we came back, we were unable to access our room. We were told that wasn't supposed to be our room, and we were moved to the other end of the hallway to a room without a kitchen. This was really the hotel's only downfall, but we weren't too upset because we knew Vladimir didn't mean to put us in someone else's room. The rest of our stay went great. It was a nice, quiet hotel. We often wondered if anyone else was staying there, but it was nice. I really enjoyed the walk-in closet because I like to take everything out of my suitcase, and there was also cable and free wifi!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Downtown Hollywood is 2 miles away, Beverly Hills is 6 miles away, and Universal Studios is a short drive away as well. The hotel is really in the center of everything!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
minneapolis MN
May 31, 2011

reasonable for price

sleeping great atmosphere

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
De Pere, WI
May 30, 2011

Cheap hotel

Convenient in terms of location. Cheaper than most available around the area. No amenities but. Excellent view of the Hollywood sign from the room that we were staying.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top