$87 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 24, 2014 Check-out: Dec 27, 2014

Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

3 stars
8639 Lincoln Blvd., Los Angeles, CA 90045
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
256 reviews
Can't go wrong!

I enjoyed staying here. A grocery store and shops are near by and also a bowling alley. Excellent... See full review

  • MizAbigail
  • Nov 26, 2013
Good Airport Hotel

Chic modern hotel with a great pool and deck bar. Staff were very friendly and accommodating.... See full review

  • fun times traveller
  • Aug 14, 2013
Mixing 60?s style with modern comforts near LA beaches

Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel is a chic haven in Los Angeles that provides tastefully designed rooms and near LAX. The six social lounges on site with unique concepts and appointments are perfect spots to unwind and relax, play Xbox and Wii, enjoy drinks and snacks, or admire art collections. Custom Hotel also has heated outdoor pool for leisure. Several stylish meeting rooms are available for corporate or social functions of up to 400 people. The pet-friendly hotel offers airport shuttle service free of charge.

Highlights
  • Close to LAX
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi access
Rooms

All rooms and suites at Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel feature with contemporary charm and custom LED lighting system for personalized color scheme. Each guestroom offers up-to-date amenities such as 37-inch flat-screen LCD TV, iPod docking station with stereo, on-demand movies and music, safe deposit box, and complimentary wireless Internet access. Most rooms have work desk.

Features

Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel, located just four miles from the famous Venice Beach in Los Angeles, offers complimentary airport shuttle service, secure valet parking and laundry and dry cleaning. A business center with printing service is also on offer.

 

Adjacent to the stadium-style sun deck and pool, DECK33 Bar Restaurant serves diners an array of Pacific Rim-inspired cuisines and various beers, cocktails and wines. Guests at Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel can lounge at the stadium-style sun deck, take a dip in the heated outdoor pool, and exercise at the two fitness centers during free time.

Transportation
  • LAX airport shuttle
  • Los Angeles International Airport (1.3 mi/2.2 km
Attractions
  • Promenade at Howard Hughes Parkway Center (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Westfield Culver City Shopping Center (2.3 mi/3.8 km)
  • Venice Ocean Front Walk (3.2 mi/5.2 km)
  • Venice Beach (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • Los Angeles Forum (4.4 mi/7.1 km)
  • Hollywood Park Casino (4.5 mi/7.3 km)
Business
  • Eight individually decorated meeting spaces
  • Free Wi-Fi access throughout the hotel
Policies and fees

The following fees and deposits are charged by the property at time of service, check-in, or check-out.

Know Before You Go:

There are no room charges for children 17 years old and old and younger who occupy the same room as their parents or guardians, using existing bedding.

Policies:

  • Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on hotel policy.
  • Government-issued photo identification and a credit card are required at check-in for incidental charges.
  • Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges. Special requests cannot be guaranteed.
  • Dog Friendly
  • No pet fee
  • Check-in time starts at 3PM
  • Check-out time is Noon
  • Rollaway beds available upon request and availability ($25.00 fee per rollaway bed)
  • Minimum check-in age is 21

Fees:

  • The following fees and deposits are charged by the property at time of service, check-in, or check-out.

                - Valet parking fee: US$ 20 per night (unlimited in/out privileges)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel Rooms

