$139 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 5, 2014 Check-out: Dec 7, 2014

BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn

3 stars
818 N Hill Street, Los Angeles, CA 90012-2395
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
52 reviews
Everything was PERFECT!

My fiancé and I went to a hockey game at the staples center and we stayed at this hotel. The staff... See full review

  • Brenda surge tech
  • Dec 19, 2013
Stayed with friends!

We needed somewhere close to Club Nokia for a concert that was cheap! This was perfect, right in... See full review

  • LoveKPOP
  • Feb 6, 2014
Welcome to BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn! The Staples Sports Arena is just a short drive away from our Los Angeles hotel, making it easy to catch a game, concert or special performance. When you are staying in downtown, the whole city is just steps away. Our Los Angeles hotel is near the Amtrak Union Station, so guests can opt for public transportation as their vehicle of choice. The Los Angeles Convention Center is also a few minutes away, and many business travelers stay with us while they are in town for an event or tradeshow. L.A. Live and Hollywood are in the neighborhood, making it simple for our Los Angeles hotel guests to make the most of their trip. The Lakers, Clippers, Kings and Dodgers all play their home games nearby, and catching one of them is an exciting addition to any vacation. We are centrally located to Universal Studios, too, which is nearly required for adventure lovers and traveling families. The Hollywood Bowl, Nokia Theatre, and Kodak Theatre are also close to our Los Angeles hotel. When planning your trip, make sure to check off the Music Center, Ahmanson, Disney Concert Hall and MOCA, too. Many of our guests are Dorothy Chandler fans, and will want to make that part of their trip as well. There is no shortage of things to do nearby, whether it is shopping on Rodeo Drive or visiting the beaches. If you are staying at our Los Angeles hotel on business, rest assured that you won't have to handle the famous traffic, because you will be close to everything. Some of our regular guests work with USC Hospital or the superior court, federal court or local court. We also welcome many business travelers to the financial or fashion district, and federal and state buildings bring civil servants to the area. Book today and save on your room at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn!

Hotel Map

34.0631 -118.2388
Area served
Beverly Hills, Anaheim, Santa Monica, Pasadena, Burbank
Nearby airports
(LAX), 18.00, MI, NE;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn Rooms

1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,HI SPEED NET,REFRIG,COFMKR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,HI SPEED NET,REFRIG,COFMKR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,ROLL IN SHOWER,NSMK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,ROLL IN SHOWER,NSMK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,WALK IN SHOWER,NSMK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Live entertainment
Horseback riding
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Barber shop
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Cordless phone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Music Center: 0.6 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 0.8 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 0.8 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 0.8 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 1 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 1 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 1.1 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 1.1 mi
  • Pershing Square: 1.3 mi
  • Staples Center: 2.1 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 2.2 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 2.5 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Music Center: 0.6 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 0.8 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 0.8 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 0.8 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 1 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 1 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 1.1 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 1.1 mi
  • Pershing Square: 1.3 mi
  • Staples Center: 2.1 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 2.2 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 2.5 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Koreatown: 3.5 mi
  • Galen Center: 3.8 mi
  • California Science Center: 4.2 mi
  • Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum: 4.4 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 5.3 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 5.7 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 5.7 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 6.1 mi
  • Autry Museum Of Western Heritage: 6.4 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 6.4 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 6.5 mi
  • Magic Castle: 6.6 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 6.7 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 6.7 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 6.8 mi
  • The Grove: 6.8 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 6.8 mi
  • Farmers Market: 7 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 7 mi
  • Kitson: 8.4 mi
  • Simon Wiesenthal Center: 9.4 mi
  • University of California: 11.6 mi
  • Fowler Museum at UCLA: 11.6 mi
  • Westwood Memorial Park: 11.6 mi
  • Pauley Pavilion: 11.9 mi
  • UCLA: 12.3 mi
  • J. Paul Getty Center: 13.5 mi
  • Getty Center: 13.6 mi
  • Ultrazone Laser Tag: 13.6 mi
  • Getty Villa: 18.8 mi

