$122 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 3, 2015 Check-out: May 4, 2015

Hollywood Historic Hotel

3 stars
View map of 5162 Melrose Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90038

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hollywood Historic Hotel

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
281 out of 281
Amenities:
2.8
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
German King
Business
Germany
Mar 21, 2013

For 1 Night ok

The room was Good, clean and the view to the Hollywood sign was fabulous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
xyz to LA
Business
Oakland, CA
Mar 13, 2013

A very pleasant stay!

I checked in during the afternoon and clerk gave me a room on parking lot side. This was much appreciated as the street side has noisy vehicle traffic on Melrose Ave. Just like the hotel name sounds, it is older and noise above and in the hallway is noticeable. On the plus side, the price is great, location is good, internet was solid, room was clean, comfortable bed, free parking (plenty available). Hallways were wonderfully decorated with photos of classic movie stars. I am a big fan of the 1920's LA architectural style! I give HHH a big thumbs up!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Youre best suited to rent a vehicle. I had a memorable drive on Hollywood blvd, Sunset blvd & Melrose Ave. You can feel the history of show biz!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Boho Babe
Business
NYC
Mar 10, 2013

Cute lowbrow

Cozy little Melrose experience. More east Hollywood in attitude. Clean and a fun, friendly staff. Perfect for the price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nosh next door for great Mexican food and avoid the lameness at Lucy's across from Paramount!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
couple a trvlers
Business
hollywood
Mar 4, 2013

good value good location

it was all we wanted free parking and adequate room in overpriced hollywood

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

take the tours of hollywood really interesting

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Indiana farm girl
Business
Louisville KY
Feb 22, 2013

Basic comfort, great price

This hotel has vintage charm, the basic necessities and a great shower. I will definitely stay here again because of the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe next door was great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sue aksay
Business
Seatlle, WA
Feb 14, 2013

Nice surprise

Hotel was a very much like a masterpiece from the last century. It was clean, nice, quiet and comfortable. I enjoyed my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
noisypm
Business
San Francisco
Jan 23, 2013

Cold and Noisy Los Angeles night

Hotels location is perfect but renovation and isolation are required for rooms. That was really cold and noisy night in that room. I recommend you to choose your room facing at backyard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
UCLA girl
Business
Westwood, Los Angeles, ca
Jan 20, 2013

Great deal and convenient location.

Extremely approachable staff. Very flexible with checkout and check in times. Wifi was slow but free. Room was clean and simple. Old time feel in a good atmosphere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Mario bateli's mozza is a 5 min drive from the hotel!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jen Casey
Business
Austin, Texas
Jan 15, 2013

Your not staying here to lounge at the hotel.

We had a great time here. We are also the type of travelers that are on the go and just need a safe place to sleep and keep our stuff. There are no telephones in the rooms and the curtains did not block out any light in the morning. But it was clean, the staff very nice and accommodating. You do need a car if you stay here but parking is free and seemed safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Italian restaurant Osteria La Buca was a great dinner experience and Nue Café was great for breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
2008shangdi
Business
Ames, IA
Jan 14, 2013

not good hotel

I don't like this hotel. The building look pretty, but in the room, small room, no phone, no microwave, a tiny coffee pot, so small toilet (just 4 inches) and room seems poorly maintained. The staff is friendly, free parking. It's total fail for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top