$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2015 Check-out: Aug 5, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn

3 stars
View map of 818 N Hill Street, Los Angeles, CA 90012-2395

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
46 out of 46
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.8

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jeanlong
Business
Las Vegas
Dec 28, 2009

Chinatown hotel

Fabulous Chinatown location, walking distance to restaurants, shops, bank. Central location, short drive to everything/anything in L.A. area. Staff efficient and friendly in check-in. Price of room does not include $8 parking fee which goes until Noon, then $3 more if you leave the car in the garage, so if price is factor, consider the cost of parking. Breakfast is included in downstairs courtyard but serving area is totally cramped, hot water is insufficient for tea or oatmeal, and with only 2 toasters those are totally inadequate to handle load of people wanting bagels and toast; plus, waffles are not self-serve and staff was undercooking them all so they are soggy. this probably explains the cheap room price. If location is important, this is it. Plenty of nearby inexpensive places for breakfast though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to restaurants, Dim sum, fresh seafood, Pho.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Aug 31, 2009

Nice Hotel in the center of chinatown

The Hotel is located in the middle of china tow. The hotel receptionists ware super experienced friendly and they gave us very helpfully tips. The room was super clean and the beds were comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

we tested two restaurant recommendation, both restaurants had very big and good dishes.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dylan J.
Business
Schofield
Dec 16, 2014

Okay place if looking for something a little different

Okay place if looking for something a little different. Okay location to everything. Rooms over-priced in my opinion. But decent enough to get by and no major complaints. Hotel staff wasn't the most helpful either but the breakfast was good and parking was expensive at night but cheap during day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ms Pao
Business
Seattle
Nov 18, 2011

China Town

This hotel was nicely decorated; however, my room wasn't very clean and my sheets made me itch horribly. The staff was amazing and the location was great, but it would have been nice to have a clean room along with all of that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pk Mac
Business
Texas, USA
Jan 15, 2012

Quick in and out

Nice clean hotel. In the middle of Chinatown. Very safe feel. Must use card to get where rooms are.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fonz
Business
San Jose, CA, USA
Feb 15, 2012

Overnight

I happen to have a disability that makes walking difficult . The location of motel isn't in a bad location but the parking garage is real difficult to get to motel from. The elevator was not working so if I hadnt had a person with me I would never attempted to climb all those stairs with my luggage. They charged for parking which I don't believing in paying extra for to stay at a motel. We arrived real late which they were aware of and they didn't have anyone there to help with luggage . We had to climb 3 flights of stairs with all our luggage because we didn't know if anything would be safe if left in vehicle

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Have plenty of tip money available

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Heinz K
Business
Germany
Sep 15, 2012

It's not the Ritz but it will do for those on a budget.

The location is good not because of the depressed neighborhood it's in but because it is very close to the Metro system, the downtown sights: Walt Disney Concert Hall, Union Station, City Hall, Olvera Street, and old LA Chinatown where food is a bargain. What could improve is the breakfast situation which is less than expected but not exactly horrible. If you are picky about everything this is not the place for you to stay but for those looking for a bargain and are flexible about details it's is a good choice. It is not a place to bring lots of little children as there is no place for them to play.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Any of the late hour Chinese restaurants such as the Mayflower and for those who prefer a more American menu the famous Phillipe's where you meet lots of people from all parts of the city and around the world.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
La Momy
Business
Philadelphia
Nov 23, 2012

Family getaway

Much beter than imagine, close to union station! Good price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
megreat
Business
dc
Dec 3, 2012

not bad

Did not like the fact that they charged $10/night for parking. Not fair at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Marquis22
Business
Bellevue, WA
Feb 24, 2013

good price

Good hotel. The only problem was the $10 parking fee that you had to pay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top