$136 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 26, 2014 Check-out: Sep 29, 2014

Custom Hotel

3 stars
8639 Lincoln Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90045
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
253 reviews
Can't go wrong!

I enjoyed staying here. A grocery store and shops are near by and also a bowling alley. Excellent... See full review

  • MizAbigail
  • Nov 26, 2013
Good Airport Hotel

Chic modern hotel with a great pool and deck bar. Staff were very friendly and accommodating.... See full review

  • fun times traveller
  • Aug 14, 2013
Mixing 60?s style with modern comforts near LA beaches

Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel is a chic haven in Los Angeles that provides tastefully designed rooms and near LAX. The six social lounges on site with unique concepts and appointments are perfect spots to unwind and relax, play Xbox and Wii, enjoy drinks and snacks, or admire art collections. Custom Hotel also has heated outdoor pool for leisure. Several stylish meeting rooms are available for corporate or social functions of up to 400 people. The pet-friendly hotel offers airport shuttle service free of charge.

Highlights
  • Close to LAX
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi access
Rooms

All rooms and suites at Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel feature with contemporary charm and custom LED lighting system for personalized color scheme. Each guestroom offers up-to-date amenities such as 37-inch flat-screen LCD TV, iPod docking station with stereo, on-demand movies and music, safe deposit box, and complimentary wireless Internet access. Most rooms have work desk.

Features

Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel, located just four miles from the famous Venice Beach in Los Angeles, offers complimentary airport shuttle service, secure valet parking and laundry and dry cleaning. A business center with printing service is also on offer.

 

Adjacent to the stadium-style sun deck and pool, DECK33 Bar Restaurant serves diners an array of Pacific Rim-inspired cuisines and various beers, cocktails and wines. Guests at Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel can lounge at the stadium-style sun deck, take a dip in the heated outdoor pool, and exercise at the two fitness centers during free time.

Transportation
  • LAX airport shuttle
  • Los Angeles International Airport (1.3 mi/2.2 km
Attractions
  • Promenade at Howard Hughes Parkway Center (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Westfield Culver City Shopping Center (2.3 mi/3.8 km)
  • Venice Ocean Front Walk (3.2 mi/5.2 km)
  • Venice Beach (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • Los Angeles Forum (4.4 mi/7.1 km)
  • Hollywood Park Casino (4.5 mi/7.3 km)
Business
  • Eight individually decorated meeting spaces
  • Free Wi-Fi access throughout the hotel
Policies and fees

The following fees and deposits are charged by the property at time of service, check-in, or check-out.

Know Before You Go:

There are no room charges for children 17 years old and old and younger who occupy the same room as their parents or guardians, using existing bedding.

Policies:

  • Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on hotel policy.
  • Government-issued photo identification and a credit card are required at check-in for incidental charges.
  • Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges. Special requests cannot be guaranteed.
  • Dog Friendly
  • No pet fee
  • Check-in time starts at 3PM
  • Check-out time is Noon
  • Rollaway beds available upon request and availability ($25.00 fee per rollaway bed)
  • Minimum check-in age is 21

Fees:

  • The following fees and deposits are charged by the property at time of service, check-in, or check-out.

                - Valet parking fee: US$ 20 per night (unlimited in/out privileges)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

33.959 -118.4201
Nearby airports
Burbank-Glendale-Pasadena Airport, (BUR), 33.00, MI, N; Los Angeles International Airport, (LAX), 4.00, MI, S; Long Beach Airport Daugherty Field, (LGB), 24.00, MI, SE;
Area description
Airport

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Custom Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Custom Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Queen Room
Deluxe Queen Room. 265 sq ft. Comp Wi-Fi
Deluxe Two Doubles
Deluxe Two Doubles. 265 sq ft. Comp Wi-Fi.
Deluxe King Room
Deluxe King Room. 337 sq ft. Comp Wi-Fi
Elevated Queen Room
Elevated Queen Room 265 sqft Comp lounge access
Elevated King Room
Elevated King Room 337 sq ft Comp lounge access
Elevated Two Doubles Room
Elevated Two Doubles Room. 265 sq. ft.
Elevated One Bedroom Suite
1K/2Bath/Living Room/WIFI/HDTV/FRIDGE/DESK
Elevated Two Bedroom Suite
Elevated Two Bedroom Suite. 934 sq. ft.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Executive level
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Golf
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Express checkout
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
Electronic door locks

Nearby points of interest

  • Simon Wiesenthal Center: 6.6 mi
  • Westwood Memorial Park: 7 mi
  • University of California: 7.8 mi
  • Pauley Pavilion: 7.9 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 7.9 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 8.1 mi
  • Fowler Museum at UCLA: 8.1 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 8.1 mi
  • UCLA: 8.2 mi
  • Kitson: 8.3 mi
  • Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum: 8.5 mi
  • Farmers Market: 8.6 mi
  • The Grove: 8.6 mi
  • California Science Center: 8.7 mi
  • J. Paul Getty Center: 8.8 mi
  • Simon Wiesenthal Center: 6.6 mi
  • Westwood Memorial Park: 7 mi
  • University of California: 7.8 mi
  • Pauley Pavilion: 7.9 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 7.9 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 8.1 mi
  • Fowler Museum at UCLA: 8.1 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 8.1 mi
  • UCLA: 8.2 mi
  • Kitson: 8.3 mi
  • Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum: 8.5 mi
  • Farmers Market: 8.6 mi
  • The Grove: 8.6 mi
  • California Science Center: 8.7 mi
  • J. Paul Getty Center: 8.8 mi
  • Getty Center: 8.8 mi
  • Galen Center: 9.1 mi
  • Koreatown: 9.7 mi
  • Getty Villa: 10.2 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 10.3 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 10.4 mi
  • Staples Center: 10.5 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 10.8 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 10.9 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 10.9 mi
  • Magic Castle: 11 mi
  • Pershing Square: 11.4 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 11.6 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 11.7 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 11.7 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 11.7 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 11.7 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 11.8 mi
  • Music Center: 12 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 12.1 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 12.1 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 12.8 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 13 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 13.2 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 13.4 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 13.4 mi
  • Ultrazone Laser Tag: 13.4 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 13.4 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 15.1 mi
  • Autry Museum Of Western Heritage: 15.3 mi

