$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 7, 2014 Check-out: Dec 8, 2014

Custom Hotel

3 stars
8639 Lincoln Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90045
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
254 reviews
Can't go wrong!

I enjoyed staying here. A grocery store and shops are near by and also a bowling alley. Excellent... See full review

  • MizAbigail
  • Nov 26, 2013
Good Airport Hotel

Chic modern hotel with a great pool and deck bar. Staff were very friendly and accommodating.... See full review

  • fun times traveller
  • Aug 14, 2013
Mixing 60?s style with modern comforts near LA beaches

Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel is a chic haven in Los Angeles that provides tastefully designed rooms and near LAX. The six social lounges on site with unique concepts and appointments are perfect spots to unwind and relax, play Xbox and Wii, enjoy drinks and snacks, or admire art collections. Custom Hotel also has heated outdoor pool for leisure. Several stylish meeting rooms are available for corporate or social functions of up to 400 people. The pet-friendly hotel offers airport shuttle service free of charge.

Highlights
  • Close to LAX
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi access
Rooms

All rooms and suites at Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel feature with contemporary charm and custom LED lighting system for personalized color scheme. Each guestroom offers up-to-date amenities such as 37-inch flat-screen LCD TV, iPod docking station with stereo, on-demand movies and music, safe deposit box, and complimentary wireless Internet access. Most rooms have work desk.

Features

Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel, located just four miles from the famous Venice Beach in Los Angeles, offers complimentary airport shuttle service, secure valet parking and laundry and dry cleaning. A business center with printing service is also on offer.

 

Adjacent to the stadium-style sun deck and pool, DECK33 Bar Restaurant serves diners an array of Pacific Rim-inspired cuisines and various beers, cocktails and wines. Guests at Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel can lounge at the stadium-style sun deck, take a dip in the heated outdoor pool, and exercise at the two fitness centers during free time.

Transportation
  • LAX airport shuttle
  • Los Angeles International Airport (1.3 mi/2.2 km
Attractions
  • Promenade at Howard Hughes Parkway Center (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Westfield Culver City Shopping Center (2.3 mi/3.8 km)
  • Venice Ocean Front Walk (3.2 mi/5.2 km)
  • Venice Beach (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • Los Angeles Forum (4.4 mi/7.1 km)
  • Hollywood Park Casino (4.5 mi/7.3 km)
Business
  • Eight individually decorated meeting spaces
  • Free Wi-Fi access throughout the hotel
Policies and fees

The following fees and deposits are charged by the property at time of service, check-in, or check-out.

Know Before You Go:

There are no room charges for children 17 years old and old and younger who occupy the same room as their parents or guardians, using existing bedding.

Policies:

  • Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on hotel policy.
  • Government-issued photo identification and a credit card are required at check-in for incidental charges.
  • Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges. Special requests cannot be guaranteed.
  • Dog Friendly
  • No pet fee
  • Check-in time starts at 3PM
  • Check-out time is Noon
  • Rollaway beds available upon request and availability ($25.00 fee per rollaway bed)
  • Minimum check-in age is 21

Fees:

  • The following fees and deposits are charged by the property at time of service, check-in, or check-out.

                - Valet parking fee: US$ 20 per night (unlimited in/out privileges)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

33.959 -118.4201
Nearby airports
Burbank-Glendale-Pasadena Airport, (BUR), 33.00, MI, N; Los Angeles International Airport, (LAX), 4.00, MI, S; Long Beach Airport Daugherty Field, (LGB), 24.00, MI, SE;
Area description
Airport

