$111 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

3 stars
View map of 8639 Lincoln Blvd., Los Angeles, CA 90045

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
294 out of 294
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.8

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ERok
Dumfries, VA
May 15, 2012

Great time

Friendly and knowledgeable staff with a hip room, I only wish they'd bring the DJ back to the poolside :(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a decent diner next to the Ralph's food store if you want to save some cash.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ms. Selective
Business
Virgina Beach, VA
Aug 12, 2009

No Expectation's :)

At a first glance this hotel seem's great! In fact it was in a great location about a 15 minutes drive to hollywood, sunset blvd, melrose place,etc. Great for morning run's a park is located parallel to the hotel. It is very eco-friendly but, give's you an option in whether or not you would like to go green so that's always a plus. The only negative I would say is the inconsistency with the deposit. Enough said just please be mindful of the cost up front. Overall I would recommend this hotel again to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
B2
Business
Dallas, Texas
Aug 11, 2009

Custom Hotel is Fabulous

While I was only there over night, it was absolutely perfect. Clean, crisp decor; excellent service at the desk; perfect location from LAX. Hip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
denver, co
Aug 11, 2009

ok for the night

hotel isn't bad... they've just tried to make something very modern and have cut some corners. my room was fine- but you could tell the paint was chipping, the tub was old, the drapes were not very nice. the bed was comfy though. i didn't go to the pool but the workout room was fine-

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
İstanbul Turkey
Aug 3, 2009

Nice Hotel

Nice place but definitely need a car

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Ralphs

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Alice Mom
Business
New Caney, TX
Aug 2, 2009

For the younger crowd

This was only a overnight stay due to a connecting flight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CoCExec
Business
Upstate New York
Jul 20, 2009

Eclectic, affordable and convenient

The Custom Hotel is perfectly located near LAX in proximity to Marina Del Ray, Venice Beach and Santa Monica. It's somewhat eclectic, with low-rise beds, limited dresser space, dark hallways and a funky lobby area. However, it's convenience and affordability are first rate, the staff mostly helpful and if you're into a hip nightclub type pool/lounge area, this is one of the best!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Santa Monica is a short drive and is abundant with great shopping, restaurants and the famous pier.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
dnewfie
Business
Denver, CO
Jul 16, 2009

Business Travel

Not a great place to stay Friday-Sunday. Major parties all night, drunk people, etc. Not a good experience. There is no room service as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Simi Valley, CA
Jul 12, 2009

Not all it was cracked up to be

My boyfriend & I simply went to this hotel to relax. Unfortunately, the hotel pool had been rented out for the night and was hosting a "Hip-Hop" event. We were unaware of the event and would have passed on this hotel. The line to valet park your car was extremely long (and mandatory, by the way, $22 to park your car as a guest of this hotel) What a racket. I overhead another guest explaining to the front desk that the only reason they were staying in this particular hotel was because of the pool. He told her she could join the party for a $25 cover charge. She wasn't pleased. Rooms were small and needed some TLC. Honestly, I felt scared and not safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Aussie Guy in Transit
Business
Canberra, Australia.
Jul 6, 2009

Great Place

It was only noisy because Custom was hosting a July 4 pool party and some of the guests staying on my floor were a little bit excited! This is an ideal location for passengers in transit -- I stayed only one night and there was a free shuttle bus that picked me up from LAX when I arrived and took me to LAX to catch my outgoing flight. I would gladly have stayed longer though -- great atmosphere, it's modern, friendly staff, awesome location -- you get the true feeling like you're in LA, it has all the amenities and it's absolutely spotlessly clean. Enjoy! :).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Both fast food (KFC, Taco Bell) and higher class restaurants are just across the road.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Safya
Business
missouri
Jul 5, 2009

Nice Hotel only Valet Parking

They don't tell you there is no parking. $20.00 per day valet. if you park in the spots clearly available your car will be towed. Other than that it is a clean and quiet hotel. it was actually pretty neat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top