$111 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2015 Check-out: Aug 20, 2015

Hollywood Historic Hotel

3 stars
View map of 5162 Melrose Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90038

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hollywood Historic Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
254 out of 254
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.9

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Thom Slo
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Sep 25, 2010

Hollywood Historic Hotel-A Fair Review

All right, there are some very good points and some bad ones. So, here we go, plain and simple. The up side: surveillance cameras are everywhere (car park, inside and state of the art!), Melrose Ave. location (down the street from Paramount Pictures studio and close to 101 freeway, Sunset Blvd. and Hollywood Blvd. great view of 'Hollywood' sign if you have a room facing north), fridge in the room, large walk-in closet, room was large in general, clean hallways and great theme of old Hollywood throughout complete with photos in the stairwell and hallways of stars and starlets of the past (great look!), and last but not least, super-duper-fast wireless internet with easy connection (this was a real convenience for me-quick enough to stream video without problems, old school H-Wood meets space-aged tech), all the normal things like hot water, clean towels, soaps, lights and HVAC were just fine. And now, the downside: Very, very noisy on the Melrose (north) side (all night long!!!. However, bear in mind there is a major motion picture studio down the street. Solution: choose room facing south towards the car park), no microwave to go with the fridge, no phone in the room (you have to use your mobile and call a '800' number to reach the front desk), no iron and ironing board in room, hairs on the bedspread from previous guest (not cool at all), no lift (elevator) must have been out of service since 1962), loose commode seat, lack of electrical outlets in bathroom and room in general. Verdict: Fair. It is a nice, clean place at a good price. But, but, it has the potential to be a great hotel and a genuine destination in its self with just a little tweaking. I'll give the HHT another play, though I will be looking for hairs in the bed when I get to my room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Try Roscoe's on Gower just up from Sunset and all the other places to eat on Sunset. But parking can be a challenge.

Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
randy woods
Business
los angeles
Dec 22, 2010

it was ok

small hotel, room with smell...etc...slow wifi but otherwise, ok. good columbia restaurant nearby...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, FL
Sep 28, 2010

Great Price

We stayed for a weekend and were motivated mostly by price. We got about what we expected. No luxuries and an old building with minor updates done. Bathroom is small but works fine. We had a great view of the Hollywood sign, but I would highly recommend that you ask for a room in the back of the hotel, because there was a lot of traffic noise. Other than that, for the price it was just what we needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, CO
Feb 27, 2011

Easy, simple, stay

This hotel worked out great for us on a complicated business trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
minneapolis MN
May 31, 2011

reasonable for price

sleeping great atmosphere

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Jul 12, 2010

Hollywood Historic Hotel

Hotel was pleasant enough, clean. NO amenities--didn't even have an ice machine. I would recommend this hotel for the sheer value, if not the free parking alone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Paramount Studios is literally across the street.

Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CzinDC
Business
Washington, DC
Nov 23, 2010

Solid choice- good value

Great location. Clean. Free parking. Cheap. Cool old photos of Hollywood legends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
amandal23
Business
Omaha, NE
Sep 16, 2011

Basic Hotel in a Good Location

I stayed at this hotel while visiting my daughter who lived a few blocks away. The location was great - very close to Hollywood and nice restaurants. The room was clean and the hotel was very quiet at night. Some of the staff was friendly - others were not so much. It is a very basic hotel - but for the price - it worked for me as a place to shower and sleep

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
oreoshake
Business
Orange County, CA
Oct 30, 2010

Bad for picky poeple

It's old and basic, but still a good room. The bathroom is small, there is no elevator, outlets are sparse, but it's great for the price and location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

You can walk or cab to many hollywood clubs

Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
B H
Business
San Jose, CA
Dec 29, 2010

An okay hotel

The hotel is at good location. It has large enough room. The cons are the bad smell especially in the lobby and stairs. The quilts are not very clean. The waiter in the lobby needs to be more friendly. Improvement in the management would be very helpful to boost its quality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top