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Custom Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Custom Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Queen Room
Deluxe Queen Room. 265 sq ft. Comp Wi-Fi
Deluxe Two Doubles
Deluxe Two Doubles. 265 sq ft. Comp Wi-Fi.
Deluxe King Room
Deluxe King Room. 337 sq ft. Comp Wi-Fi
Elevated Queen Room
Elevated Queen Room 265 sqft Comp lounge access
Elevated King Room
Elevated King Room 337 sq ft Comp lounge access
Elevated Two Doubles Room
Elevated Two Doubles Room. 265 sq. ft.
Elevated One Bedroom Suite
1K/2Bath/Living Room/WIFI/HDTV/FRIDGE/DESK
Elevated Two Bedroom Suite
Elevated Two Bedroom Suite. 934 sq. ft.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Executive level
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Golf
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Express checkout
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
Electronic door locks

Nearby points of interest

  • Simon Wiesenthal Center: 6.6 mi
  • Westwood Memorial Park: 7 mi
  • University of California: 7.8 mi
  • Pauley Pavilion: 7.9 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 7.9 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 8.1 mi
  • Fowler Museum at UCLA: 8.1 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 8.1 mi
  • UCLA: 8.2 mi
  • Kitson: 8.3 mi
  • Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum: 8.5 mi
  • Farmers Market: 8.6 mi
  • The Grove: 8.6 mi
  • California Science Center: 8.7 mi
  • J. Paul Getty Center: 8.8 mi
  • Simon Wiesenthal Center: 6.6 mi
  • Westwood Memorial Park: 7 mi
  • University of California: 7.8 mi
  • Pauley Pavilion: 7.9 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 7.9 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 8.1 mi
  • Fowler Museum at UCLA: 8.1 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 8.1 mi
  • UCLA: 8.2 mi
  • Kitson: 8.3 mi
  • Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum: 8.5 mi
  • Farmers Market: 8.6 mi
  • The Grove: 8.6 mi
  • California Science Center: 8.7 mi
  • J. Paul Getty Center: 8.8 mi
  • Getty Center: 8.8 mi
  • Galen Center: 9.1 mi
  • Koreatown: 9.7 mi
  • Getty Villa: 10.2 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 10.3 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 10.4 mi
  • Staples Center: 10.5 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 10.8 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 10.9 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 10.9 mi
  • Magic Castle: 11 mi
  • Pershing Square: 11.4 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 11.6 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 11.7 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 11.7 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 11.7 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 11.7 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 11.8 mi
  • Music Center: 12 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 12.1 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 12.1 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 12.8 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 13 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 13.2 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 13.4 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 13.4 mi
  • Ultrazone Laser Tag: 13.4 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 13.4 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 15.1 mi
  • Autry Museum Of Western Heritage: 15.3 mi

Dining

Kanpai Japanese Sushi Bar and Grill
Japanese sushi barbeque and Ramen.
Thai Talay
Thai
Italys Little Kitchen
Italian
Hacienda Del Ray
Mexican
Coffee Bean and Tea Leaf
American
Deck33
Despite its proximity to LAX- dinner at Deck33 bears no resemblance to airport food. Wherever you choose to chill-lounge sundeck or poolside cabana-a selection of wines microbrews and artisanal cocktails will help you shake off those traveling blues.
Sansai Japanese Sushi and Grill
Japanese

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (254)

Ratings and reviews for Custom Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
254 out of 254
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.8

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Custom Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveling Soccer Dad
Business
Hawaii, USA
May 1, 2012

Convenient Location

Great place if you have businees at the LMU campus. Short drive from the airport, walking distance to LMU. Real bummer there's no desk to do paperwork or place your PC. Upon closer inspection, one can see a very old old hotel was given a sloppy makeover to make it look contemporary, -old rattling A/C, painted over tiles in the bathroom, & sloppy re-paint all around - turned me off. I will stay again because of the proximity to LMU.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Ralphs grovery store is next door

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Custom Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NLNLN
Business
Colorado
Apr 11, 2012

Weekend visit

Great value and convenient location to Venice. The hotel is more of being trendy vs family atmosphere. The rooms are somewhat smaller with a platform bed and small bathroom. This is more for those under age of 25.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

