$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 6, 2014 Check-out: Nov 7, 2014

Hollywood Historic Hotel

3 stars
5162 Melrose Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90038
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
264 reviews
Wonderful Hotel in Hollywood

Front desk was great. Room was super clean, bathroom as well. Would definitely stay again and... See full review

  • MCMCMC
  • Oct 20, 2014
Old Hollywood Vibe and Great Location

I booked this hotel with about 75% confidence that everything would turn out alright, and my... See full review

  • Fairest Traveler
  • Oct 13, 2014
The Hollywood Historic Hotel opened in 1927 at the beginning of the early glamour days of Hollywood. Recently restored, the hotel honors the Old Hollywood Era and style. Built by acclaimed architect S. Charles Lee, The Hollywood Historic Hotel is a historic landmark of the "Golden Era". The hallways and rooms adorn black and white photos of the 1920's and 30's Hollywood and the celebrities of it's time. Hollywood Historic Hotel is located on the famous Melrose Ave. and is just ONE block away from Paramount Pictures/ Paramount Studios and 10 minutes away from the Hollywood Walk of Fame. The rooms offer nostalgic views of the Hollywood Sign, Griffith Observatory and Downtown Los Angeles Skyscrapers. A landmark property in the heart of Hollywood. The Hollywood Historic Hotel rooms offer state of the art card key locks, LCD TV's with premium channels,stainless steel refrigerators, coffee makers with coffee and condiments,high quality linens,towels,amenities and spacious Eastern King beds. The front desk is open 24 hours a day. Parking is Free. Must be 18 or older to check in. Please note that the deposit policy is $100 due upon check in per room per stay.

Hotel Map

34.0835 -118.3128
Area served
Hollywood Los Angeles West Hollywood, CA.
Nearby airports
Los Angeges (LAX) Burbank (BUR).
Area description
Located in the heart of Hollywood on the famous Melrose Avenue. One block from Paramount Pictures and Studios. 10 minutes from the Hollywood Walk of Fame, Grauman's Chinese Theater, Kodak Theater, Pantages Theater, El Capitan Theater, Griffith Observatory, the popular restaurants and clubs and Downtown Los Angeles. Walking distance from Larchmont Village for shopping or dining.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hollywood Historic Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hollywood Historic Hotel Rooms

Deluxe - 3 - Star
One Non Smoking King bed with 32 LCD TV and premium cable channels, coffeemaker/coffee,refrigerator, free parking, Hollywood/Downtown view.
Deluxe - 3 - Star
One Smoking King size bed with 32 LCD TV and premium cable channels, coffemaker/coffee, refrigerator, free parking, Hollywood/Downtown view.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Amoeba Music: 1.4 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 1.8 mi
  • Koreatown: 1.9 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 2 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 2.1 mi
  • Magic Castle: 2.2 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 2.4 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 2.5 mi
  • The Grove: 2.7 mi
  • Farmers Market: 2.8 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 2.8 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 2.9 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 3.5 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 1.4 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 1.8 mi
  • Koreatown: 1.9 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 2 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 2.1 mi
  • Magic Castle: 2.2 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 2.4 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 2.5 mi
  • The Grove: 2.7 mi
  • Farmers Market: 2.8 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 2.8 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 2.9 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 3.5 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 3.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 3.8 mi
  • Staples Center: 3.8 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 4.1 mi
  • Kitson: 4.1 mi
  • Music Center: 4.1 mi
  • Pershing Square: 4.2 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 4.2 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 4.3 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 4.4 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 4.5 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 4.5 mi
  • Galen Center: 4.7 mi
  • Autry Museum Of Western Heritage: 4.8 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 4.8 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 5 mi
  • Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum: 5 mi
  • California Science Center: 5.1 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 5.3 mi
  • Simon Wiesenthal Center: 5.5 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 6 mi
  • Fowler Museum at UCLA: 7.4 mi
  • University of California: 7.4 mi
  • Westwood Memorial Park: 7.6 mi
  • Pauley Pavilion: 7.7 mi
  • UCLA: 8.1 mi
  • Ultrazone Laser Tag: 9.2 mi
  • J. Paul Getty Center: 9.3 mi
  • Getty Center: 9.3 mi
  • Getty Villa: 14.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (264)

Ratings and reviews for Hollywood Historic Hotel

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
264 out of 264
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Russia Moscow
Feb 15, 2011

Great location

Good location. About 30 min walk from the metro station. No lift and telephone in room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The Young Girlfriend
Business
sweden
Aug 19, 2010

Hollywood view

I was plesnetly suprised! It really look good, bathroom need of update but over all good! I did see three small bugs in there, didn't bother me though. (wi-fi even to your room, not only lobby)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Free parking! Helped us alot, nobody want to be driving around looking for parkning in the middle of the night and pay alot for it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lizardo
Business
Las Vegas, NV, USA
Sep 26, 2011

