Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel ★★★

Best price guarantee!

Find a lower price somewhere else and we'll pay 100% of the difference in Orbucks, plus up to $100 in additional Orbucks for Orbitz Rewards members Learn more

$149
avg/night
Rate and special offer based on
Check-in: Mar 6, 2016 Check-out: Mar 8, 2016

Wouldn't recommend this one!

Would not recommend Mon, Jun 8, 2009
The beds were extremely uncomfortable and room was every sparse.

| San Bernardino, CA Friends

2 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 2 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 1 /5
  • Location: 3 /5
  • Value: 2 /5

Hip, dark, slick.

Would recommend Sun, Jun 7, 2009
The Custom Hotel is a beautiful, simple, boutique hotel. It looks good (another reviewer described it as David Lynch-ian, and I'd have to agree with that assessment.) The pool and facilities were perfectly serviceable, and it has a free shuttle to the airport. The shuttle and housekeeping staff were excellent, as was some of the desk staff. A couple of the desk attendants were a little brusque, but for a place like this, that's expected. Use the public restrooms past the lobby. Bottom lit, and they have a weird, wonderful bayou noise soundtrack! Great new Thai restaurant within walking distance, and Bristol Farms across the street is a wonderful, convenient place for morning coffee, sandwiches and gourmet groceries. My only complaint is the location, and it's hardly the fault of the Hotel. It is close to the airport, but about a $60 cab ride from downtown LA. As someone traveling from a city with excellent public transportation, LA's lack of (or, more accurate, lackadaisical) public transportation was frustrating. Using it one day to get to downtown required riding a shuttle, a bus, the LA metro with three transfers and finally a cab to get to my location on the UCLA campus. Location notwithstanding, I would definitely recommend staying here when in LA, just plan to rent a car when you do.

Shopping hint

Bristol Farms across the street is an excellent place for morning coffee, lunch, or other fresh foods and gourmet groceries.

| Washington DC Business

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 2 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Custom Hotel

Would recommend Tue, Jun 2, 2009
Being close to the airport is a plus. However, not being right at the airport allowed for more restful sleep. A "Ralph's" next door made it really convenient. However, no refrigerator in the room. The best part is the staff is super friendly & helpful. Excellent Thai restaurant a short distance.

Nightlife hint

The Custom Hotel sponsors a LMU (Loyola Marymount University) night on Tues & Thurs. Quite active & lots of friendly people. Doesn't really get going until after 10pm. There are other social events on various nights.

| Honolulu Business

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

cool place, nice stay

Would recommend Mon, Jun 1, 2009
Reservation was ready to go, quick check in. The hotel is designed with a unique and quirky mindset. Perfect for my quick weekend to visit friends and convenient to the 405.

| Las Vegas Singles

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Overnight layover

Would recommend Fri, May 29, 2009
The shuttle didn't show up, but the hotel took care of the taxi expense and comp'd us some drinks for our inconvience. Wonderful boutique hotel. Would definitely stay again for vacation.

| Seattle, WA Friends

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Hated it!

Would not recommend Wed, May 27, 2009
I was sorely dissappointed with the huge parties, lines of people, small rooms, no fridge, no micro. could not adjust the AC. Drunken partiers all hours and vomit and noisy hallways. You would expect that in Vegas. Won't recommend it, also won't use Orbitz-can NOT get a refund. paid for 4 nights, stayed 2 and paid to go somewhere else. No second exit if you wanted to avoid the lines to get in or out. It was a gift for my daughter who had moved from the East Coast. We both were dissapointed-Chris S PDX

Shopping hint

Ralphs next door, you can get the 4 or 8 dollar bottled water at Ralphs for less than 4 dollars.....for both! But there is nothing to keep it cool in.

| Portland, OR Family

1 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 1 /5
  • Cleanliness: 1 /5
  • Hotel staff: 2 /5
  • Comfort: 2 /5
  • Location: 1 /5
  • Value: 1 /5

a hip hop, hip hotel.

Would recommend Tue, May 26, 2009
Istayed at 4 hotels this week and this one was not bad at all, if you are a party animal this is where you want to be, parties all night every night

Nightlife hint

good restaurant,bowling,grocery next door,clean but do not clean your room the next day left trash and dishes in room and do not give fresh soap, housekeeping probably went to the all night party, hotel allowed dogs i saw two large dogs come out in the morning i will not return,hotel looked remodled it will not look good in two years at this rate.

| ohio Couples

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

An Innovative Hotel

Would recommend Fri, May 22, 2009
We were only staying one night - flying into LAX late one evening and leaving from LAX the next morning. The courtesy shuttle was convenient and breakfast reasonable.

| Cleveland Ohio Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

mother n baby stop ova

Would recommend Fri, May 15, 2009
very relaxing would recommend if needing a rest before taking a long flight

| australia Singles

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

IT WAS DIFFERENT....WE LIKE A CHANGE

Would recommend Mon, May 11, 2009
WE WILL STAY THERE AGAIN WHEN IN L.A.

| TUCSON AZ Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5