$199 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 16, 2015 Check-out: Jul 18, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn

3 stars
View map of 818 N Hill Street, Los Angeles, CA 90012-2395

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
59 reviews
Stayed with friends!

We needed somewhere close to Club Nokia for a concert that was cheap! This was perfect, right in... See full review

  • LoveKPOP
  • Feb 6, 2014
Okay place if looking for something a little different

Okay place if looking for something a little different. Okay location to everything. Rooms... See full review

  • Dylan J.
  • Dec 16, 2014
Welcome to BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn! The Staples Sports Arena is just a short drive away from our Los Angeles hotel, making it easy to catch a game, concert or special performance. When you are staying in downtown, the whole city is just steps away. Our Los Angeles hotel is near the Amtrak Union Station, so guests can opt for public transportation as their vehicle of choice. The Los Angeles Convention Center is also a few minutes away, and many business travelers stay with us while they are in town for an event or tradeshow. L.A. Live and Hollywood are in the neighborhood, making it simple for our Los Angeles hotel guests to make the most of their trip. The Lakers, Clippers, Kings and Dodgers all play their home games nearby, and catching one of them is an exciting addition to any vacation. We are centrally located to Universal Studios, too, which is nearly required for adventure lovers and traveling families. The Hollywood Bowl, Nokia Theatre, and Kodak Theatre are also close to our Los Angeles hotel. When planning your trip, make sure to check off the Music Center, Ahmanson, Disney Concert Hall and MOCA, too. Many of our guests are Dorothy Chandler fans, and will want to make that part of their trip as well. There is no shortage of things to do nearby, whether it is shopping on Rodeo Drive or visiting the beaches. If you are staying at our Los Angeles hotel on business, rest assured that you won't have to handle the famous traffic, because you will be close to everything. Some of our regular guests work with USC Hospital or the superior court, federal court or local court. We also welcome many business travelers to the financial or fashion district, and federal and state buildings bring civil servants to the area. Book today and save on your room at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn! Enjoy your stay.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn Rooms

1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,HI SPEED NET,REFRIG,COFMKR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,HI SPEED NET,REFRIG,COFMKR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,ROLL IN SHOWER,NSMK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,ROLL IN SHOWER,NSMK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,WALK IN SHOWER,NSMK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Live entertainment
Horseback riding
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Barber shop
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Cordless phone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Music Center: 0.6 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 0.8 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 0.8 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 0.8 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 1 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 1 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 1.1 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 1.1 mi
  • Pershing Square: 1.3 mi
  • Staples Center: 2.1 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 2.2 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 2.5 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Music Center: 0.6 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 0.8 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 0.8 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 0.8 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 1 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 1 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 1.1 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 1.1 mi
  • Pershing Square: 1.3 mi
  • Staples Center: 2.1 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 2.2 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 2.5 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Koreatown: 3.5 mi
  • Galen Center: 3.8 mi
  • California Science Center: 4.2 mi
  • Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum: 4.4 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 5.3 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 5.7 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 5.7 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 6.1 mi
  • Autry Museum Of Western Heritage: 6.4 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 6.4 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 6.5 mi
  • Magic Castle: 6.6 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 6.7 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 6.7 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 6.8 mi
  • The Grove: 6.8 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 6.8 mi
  • Farmers Market: 7 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 7 mi
  • Kitson: 8.4 mi
  • Universal Studios: 8.5 mi
  • Simon Wiesenthal Center: 9.4 mi
  • University of California: 11.6 mi
  • Fowler Museum at UCLA: 11.6 mi
  • Westwood Memorial Park: 11.6 mi
  • Pauley Pavilion: 11.9 mi
  • UCLA: 12.3 mi
  • J. Paul Getty Center: 13.5 mi
  • Getty Center: 13.6 mi
  • Ultrazone Laser Tag: 13.6 mi

Dining

Little Tokyo
1 mile(s) from Little Tokyo , You can unwind by having sushi, sake and participating in Karaoke. Little Tokyo offers a taste of Japan without leaving the country.
Chinatown
.2 mile(s) from Chinatown, Chinese, There are over 90 Chinese restaurants. Featuring all the different ethnic foods of China such as Mandarin, Cantonese, Szchewan, Hunan and many more
Hill Street Cafe
Hill Street Cafe, on premises
Olvera St.
.5 mile(s) from Olvera St., Mexican, If Mexican food is what you like, ave an authentic Mexican dinner while being serenaded at your table.
Downtown Los Angeles
.2 mile(s) from Downtown Los Angeles, a wide variety of Intercontinental Cuisine to make any city envious.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
14 out of 59
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.5

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brenda surge tech
Business
Oxnard, ca
Dec 19, 2013

Everything was PERFECT!