Renovated Two Double Room
Renovated in June 2011, Renovated Queen rooms are 264 sq ft featuring two double beds and are located on floors 2-9. All guest rooms include complimentary wireless Internet, 37 inch flat screen LCD TV's, stereo with iPod docking station, 300 thread-count cotton linens, On Demand movies and laptop accommodating safes.
Renovated King Room
Renovated in June 2011, renovated Deluxe King Rooms are 337 sq ft featuring one king bed and are located on floors 2-9. All guest rooms include complimentary wireless Internet, working desk, 37 inch flat screen LCD TV's, stereo with iPod docking station, , 300 thread-count cotton linens, On Demand movies and laptop accommodating safes.
Renovated View Deluxe Queen Room
Renovated in June 2011, Renovated View Queen Rooms are located on floors 10-12 and include extra amenities: 37inch TV, working desk with ergonomic chair, and -best of all-guaranteed panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean, Malibu, Hollywood, Downtown Los Angeles or the LAX runway through new soundproof windows.
Deluxe
Double rooms are 264 sq ft featuring two double beds and are located on floors 2-9. All guest rooms include complimentary wireless Internet, 26 inch flat screen LCD TV's, stereo with iPod docking station, 300 thread-count cotton linens, On Demand movies and laptop accommodating safes. All rooms and suites are smoke-free.
Deluxe Queen
Queen rooms are 264 sq ft featuring one queen bed and are located on floors 2-9. All guest rooms include complimentary wireless Internet, working desk, 26 inch flat screen LCD TV's, stereo with iPod docking station, 300 thread-count cotton linens, On Demand movies and laptop accommodating safes. All rooms and suites are smoke-free.
Deluxe King
Deluxe King Rooms are 337 sq ft featuring one king bed and are located on floors 2-9. All guest rooms include complimentary wireless Internet, working desk, 26 inch flat screen LCD TV's, stereo with iPod docking station, , 300 thread-count cotton linens, On Demand movies and laptop accommodating safes. All rooms and suites are smoke-free.
Renovated Queen Room
Renovated in June 2011, Renovated Queen rooms are 264 sq ft featuring two double beds and are located on floors 2-9. All guest rooms include complimentary wireless Internet, 37 inch flat screen LCD TV's, stereo with iPod docking station, 300 thread-count cotton linens, On Demand movies and laptop accommodating safes.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Simon Wiesenthal Center: 6.6 mi
  • Westwood Memorial Park: 7 mi
  • University of California: 7.8 mi
  • Pauley Pavilion: 7.9 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 7.9 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 8.1 mi
  • Fowler Museum at UCLA: 8.1 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 8.1 mi
  • UCLA: 8.2 mi
  • Kitson: 8.3 mi
  • Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum: 8.5 mi
  • Farmers Market: 8.6 mi
  • The Grove: 8.6 mi
  • California Science Center: 8.7 mi
  • J. Paul Getty Center: 8.8 mi
  • Simon Wiesenthal Center: 6.6 mi
  • Westwood Memorial Park: 7 mi
  • University of California: 7.8 mi
  • Pauley Pavilion: 7.9 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 7.9 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 8.1 mi
  • Fowler Museum at UCLA: 8.1 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 8.1 mi
  • UCLA: 8.2 mi
  • Kitson: 8.3 mi
  • Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum: 8.5 mi
  • Farmers Market: 8.6 mi
  • The Grove: 8.6 mi
  • California Science Center: 8.7 mi
  • J. Paul Getty Center: 8.8 mi
  • Getty Center: 8.8 mi
  • Galen Center: 9.1 mi
  • Koreatown: 9.7 mi
  • Getty Villa: 10.2 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 10.3 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 10.4 mi
  • Staples Center: 10.5 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 10.8 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 10.9 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 10.9 mi
  • Magic Castle: 11 mi
  • Pershing Square: 11.4 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 11.6 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 11.7 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 11.7 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 11.7 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 11.7 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 11.8 mi
  • Music Center: 12 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 12.1 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 12.1 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 12.8 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 13 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 13.2 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 13.4 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 13.4 mi
  • Ultrazone Laser Tag: 13.4 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 13.4 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 15.1 mi
  • Autry Museum Of Western Heritage: 15.3 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Custom Hotel features 5 exclusive conference suites for small, intimate meetings of up to 50 people and hosts outdoor or private events for up to 400 people. Catered breakfast, lunch and dinner is also available in the conference suites or poolside.