Dining

Kanpai Japanese Sushi Bar and Grill
Japanese sushi barbeque and Ramen.
Thai Talay
Thai
Italys Little Kitchen
Italian
Hacienda Del Ray
Mexican
Coffee Bean and Tea Leaf
American
Deck33
Despite its proximity to LAX- dinner at Deck33 bears no resemblance to airport food. Wherever you choose to chill-lounge sundeck or poolside cabana-a selection of wines microbrews and artisanal cocktails will help you shake off those traveling blues.
Sansai Japanese Sushi and Grill
Japanese

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (253)

Ratings and reviews for Custom Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
253 out of 253
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.8

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Custom Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lisa T.O.
Business
San Jose, CA
May 5, 2011

Very Friendly Staff

This was the second time I have stayed at the Custom Hotel while traveling for business in Los Angeles. The staff is super friendly. Restaurant food is very good and reasonably priced. Rooms are modern/funky and the bed is comfy. They are going thru a remodel but it does not have an impact on the guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Custom Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Portland, OR
May 4, 2011

Not our best experience.

We specifically stayed there because there was a pool, but it was out of service due to the construction. There was no signage to direct us to the second floor lobby. 3 of the ice machines were out of order & the hallway fire alarm too. The keyboard to the tv didn't work and nobody answered the phones when we called to get another one. We had to leave the bathroom door open or else parts of the overhang would break off. When we called for valet, no answer again and nobody downstairs to get our car. All and all, not what we expected and don't think we would stay there again.The only pleasant part of our trip was [...]at the front desk, he was extremely helpful and apologetic. It seemed like he was used to getting a lot of complaints, but still treated us as if ours mattered.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Custom Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
seattle
Apr 19, 2011

Custom changing fast

I like the custom but they are changing owners and seems like every time I am there they make dumb excuses on why things are funny....finish the deal already it is getting annoying! will be interested to see if they keep rending rooms at a good price. Bad showers! loud and no pressure. I gave it 4 Stars for the value but if they raise the price it would be a 3 star place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great frozen yogurt shop around the corner

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Custom Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
los Angeles, ca
Apr 8, 2011

Excellent hotel for layovers

We just needed a night stay for a connecting flight and found the custom hotel very clean, convenient and has a super friendly staff. The happy hour food was delicious and so was the breakfast. Internet was complimentary and there's a free shuttle to and from the airport but be sure to call the hotel in advance to arrange for airport pickup

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Custom Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Wichita, KS
Mar 27, 2011

Great location with a style

The room was small but comfortable. The staff very friendly and helpfull. Remodel and renovation was underway while we were there (3-19-11 to 3-26-11). They might want to think about adding noise reducing material to their remodel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Marina Del Rey has a number of dining options.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Custom Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
north state
Mar 24, 2011

wait until after it completes it remodel

remodeling in progress--carpets in common area dirty. black may be a chic fashion statement, but black paint on walls makes the place appear gloomy. inattention to detalis including burnt out light bulbs in the room and inadequate lighting in the hallways, etc. no in room coffee and no complimentary morning coffee at the coffee bar. a feeling that this place is more concern with cost cutting by cutting corners than they are with guests comfort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Custom Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
los angeles
Mar 21, 2011

was okay

parking expensive...room just okay..nothing special...but the staff was very nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Custom Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SEA Leaf
Seattle, WA
Mar 20, 2011

Convenient, Clean and Comfortable

This is a great location close to LAX but without even a hint of airport noise. There are several shops and restaurants in easy walking distance. The grocery store right next door is open late and is very convenient. Major arterials provide easy and quick access by car to the rest of LA. The staff was friendly and helpful, particularly the valet service. My room was very clean and comfortable and I even had a bit of ocean view. The decor was very modern with a funky twist. My only complaint is that the wireless, free internet service provided for guests had somewhat weak signal strength and at times lost connection entirely. Overall I had a great stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk a block or two northwest on Lincoln Boulevard for a variety of dining options.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Custom Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Greensboro, NC
Mar 20, 2011

simple in every way

The hotel is extremly basic, in every way. The vallet men were very sweet, but after i had to wait 5 hours to check in, i have nothing postive to say about the rest of the staff. I stayed for 8 days because the hotel had good location to the airport and where i needed to be. The hotel has over charged me, doubled charged me for movies, and the windows are NOT sound proff as advertised. ALSO, under heavy construction!!! The walls are so thin, you hear every word said, every hammer, plus parties were down stairs and it was impossible to sleep. No room service, the grill isnt open every day and only for certin hours. This is NOT a place for children. My flight home was delayed and i stayed overnight in Atlanta at a Comfort INN and was happier than i was with the Customs Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Custom Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
los angeles
Mar 10, 2011

fair

this hotel is rated as 3 stars, but I do not think it likes a 3-star.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search