My fiancé and I went to a hockey game at the staples center and we stayed at this hotel. The staff was super friendly and even called a taxi for us for the staple center!! It is 10 minutes away from our hotel so it made it very convenient! The room was very ran and nice and the bed was very comfortable! Needless to say that we will definatly will stay here again!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Take taxi.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Nov 3, 2009

Fantastic experience

I love this hotel. Great price, great serivce, and the most important is the great location. Love it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Apr 18, 2008

Very combientient, clean and great value

The Best Western Dragon Inn was very comfortable. The rooms are clean and safe. The staff are very freindly and helpful. There is a refrigerator in the room that makes convient and helpful. It is located in the heart of Chinatown surrounded by lots of shops and excellent restaurants. It is also close to dowtown LA and vicity. There is a hotel parking, but charge an $8 fee/night which the surrounding lot change between $3-$5. I will definetly come and stay at the Best Western Dragon Inn again. I just wish that I have known this hotel before.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Chinese Bristo one block west of the Hotel that serves excellent Chinese cusines and very reasonable prize (peking duck $10, lobster for $10 and most of the entree are $$7). Get there early for lunch before the crowd shows up.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Credit Card guy
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jan 29, 2013

Close to Downtown and Union Station

Comfy room, quiet... close proximity to downtown, Dodger Stadium, union station. We were able to walk and take the bus/light rail to.. Grammy Museum, LA Live, Pasadena and Dodger Stadium. The free breakfast was surprisingly good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Megs The Great
Business
San Diego, California
Mar 13, 2013

No too shabby

This place was nice for the price. I liked that you needed a key to take the elevator up to the rooms. It made me feel safer. The area is not horrible like some of the other places for the price. We were here for a Clippers game at Staples and the bus stop was right out front it was only $3 and a 10 min bus ride. My only complaint is that when I showered in the morning the bathtub would not drain! It kinda grossed me out but when I told the front desk they were so apologetic and they paged some sort of maintinence to come fix it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego
Aug 19, 2010

Convenient Location

Just a few blocks away from the Gold Line light rail station. LA's Chinatown is a lot of fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jeanlong
Business
Las Vegas
Dec 28, 2009

Chinatown hotel

Fabulous Chinatown location, walking distance to restaurants, shops, bank. Central location, short drive to everything/anything in L.A. area. Staff efficient and friendly in check-in. Price of room does not include $8 parking fee which goes until Noon, then $3 more if you leave the car in the garage, so if price is factor, consider the cost of parking. Breakfast is included in downstairs courtyard but serving area is totally cramped, hot water is insufficient for tea or oatmeal, and with only 2 toasters those are totally inadequate to handle load of people wanting bagels and toast; plus, waffles are not self-serve and staff was undercooking them all so they are soggy. this probably explains the cheap room price. If location is important, this is it. Plenty of nearby inexpensive places for breakfast though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to restaurants, Dim sum, fresh seafood, Pho.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dylan J.
Business
Schofield
Dec 16, 2014

Okay place if looking for something a little different

Okay place if looking for something a little different. Okay location to everything. Rooms over-priced in my opinion. But decent enough to get by and no major complaints. Hotel staff wasn't the most helpful either but the breakfast was good and parking was expensive at night but cheap during day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mex Visitor
Business
Palm Springs, CA
Jan 23, 2011

Yes

Not knowing what to expect, I reserved for one night and ended up wishing I had booked for two. The room was comfortable, nicely decorated, and very convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dim Sum at Golden Dragon on Broadway is good and popular.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Brittany the Curious
Business
San Diego, CA
Jan 4, 2010

Paper Thin Walls & Noisy Atmosphere

The room was very pretty and the front desk staff were very friendly and the only downfall was the paper thin walls and whenever someone would walk by our door, the footsteps sounded like a giant was passing by. I was awakened at 7am because the people next door were leaving and I could hear everything that was going on.. then the housekeeping started and it was incredibly loud. I could hear all the people talking very loudly downstairs at the cafe and shops.So be warned, it's extremely noisy in this hotel! But I will admit that it was adequate for the price since we only paid $43 for one night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

I recommend going to the La Brea Tar Pits, Universal Studios and the Museum of Jurassic Technology. This hotel is in the middle of a ton of different amazing attractions!

Back to menu Return to top