Dining

Chinatown
.2 mile(s) from Chinatown, Chinese, There are over 90 Chinese restaurants. Featuring all the different ethnic foods of China such as Mandarin, Cantonese, Szchewan, Hunan and many more
Downtown Los Angeles
.2 mile(s) from Downtown Los Angeles, a wide variety of Intercontinental Cuisine to make any city envious.
Little Tokyo
1 mile(s) from Little Tokyo , You can unwind by having sushi, sake and participating in Karaoke. Little Tokyo offers a taste of Japan without leaving the country.
Olvera St.
.5 mile(s) from Olvera St., Mexican, If Mexican food is what you like, ave an authentic Mexican dinner while being serenaded at your table.
Hill Street Cafe
Hill Street Cafe, on premises

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (52)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
52 out of 52
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.7

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego
Aug 19, 2010

Convenient Location

Just a few blocks away from the Gold Line light rail station. LA's Chinatown is a lot of fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
StakaStagista
Business
Rome, Italy
Jan 19, 2010

Very good Hotel

The room was large with 2 beds (mattresses perhaps a little too hard), TV and refrigerator, while the bathroom was small but very clean. The Internet connection was free and very good. The only flaw is in the breakfast: not very good nor the quality of the food nor the service but just make do. I stayed only 2 nights, but I found it very well. It's a hotel I'd recommend, even if it is too far from downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 17, 2007

Value for your money

The room was a little larger than your average room and included two double beds, a table with two chairs. You are right in the heart of Chinatown, so if you are on a business trip, downtown is nearby, but if you are sighseeing, most of the shops in Chinatown open after 11:00 am. There is an underground parking lot that is not operated by the hotel and it will cost you $8/day. Just one elevator that's not to fast but since it was a leisure trip, it was ok. The comp breakfast is very limited but it was a bargain for the price of the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 6, 2007

don't goback

The hotel was not up to standards. The elevator was broke and we had to walk up stairs with heavy bags with no help and I have a bad back. But what could I do after driving so long to get to my destination? Look for another hotel or just deal with it. The morning that we left my daughter and I went to eat breakfast and noticed a roach right out side the lobby area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jeanlong
Business
Las Vegas
Dec 28, 2009

Chinatown hotel

Fabulous Chinatown location, walking distance to restaurants, shops, bank. Central location, short drive to everything/anything in L.A. area. Staff efficient and friendly in check-in. Price of room does not include $8 parking fee which goes until Noon, then $3 more if you leave the car in the garage, so if price is factor, consider the cost of parking. Breakfast is included in downstairs courtyard but serving area is totally cramped, hot water is insufficient for tea or oatmeal, and with only 2 toasters those are totally inadequate to handle load of people wanting bagels and toast; plus, waffles are not self-serve and staff was undercooking them all so they are soggy. this probably explains the cheap room price. If location is important, this is it. Plenty of nearby inexpensive places for breakfast though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to restaurants, Dim sum, fresh seafood, Pho.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Aug 31, 2009

Nice Hotel in the center of chinatown

The Hotel is located in the middle of china tow. The hotel receptionists ware super experienced friendly and they gave us very helpfully tips. The room was super clean and the beds were comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

we tested two restaurant recommendation, both restaurants had very big and good dishes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tawesak
Business
USA
Nov 28, 2007

Only Room is great.

I was in this hotel for a couple days. My room is great. In addition, clean and comfort, and also the hotel closed to the public transportation(bus,and train). However, there are two things that below the avg.the Internet access was really bad. My laptop can connected the wireless but it was too slow to use. The other thing, breakfast was not good at all. I rate the hotel just okay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ms Pao
Business
Seattle
Nov 18, 2011

China Town

This hotel was nicely decorated; however, my room wasn't very clean and my sheets made me itch horribly. The staff was amazing and the location was great, but it would have been nice to have a clean room along with all of that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pk Mac
Business
Texas, USA
Jan 15, 2012

Quick in and out

Nice clean hotel. In the middle of Chinatown. Very safe feel. Must use card to get where rooms are.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fonz
Business
San Jose, CA, USA
Feb 15, 2012

Overnight

I happen to have a disability that makes walking difficult . The location of motel isn't in a bad location but the parking garage is real difficult to get to motel from. The elevator was not working so if I hadnt had a person with me I would never attempted to climb all those stairs with my luggage. They charged for parking which I don't believing in paying extra for to stay at a motel. We arrived real late which they were aware of and they didn't have anyone there to help with luggage . We had to climb 3 flights of stairs with all our luggage because we didn't know if anything would be safe if left in vehicle

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Have plenty of tip money available

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top