Less than I expected

No phone in the room, lukewarm fridge, room had a very musty smell, staff seemed somewhat indifferent to our stay. Parking was great! Liked the convenience of the location as well. Seemed to be centrally located to all the attractions that we were planning on visiting. Overall, I give it a score of 63%.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Travel for fun girl
Business
Mountain View, CA
Jul 24, 2010

Nice hotel for a short getaway

Going for a short relaxing/tourist getaway (3 days) I thought giving this hotel a try since some other reviews said it was nice and not too far away from Hollywood Boulevard. The first thing I noticed entering the room was the pleasant fresh smell even though the windows were closed of course. Also the hallways didn't smell smoky like in most other hotels. Very convenient is the free parking right behind the hotel - so if you consider driving to LA - go ahead. The hotel might not be in the better neighborhoods were most of the LA hotels close to Hollywood Blvd. are, but being a single women I didn't feel uncomfortable walking along the street, even when it got darker. Hotel is clean, comfortable bed but no special amenities: Laptop users be aware: I found only one outlet and that was in the closet - not sure if they offer Internet since I didn't need it. Also, no hairdryer and of course no pool. There is an empty fridge and a coffeemaker in the room and a vending machine downstairs with some drinks. Regarding the distance to the main attraction (=Hollywood Blvd.), it's quite a little walk. I'm not a slow walker but it took me 50 minutes to reach Hollywood Blvd. from the hotel; so if you don't mind walking a bit you will be fine. Otherwise, you can always take your car (if you drove) or the bus and of course taxi. Hint for parking at Hollywood Boulevard: Drive into the parking garage of Hollywood Highlands (behind Kodak Theater, one access is on Orange Drive the other one on N Highland Ave);parking for the first 4 hours is $2 with validation from any of the stores there and a total fee of $10 if you decide to park the whole day) Also if you walk stay on Melrose Ave (where the hotel is) and after you past Paramount Pictures (yes, it is very close to the hotel), you see a small "shopping" area with a cafe. Make a stop there at Cafe Americano and get a frappe (banana-mocha frappe yum) or coffee and a bagel or sandwich. This is a nice little place for a short break and the staff is very friendly and helpful. There is a convenience store right across the street from the hotel which covers you with drinks and snacks since the hotel has only that 1 vending machine. At the hotel, you can order delivery from different types of restaurants to your room - there is a menue card in the room but I wouldn't recommend it, since you pay extra fees for every little thing (delivery, and at least 2 other fees I forgot the description of). If you don't expect too much and are fine with a clean room, good bed and convenient parking, this is a nice hotel for a couple days; I would stay there again. Price is also reasonable. This was my first trip to LA by car and I enjoyed my stay. Oh, and there is a gas station right across the hotel with reasonable prices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The best part of the hotel location is the fact, that it is in short walking distance to Paramount Pictures.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Iowa city, IA
Nov 26, 2010

Convienent but not very comfortable.

I thought I was staying at a two star and up hotel, however there was no elevator and the room was not very comfortable. The heat was working work very well, there is no fresh air come into the room because we couldnt get the window open and start to cough. We went there to visit. The hotel's location was very convinent for visiting for both public transportation and cars..the staff was pleasant and we get to store our lugguage there after we check out so we can visit more places that day before our flight in the later afternoon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Ride the metro. There are buses running on every road.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DrJRobinson
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Nov 29, 2010

Good Basic Accommodations

My partner and I visited Los Angeles to meet about a prospective job opportunity. We were looking for affordable accommodations. This hotel is conveniently located with plenty of free parking. The internet in the room was free. There are not other amenities. However, we were surprised to see the room had a refrigerator.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Many places (e.g., restaurants and movie theaters) in the area offer parking. Call ahead to find out so you don't waste time or money attempting to find parking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
rome, Italy
Aug 10, 2010

short staying in LA

just one night experience. Place is pretty good and well located. they've got a big parking but don't have an elevator so you have to carry your baggage up by the stairs by yourself. The hotel is very cheap but offer you all the things you need. I recommend it for short staying.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, CA
Sep 27, 2010

Historic Hollywood Hotel

Good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jumpy
Business
Everett, Washington
Sep 19, 2011

Good Experience/Value

This hotel was very convenient if you are looking for a place to stay on Melrose Ave in Los Angeles. The location is good and is within minimal driving distances from downtown and West Hollywood. Would recommend this hotel for anyone that is looking for a basic resting spot in LA that is priced at a relatively lower cost. Not necessarily the ideal place for a romantic weekend or family getaway, as the hotel itself is similar to a low cost hotel. However the hotel does look rather elegant from the outside and has a unique take to it. For the price, ~ under a $100 a night, it should meet your expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Within walking distance to Paramount Pictures studio

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Marie 3 month marries
Business
SAN francisco
Mar 6, 2011

Unbeatable location for the price

Visiting

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top