$179 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2015 Check-out: Sep 2, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn

3 stars
View map of 818 N Hill Street, Los Angeles, CA 90012-2395

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
46 reviews
Stayed with friends!

We needed somewhere close to Club Nokia for a concert that was cheap! This was perfect, right in... See full review

  • LoveKPOP
  • Feb 6, 2014
Okay place if looking for something a little different

Okay place if looking for something a little different. Okay location to everything. Rooms... See full review

  • Dylan J.
  • Dec 16, 2014
Welcome to BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn! The Staples Sports Arena is just a short drive away from our Los Angeles hotel, making it easy to catch a game, concert or special performance. When you are staying in downtown, the whole city is just steps away. Our Los Angeles hotel is near the Amtrak Union Station, so guests can opt for public transportation as their vehicle of choice. The Los Angeles Convention Center is also a few minutes away, and many business travelers stay with us while they are in town for an event or tradeshow. L.A. Live and Hollywood are in the neighborhood, making it simple for our Los Angeles hotel guests to make the most of their trip. The Lakers, Clippers, Kings and Dodgers all play their home games nearby, and catching one of them is an exciting addition to any vacation. We are centrally located to Universal Studios, too, which is nearly required for adventure lovers and traveling families. The Hollywood Bowl, Nokia Theatre, and Kodak Theatre are also close to our Los Angeles hotel. When planning your trip, make sure to check off the Music Center, Ahmanson, Disney Concert Hall and MOCA, too. Many of our guests are Dorothy Chandler fans, and will want to make that part of their trip as well. There is no shortage of things to do nearby, whether it is shopping on Rodeo Drive or visiting the beaches. If you are staying at our Los Angeles hotel on business, rest assured that you won't have to handle the famous traffic, because you will be close to everything. Some of our regular guests work with USC Hospital or the superior court, federal court or local court. We also welcome many business travelers to the financial or fashion district, and federal and state buildings bring civil servants to the area. Book today and save on your room at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn! Enjoy your stay.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn Rooms

1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,HI SPEED NET,REFRIG,COFMKR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,HI SPEED NET,REFRIG,COFMKR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,ROLL IN SHOWER,NSMK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,ROLL IN SHOWER,NSMK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,WALK IN SHOWER,NSMK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Live entertainment
Horseback riding
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Barber shop
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Cordless phone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Music Center: 0.6 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 0.8 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 0.8 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 0.8 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 1 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 1 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 1.1 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 1.1 mi
  • Pershing Square: 1.3 mi
  • Staples Center: 2.1 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 2.2 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 2.5 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Music Center: 0.6 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 0.8 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 0.8 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 0.8 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 1 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 1 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 1.1 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 1.1 mi
  • Pershing Square: 1.3 mi
  • Staples Center: 2.1 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 2.2 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 2.5 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Koreatown: 3.5 mi
  • Galen Center: 3.8 mi
  • California Science Center: 4.2 mi
  • Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum: 4.4 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 5.3 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 5.7 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 5.7 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 6.1 mi
  • Autry Museum Of Western Heritage: 6.4 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 6.4 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 6.5 mi
  • Magic Castle: 6.6 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 6.7 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 6.7 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 6.8 mi
  • The Grove: 6.8 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 6.8 mi
  • Farmers Market: 7 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 7 mi
  • Kitson: 8.4 mi
  • Universal Studios: 8.5 mi
  • Simon Wiesenthal Center: 9.4 mi
  • University of California: 11.6 mi
  • Fowler Museum at UCLA: 11.6 mi
  • Westwood Memorial Park: 11.6 mi
  • Pauley Pavilion: 11.9 mi
  • UCLA: 12.3 mi
  • J. Paul Getty Center: 13.5 mi
  • Getty Center: 13.6 mi
  • Ultrazone Laser Tag: 13.6 mi

Dining

Little Tokyo
1 mile(s) from Little Tokyo , You can unwind by having sushi, sake and participating in Karaoke. Little Tokyo offers a taste of Japan without leaving the country.
Chinatown
.2 mile(s) from Chinatown, Chinese, There are over 90 Chinese restaurants. Featuring all the different ethnic foods of China such as Mandarin, Cantonese, Szchewan, Hunan and many more
Hill Street Cafe
Hill Street Cafe, on premises
Olvera St.
.5 mile(s) from Olvera St., Mexican, If Mexican food is what you like, ave an authentic Mexican dinner while being serenaded at your table.
Downtown Los Angeles
.2 mile(s) from Downtown Los Angeles, a wide variety of Intercontinental Cuisine to make any city envious.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
46 out of 46
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.8

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dr. D
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Jan 14, 2012

It sucks.