Dining

Deck 33 Bar and Restaurant
Casual bar and dining space featuring cuisine and drinks with a Pacific Rim influence and overlooking the stadium-style sun deck and pool.
Transonic
Gaming lounge equipped with Xbox Kinect and Wii, 55"TV and surround sound system.
Layover Lounge
Layover Lounge. Located in the main lobby and featuring communal tables with power outlets and seating hubs. Do not forget wine hour from 5 p.m. to 6 p.m. daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (256)

Ratings and reviews for Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
256 out of 256
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.8

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fresno, CA
Jun 21, 2010

Custom Hotel Review-one night stay

Located close to LAX. Rooms are small. 19 inch flat screen TV. Bed extremly low to floor. Mandatory parking charge. Nice staff. Low budget hotel for person and/or family on low budget. Not far from fast food. Grocery store next door, as well as credit union, coffee shop and yoguart store.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Jun 15, 2010

great place to stay!

great hotel... great location... Cost of parking is ridiculous... $22 per night...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Redondo Beach Pier. at the end of the pier is a great breakfast spot... the prices are fantastic and the food is outstanding.....

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gates
Business
Carson
Jun 13, 2010

This is something different, pretty nice

As I stated previously, the hotel is something different. The rooms take on a "European" type of design. The room was simple but very comfortable, as was the overall hotel itself. The hotel is located in a very convenient area for dining and other retail needs, not to mention one can actually "see" LAX, but not hear it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Hapy couple
Business
St. Paul, Minnesota
Jun 13, 2010

Custom Hotel, and artists idea gone bad

We were in L. A.to visit family and the hotel was very conveniently located near them and near the beach. We enjoyed the coffee and tea shop nearby when the hotel diningroom was closed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The beaches nearby were wonderful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Jun 5, 2010

One of the Better hotels to stay in!

The hotel was deffinately well organized, neat and clean. I was a little bummed that there was no places for me to park, therefor forcing me to Vallet it with the Hotel. I stayed there because I was going to a car show the next morning, and when I got my car back from the Vallet, my front bumper had been hit; so that was pretty unpleasent. But the rooms were cool, trendy, comfortable bed. Shower was a little weak, but my friends room had a strong shower, so i guess it's just hit or miss with this place. I for the most part am Satisfied with my stay; with the exception of the Vallet ruining my front bumper right before the car show i was suppose to attend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

I enjoyed the bar very much, drinks weren't too expensive, what I would expect for an establishment like that.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JaviR
Business
San Francisco
Jun 5, 2010

Nice trendy chic hotel at budget price

Visit to LA, good location. Parking is extra but valet service and friendly staff. I would totally stay again at this affordable and great hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, Boston, Los Angeles
Jun 3, 2010

A great stay

I came to LA to find an apt for when I move out later this month. My room was the cheapest one available. It wasn't big but it was comfortable and spotless. My bed was very comfortable. There was a desk, a chair a flatscreen tv(only pay channel) and a spotless bathroom. The staff were suppurb. I spent 5 days there and they were all great. I chose to park my car on a side street each night for free instead if the $20 pernight valet. It was a safe residental street maybe 200 yards from the hotel near am Italian restaurant. Being as close to airport as it was I heard no flights at all. The drive was sole and easy to get where I wanted to go. Although there was no fridge there is a full supermarket nextdoor and even a redbox to rent movies. The decor was hip and modern. I even got a kick out of the kitschy blanket of dogs faces which was ontop of the bed's comforter. I highly recommend the custom hotel and would defintley stay here again. They could charge more but am greatful that they didn't.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

It's Los Angeles, unless you are just staying the night for business you need to rent a car. The hotel got me one with enterprise quite easily.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
Jun 2, 2010

Good for the Weekend

Just stayed the one night, which we think is perfect for the hotel. The rooms are on the small side but are neat. The hotel is very simple but has what you need especially for the price. It's very close to the airport and just a quick 10 min drive up to Santa Monica.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
nfkfhjknnkjvh
Business
Petaluma CA
May 31, 2010

To freaken weird

We will NEVER go there again!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis, MO
May 19, 2010

just another hotel

shuttle bus didn't start till 7am. had to take a taxi for $15 in the morning since my flight left at 6:45am. no deal there. room was just OK. location was too far from airport if you are just overnighting. shuttle bus took 15-20 minutes to get there once you called. staff were just putting in their hours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top