$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2014 Check-out: Aug 4, 2014

BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn

3 stars
818 N Hill Street, Los Angeles, CA 90012-2395
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
78 reviews
Everything was PERFECT!

My fiancé and I went to a hockey game at the staples center and we stayed at this hotel. The staff... See full review

  • Brenda surge tech
  • Dec 19, 2013
No too shabby

This place was nice for the price. I liked that you needed a key to take the elevator up to the... See full review

  • Megs The Great
  • Mar 13, 2013
Welcome to BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn! The Staples Sports Arena is just a short drive away from our Los Angeles hotel, making it easy to catch a game, concert or special performance. When you are staying in downtown, the whole city is just steps away. Our Los Angeles hotel is near the Amtrak Union Station, so guests can opt for public transportation as their vehicle of choice. The Los Angeles Convention Center is also a few minutes away, and many business travelers stay with us while they are in town for an event or tradeshow. L.A. Live and Hollywood are in the neighborhood, making it simple for our Los Angeles hotel guests to make the most of their trip. The Lakers, Clippers, Kings and Dodgers all play their home games nearby, and catching one of them is an exciting addition to any vacation. We are centrally located to Universal Studios, too, which is nearly required for adventure lovers and traveling families. The Hollywood Bowl, Nokia Theatre, and Kodak Theatre are also close to our Los Angeles hotel. When planning your trip, make sure to check off the Music Center, Ahmanson, Disney Concert Hall and MOCA, too. Many of our guests are Dorothy Chandler fans, and will want to make that part of their trip as well. There is no shortage of things to do nearby, whether it is shopping on Rodeo Drive or visiting the beaches. If you are staying at our Los Angeles hotel on business, rest assured that you won't have to handle the famous traffic, because you will be close to everything. Some of our regular guests work with USC Hospital or the superior court, federal court or local court. We also welcome many business travelers to the financial or fashion district, and federal and state buildings bring civil servants to the area. Book today and save on your room at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn!

BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn Rooms

1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,HI SPEED NET,REFRIG,COFMKR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,HI SPEED NET,REFRIG,COFMKR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,ROLL IN SHOWER,NSMK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,ROLL IN SHOWER,NSMK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,WALK IN SHOWER,NSMK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Live entertainment
Horseback riding
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Barber shop
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Cordless phone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

34.0631 -118.2388
Area served
Beverly Hills, Anaheim, Santa Monica, Pasadena, Burbank
Nearby airports
(LAX), 18.00, MI, NE;
Area description
Downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Music Center: 0.6 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 0.8 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 0.8 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 0.8 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 1 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 1 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 1.1 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 1.1 mi
  • Pershing Square: 1.3 mi
  • Staples Center: 2.1 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 2.2 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 2.5 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Music Center: 0.6 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 0.8 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 0.8 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 0.8 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 1 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 1 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 1.1 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 1.1 mi
  • Pershing Square: 1.3 mi
  • Staples Center: 2.1 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 2.2 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 2.5 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Koreatown: 3.5 mi
  • Galen Center: 3.8 mi
  • California Science Center: 4.2 mi
  • Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum: 4.4 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 5.3 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 5.7 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 5.7 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 6.1 mi
  • Autry Museum Of Western Heritage: 6.4 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 6.4 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 6.5 mi
  • Magic Castle: 6.6 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 6.7 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 6.7 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 6.8 mi
  • The Grove: 6.8 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 6.8 mi
  • Farmers Market: 7 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 7 mi
  • Kitson: 8.4 mi
  • Simon Wiesenthal Center: 9.4 mi
  • University of California: 11.6 mi
  • Fowler Museum at UCLA: 11.6 mi
  • Westwood Memorial Park: 11.6 mi
  • Pauley Pavilion: 11.9 mi
  • UCLA: 12.3 mi
  • J. Paul Getty Center: 13.5 mi
  • Getty Center: 13.6 mi
  • Ultrazone Laser Tag: 13.6 mi
  • Getty Villa: 18.8 mi

Dining

Chinatown
.2 mile(s) from Chinatown, Chinese, There are over 90 Chinese restaurants. Featuring all the different ethnic foods of China such as Mandarin, Cantonese, Szchewan, Hunan and many more
Downtown Los Angeles
.2 mile(s) from Downtown Los Angeles, a wide variety of Intercontinental Cuisine to make any city envious.
Little Tokyo
1 mile(s) from Little Tokyo , You can unwind by having sushi, sake and participating in Karaoke. Little Tokyo offers a taste of Japan without leaving the country.
Olvera St.
.5 mile(s) from Olvera St., Mexican, If Mexican food is what you like, ave an authentic Mexican dinner while being serenaded at your table.
Hill Street Cafe
Hill Street Cafe, on premises

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (78)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
78 out of 78
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.8