I will not go back. I was surprised that this hotel was rated Best Western Plus. It does not deserve it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nashville
May 22, 2008

Not a place to recommend

The only good thing about it is that the room is quite spacious. The breakfast was bad, the caffee was really tiny and all the food and drinks seem not to be fresh nor clean. We could see many flies around. The amenities were old.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

really convenient if you want to taste chinese food since it is in chinatown

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Dec 18, 2010

Abusive Staff

This hotel is very strange. The housekeeping tried entering our room without knocking at 8AM when we were still asleep. They opened and closed the door loudly. Also the refridgerator was loud and made noises all night. We tried requesting a different room or to get a different fridge and were told "since we were unhappy the hotel's policy is that we not be allowed to stay another night." Thanks [...]. You are a snot like nobody else. I am reporting you to your manager and corporate on Monday when important people are around to take complaints. I was stunned by [...]'s robotic answers. It was almost funny to people checking out with us they were laughing about it as the line flowed out the door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Master Wok. Down the street.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
auburn ca
Mar 22, 2010

Ugh

roaches. what more need i say?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
dadu
Business
Atlanta
Jan 11, 2010

Best Western Dragon Gate Inn

For what ever reason, our reservation was for 2 nights but we needed 3. On arrival we told the front desk. They said it would be Ok. When we returned the third night they told us we would have to leave. We argued to the point of almost coming to blows. There was a major ball game in town and they could get a better deal I am sure plus the chance we could not find another hotel nearby because of the attendees. I offered to pay the higher rate for the night. I called the police who came but could not do anything further. Never had such treatment in all the years of travel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Andy123456789
Business
Lancaster, CA, USA
Nov 20, 2011

OK

The TV Picture had a lot of snow. we thought the shop's inside the BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn where nice untill a loud drunk couple stopted me from sleeping. The shower door frame fell apart. Parking $ 10.00

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ms Pao
Business
Seattle
Nov 18, 2011

China Town

This hotel was nicely decorated; however, my room wasn't very clean and my sheets made me itch horribly. The staff was amazing and the location was great, but it would have been nice to have a clean room along with all of that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pk Mac
Business
Texas, USA
Jan 15, 2012

Quick in and out

Nice clean hotel. In the middle of Chinatown. Very safe feel. Must use card to get where rooms are.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fonz
Business
San Jose, CA, USA
Feb 15, 2012

Overnight

I happen to have a disability that makes walking difficult . The location of motel isn't in a bad location but the parking garage is real difficult to get to motel from. The elevator was not working so if I hadnt had a person with me I would never attempted to climb all those stairs with my luggage. They charged for parking which I don't believing in paying extra for to stay at a motel. We arrived real late which they were aware of and they didn't have anyone there to help with luggage . We had to climb 3 flights of stairs with all our luggage because we didn't know if anything would be safe if left in vehicle

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Have plenty of tip money available

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Heinz K
Business
Germany
Sep 15, 2012

It's not the Ritz but it will do for those on a budget.

The location is good not because of the depressed neighborhood it's in but because it is very close to the Metro system, the downtown sights: Walt Disney Concert Hall, Union Station, City Hall, Olvera Street, and old LA Chinatown where food is a bargain. What could improve is the breakfast situation which is less than expected but not exactly horrible. If you are picky about everything this is not the place for you to stay but for those looking for a bargain and are flexible about details it's is a good choice. It is not a place to bring lots of little children as there is no place for them to play.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Any of the late hour Chinese restaurants such as the Mayflower and for those who prefer a more American menu the famous Phillipe's where you meet lots of people from all parts of the city and around the world.

Back to menu Return to top