$81 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 7, 2015 Check-out: Jun 10, 2015

Hollywood Historic Hotel

3 stars
View map of 5162 Melrose Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90038

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hollywood Historic Hotel

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
298 out of 298
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
That Mary Chick
Business
Bakersfield
Apr 7, 2013

Perfect for what I was looking for

This is a quaint little hotel conveiniantly located for any Hollywood trip. The staff was super friendly and helpful. I love the little elevator :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
OK Travler
Business
Oklahoma City, OK
Apr 7, 2013

First Trip to LA

I'm a person that loves nostalgia and this hotel was just that. I could feel the history of Hollywood and it was cool that the hallways were adorned by old photos of actors and venues from the heyday of Hollywood. The hotel has been updated, but they still preserved the historic energy. The room was comfortable and had just what I needed, fridge, t.v. and a bed. There is a Cafe in the building and a small local store next door to grab a drink or snacks. If you need gas, there is a gas station across the street. I didn't stay in the room too much. Great location to hit hot spots, restaurants and downtown LA. Just down the street from Paramount Pictures. Also have a great view of the Hollywood Sign from the fire escape window on the third floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The tourist destinations: Hollywood/Highland; Sunset Strip; West Hollywood; Beverly Hills; Griffith Park;

Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
German King
Business
Germany
Mar 21, 2013

For 1 Night ok

The room was Good, clean and the view to the Hollywood sign was fabulous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
xyz to LA
Business
Oakland, CA
Mar 13, 2013

A very pleasant stay!

I checked in during the afternoon and clerk gave me a room on parking lot side. This was much appreciated as the street side has noisy vehicle traffic on Melrose Ave. Just like the hotel name sounds, it is older and noise above and in the hallway is noticeable. On the plus side, the price is great, location is good, internet was solid, room was clean, comfortable bed, free parking (plenty available). Hallways were wonderfully decorated with photos of classic movie stars. I am a big fan of the 1920's LA architectural style! I give HHH a big thumbs up!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Youre best suited to rent a vehicle. I had a memorable drive on Hollywood blvd, Sunset blvd & Melrose Ave. You can feel the history of show biz!

Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Boho Babe
Business
NYC
Mar 10, 2013

Cute lowbrow

Cozy little Melrose experience. More east Hollywood in attitude. Clean and a fun, friendly staff. Perfect for the price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nosh next door for great Mexican food and avoid the lameness at Lucy's across from Paramount!

Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
couple a trvlers
Business
hollywood
Mar 4, 2013

good value good location

it was all we wanted free parking and adequate room in overpriced hollywood

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

take the tours of hollywood really interesting

Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Indiana farm girl
Business
Louisville KY
Feb 22, 2013

Basic comfort, great price

This hotel has vintage charm, the basic necessities and a great shower. I will definitely stay here again because of the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe next door was great.

Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sue aksay
Business
Seatlle, WA
Feb 14, 2013

Nice surprise

Hotel was a very much like a masterpiece from the last century. It was clean, nice, quiet and comfortable. I enjoyed my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
noisypm
Business
San Francisco
Jan 23, 2013

Cold and Noisy Los Angeles night

Hotels location is perfect but renovation and isolation are required for rooms. That was really cold and noisy night in that room. I recommend you to choose your room facing at backyard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
UCLA girl
Business
Westwood, Los Angeles, ca
Jan 20, 2013

Great deal and convenient location.

Extremely approachable staff. Very flexible with checkout and check in times. Wifi was slow but free. Room was clean and simple. Old time feel in a good atmosphere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Mario bateli's mozza is a 5 min drive from the hotel!

Back to menu Return to top