1) Next to Ralph's grocery store. You can buy bottle water/snacks at normal prices. 2) If you're willing to walk 2 blocks, you can park on side street without paying $20 for valet. Be sure you read the parking signs because some streets have no overnight parking from 10pm-2am.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Custom Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sianon Bado
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Mar 27, 2012

First LA getaway

I enjoyed my stay at the Custom Hotel. The rooms were nice, and the overall layout and design of the hotel was great. I like the customer service and the free WiFi. Im glad I was able to get a good deal on the room, because I ended up paying more in "hidden Charges". They don't have a parking lot so I had to pay to valet my car every day/night, which is $20 a day. The only other option was to cross my fingers and hope a parking spot on the street opened, but it never did. Then the breakfast they serve downstairs near the lobby was about $12 and only included a limited amount of food and you're only able to get water, tea, or coffee. If you want orange juice thats an extra charge of $4 a cup :-/ Deck 33 Restaurant out by the pool (which is smaller than my living room...the pool that is) has a very nice atmosphere and good drink specials. The customer service, however, could be a little better (had to wait almost 10 min before the waitress came to the table and greet us). The location of the hotel (next door to the airport, around the corner from the mall, and a short driving distance from the beach) made everything so convenient. With the exception of the "hidden charges" I would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Westfield Culver City (former Fox Hills Mall) Beware! Went in to buy a jacket, left with nearly $300 worth of clothes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Custom Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
WADA
Business
New York, NY, USA
Mar 26, 2012

5 Day Getaway

Upon check-in, we were not aware that the hotel would authorize an "additional" $50 per nightly stay onto our credit card. Since our entire trip was prepaid months in advance, we were excited that we wouldn't have any additional costs. We recommend a complimentary hotel parking lot! $20/day for valet parking was just ridiculous to us; We are paying a lot of money to stay at the hotel, and parking isn't included? Aside from that, we can't really comment on the staff, since we never saw anybody other than the person who checked us in. We stayed on the 12th floor, which got quite noisy at nights; we assume that people in the Stratosphere (relaxation room) was causing all the noise - loud voices and screaming. The outlet by the bed did not work, the mattress was too small for the bed frame (I noticed the space, which had been covered up with scraps of carpet), and the mattress was too soft/not comfortable. Aside from the hotel, we had a great vacation; it's FORTUNATE that we spent little time at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Venice Beach is just a short drive away from the hotel; visit the cafes and shops on Abbot Kinney, Venice Canals and boardwalk, and the shops along Washington.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Custom Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LAgirl1978
Business
Portland, OR, USA
Mar 22, 2012

HIP YOUNG VIBE!

I love this place, But i do have to say they need room services or a place that you can eat thats open befor 5 pm! other then that BOMB spot!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Custom Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Millions
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Mar 21, 2012

Does the trick

Stayed here with my crew for a 24 hour shoot. Decent hotel, reasonable value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Custom Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vgejde
Business
Ciudad de México, DF, México
Mar 21, 2012

Not so nice as it looks

It has a nice pool, but that is it! Very well located, near the airport. Rooms are ok in size but the beds are AWFUL! They seem old an of poor quality. Also, be prepared to pay 20 USD for parking each day. Would not come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Go to Gratitude Café in West LA. Just wonderful!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Custom Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Adolph
Business
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Mar 12, 2012

Convenient to airport

Close to LAX (less than 5 minute drive with traffic), very easy to get off plane and to the room. Room was comfortable and clean. One interesting note: there are no chairs or desks in the room. Hotel restaurant/bar was interesting and the food generally quite good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Custom Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cahulagirl
Business
Panama
Feb 22, 2012

In & Out

We were moving our 95 yr old father, so we only slept in the hotel, but we are return-guests. We find this hotel a great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Custom Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J Green
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Feb 8, 2012

Girls Long Weekend

I enjoyed my stay at this hotel we went for a girls long weekend and I must say it was nice. The staff was nice and extremely helpful. The hotel is locatated in a nice central area to other places we had to go. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top