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hiker guy
Business
California
Feb 19, 2013

surprising good hotel for the price

I had to stay in Los Angeles for business on a Sunday evening. The Best Western Dragon Gate Inn is within easy walking distance from the LA Amtrak station, so I tried the hotel in spite of slight concerns about the neighborhood. The walk was fine, the neighborhood wasn't too bad, and the hotel was surprisingly good. The hallways were nothing special, but the room was very clean, had a nice little desk for work, and had modern bedspreads and decorations. All the plumbing worked well and they had plenty of clean towels. Breakfast was disappointing (you get a coupon for a little shop in the lobby that is somewhat like a convenience store), but they did have some healthy choices. On the whole, I was pleasantly surprised by the whole experience and would definitely stay here again if I were looking for a clean place near the train station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

close the Los Angeles Amtrak Station

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Diego, CA
Nov 3, 2009

Fantastic experience

I love this hotel. Great price, great serivce, and the most important is the great location. Love it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Sep 1, 2008

Close to attractions

The Best Western Dragon Gate Inn in Los Angeles, California was right in the middle of downtown LA. I loved staying there because I could walk to Chinatown each morning to enjoy dim sum. The people there just ignore you and let you enjoy the surrounding. Most of the food are good deals and so are the merchandises. From the hotel it only took me 15 minutes to get to Universal Studio, where my friends and I stayed all day. The room was somewhat spacious and it had a fridge that kept our drinks cold. When we were all worn out from visiting the many attractions, the hotel room was a welcome site. The area surround the hotel was very peaceful and it made me feel safe and carefree.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

There is Universal Studio and Six Flag Theme park to the north, Hollywood to the west and many beaches to the south west of the hotel. If a person enjoy Vietnamese cuisine then it's a 30 min drive south on I5 to Santa Ana where the hub of many Vietnamese restaurant and shopping mall can be found.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Sep 1, 2008

Close to attractions

The Best Western Dragon Gate Inn in Los Angeles, California was right in the middle of downtown LA. I loved staying there because I could walk to Chinatown each morning to enjoy dim sum. The people there just ignore you and let you enjoy the surrounding. Most of the food are good deals and so are the merchandises. From the hotel it only took me 15 minutes to get to Universal Studio, where my friends and I stayed all day. The room was somewhat spacious and it had a fridge that kept our drinks cold. When we were all worn out from visiting the many attractions, the hotel room was a welcome site. The area surround the hotel was very peaceful and it made me feel safe and carefree.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

There is Universal Studio and Six Flag Theme park to the north, Hollywood to the west and many beaches to the south west of the hotel. If a person enjoy Vietnamese cuisine then it's a 30 min drive south on I5 to Santa Ana where the hub of many Vietnamese restaurant and shopping mall can be found.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brenda surge tech
Oxnard, ca
Dec 19, 2013

Everything was PERFECT!

My fiancé and I went to a hockey game at the staples center and we stayed at this hotel. The staff was super friendly and even called a taxi for us for the staple center!! It is 10 minutes away from our hotel so it made it very convenient! The room was very ran and nice and the bed was very comfortable! Needless to say that we will definatly will stay here again!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Take taxi.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
keiko
Osaka
May 15, 2007

Very family friendly

The Best Western Dragon Gate Inn was very comfortable, the room was wide and cleanable. The location was very good in front of main road (Hill St) .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jan 8, 2008

Nice for a night stay

Room cleanliness and room confort were excellent. This is a very nice one night staying hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Dec 1, 2007

Great response to customer's need

The Best Western Gradon Gate Inn's staff was very helpful. I went to L.A. to take a test. The guests live next to my room were talking so loud and I need some quiet time to review my material and have a good night sleep. I requested the front desk to change to room for me. The staff at front desk, after make a phone call, arranged me to the other room which is more isolate and quiet. I am very please for the re-arrangement. I have some quiet time to study and sleep. Next day I was doing very on my test. I appreiciated this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The Chinese restaurant behind the hotel on braodway have a lot of good disks.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LoveKPOP
Las Vegas, Nevada
Feb 6, 2014

Stayed with friends!

We needed somewhere close to Club Nokia for a concert that was cheap! This was perfect, right in Chinatown which was a plus! A few minutes drive to Little Tokyo and a short drive to Club Nokia! The rooms were nice and the staff were so helpful! Also liked that you need a room key to go up in the elevator! We would come back late and leave early and the valet wouldn't be there but the staff was always at the front desk to get my car keys! Thanks a bunch! Will stay here again for sure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Its a short 5-10 minute drive to the convention center/staples center/nokia plaza!

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Dec 7, 2007

Excellent value

Though the hotel facilities in general were so-so, the rooms are terrific for the price. Roomy, comfortable, clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

pasenda is nearby as well as chinatown.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Apr 18, 2008

Very combientient, clean and great value

The Best Western Dragon Inn was very comfortable. The rooms are clean and safe. The staff are very freindly and helpful. There is a refrigerator in the room that makes convient and helpful. It is located in the heart of Chinatown surrounded by lots of shops and excellent restaurants. It is also close to dowtown LA and vicity. There is a hotel parking, but charge an $8 fee/night which the surrounding lot change between $3-$5. I will definetly come and stay at the Best Western Dragon Inn again. I just wish that I have known this hotel before.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Chinese Bristo one block west of the Hotel that serves excellent Chinese cusines and very reasonable prize (peking duck $10, lobster for $10 and most of the entree are $$7). Get there early for lunch before the crowd shows up.

Back to menu Return to top