$111 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 24, 2015 Check-out: May 25, 2015

Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

3 stars
View map of 8639 Lincoln Blvd., Los Angeles, CA 90045

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
294 out of 294
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.8

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ERok
Business
Dumfries, VA
May 15, 2012

Great time

Friendly and knowledgeable staff with a hip room, I only wish they'd bring the DJ back to the poolside :(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a decent diner next to the Ralph's food store if you want to save some cash.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sylwedydd
Business
Madison NJ
May 8, 2012

All in all very good.

Only thing missing was a chair in the room. Mind you the bed was comfortable but I like a chair for reading and lap topping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveling Soccer Dad
Business
Hawaii, USA
May 1, 2012

Convenient Location

Great place if you have businees at the LMU campus. Short drive from the airport, walking distance to LMU. Real bummer there's no desk to do paperwork or place your PC. Upon closer inspection, one can see a very old old hotel was given a sloppy makeover to make it look contemporary, -old rattling A/C, painted over tiles in the bathroom, & sloppy re-paint all around - turned me off. I will stay again because of the proximity to LMU.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Ralphs grovery store is next door

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NLNLN
Business
Colorado
Apr 11, 2012

Weekend visit

Great value and convenient location to Venice. The hotel is more of being trendy vs family atmosphere. The rooms are somewhat smaller with a platform bed and small bathroom. This is more for those under age of 25.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

1) Next to Ralph's grocery store. You can buy bottle water/snacks at normal prices. 2) If you're willing to walk 2 blocks, you can park on side street without paying $20 for valet. Be sure you read the parking signs because some streets have no overnight parking from 10pm-2am.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sianon Bado
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Mar 27, 2012

First LA getaway

I enjoyed my stay at the Custom Hotel. The rooms were nice, and the overall layout and design of the hotel was great. I like the customer service and the free WiFi. Im glad I was able to get a good deal on the room, because I ended up paying more in "hidden Charges". They don't have a parking lot so I had to pay to valet my car every day/night, which is $20 a day. The only other option was to cross my fingers and hope a parking spot on the street opened, but it never did. Then the breakfast they serve downstairs near the lobby was about $12 and only included a limited amount of food and you're only able to get water, tea, or coffee. If you want orange juice thats an extra charge of $4 a cup :-/ Deck 33 Restaurant out by the pool (which is smaller than my living room...the pool that is) has a very nice atmosphere and good drink specials. The customer service, however, could be a little better (had to wait almost 10 min before the waitress came to the table and greet us). The location of the hotel (next door to the airport, around the corner from the mall, and a short driving distance from the beach) made everything so convenient. With the exception of the "hidden charges" I would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Westfield Culver City (former Fox Hills Mall) Beware! Went in to buy a jacket, left with nearly $300 worth of clothes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
WADA
Business
New York, NY, USA
Mar 26, 2012

5 Day Getaway

Upon check-in, we were not aware that the hotel would authorize an "additional" $50 per nightly stay onto our credit card. Since our entire trip was prepaid months in advance, we were excited that we wouldn't have any additional costs. We recommend a complimentary hotel parking lot! $20/day for valet parking was just ridiculous to us; We are paying a lot of money to stay at the hotel, and parking isn't included? Aside from that, we can't really comment on the staff, since we never saw anybody other than the person who checked us in. We stayed on the 12th floor, which got quite noisy at nights; we assume that people in the Stratosphere (relaxation room) was causing all the noise - loud voices and screaming. The outlet by the bed did not work, the mattress was too small for the bed frame (I noticed the space, which had been covered up with scraps of carpet), and the mattress was too soft/not comfortable. Aside from the hotel, we had a great vacation; it's FORTUNATE that we spent little time at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Venice Beach is just a short drive away from the hotel; visit the cafes and shops on Abbot Kinney, Venice Canals and boardwalk, and the shops along Washington.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LAgirl1978
Business
Portland, OR, USA
Mar 22, 2012

HIP YOUNG VIBE!

I love this place, But i do have to say they need room services or a place that you can eat thats open befor 5 pm! other then that BOMB spot!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Millions
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Mar 21, 2012

Does the trick

Stayed here with my crew for a 24 hour shoot. Decent hotel, reasonable value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vgejde
Business
Ciudad de México, DF, México
Mar 21, 2012

Not so nice as it looks

It has a nice pool, but that is it! Very well located, near the airport. Rooms are ok in size but the beds are AWFUL! They seem old an of poor quality. Also, be prepared to pay 20 USD for parking each day. Would not come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Go to Gratitude Café in West LA. Just wonderful!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Adolph
Business
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Mar 12, 2012

Convenient to airport

Close to LAX (less than 5 minute drive with traffic), very easy to get off plane and to the room. Room was comfortable and clean. One interesting note: there are no chairs or desks in the room. Hotel restaurant/bar was interesting and the food generally quite good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top