$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 28, 2014

BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn

3 stars
818 N Hill Street, Los Angeles, CA 90012-2395
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
78 reviews
Everything was PERFECT!

My fiancé and I went to a hockey game at the staples center and we stayed at this hotel. The staff... See full review

  • Brenda surge tech
  • Dec 19, 2013
No too shabby

This place was nice for the price. I liked that you needed a key to take the elevator up to the... See full review

  • Megs The Great
  • Mar 13, 2013
Welcome to BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn! The Staples Sports Arena is just a short drive away from our Los Angeles hotel, making it easy to catch a game, concert or special performance. When you are staying in downtown, the whole city is just steps away. Our Los Angeles hotel is near the Amtrak Union Station, so guests can opt for public transportation as their vehicle of choice. The Los Angeles Convention Center is also a few minutes away, and many business travelers stay with us while they are in town for an event or tradeshow. L.A. Live and Hollywood are in the neighborhood, making it simple for our Los Angeles hotel guests to make the most of their trip. The Lakers, Clippers, Kings and Dodgers all play their home games nearby, and catching one of them is an exciting addition to any vacation. We are centrally located to Universal Studios, too, which is nearly required for adventure lovers and traveling families. The Hollywood Bowl, Nokia Theatre, and Kodak Theatre are also close to our Los Angeles hotel. When planning your trip, make sure to check off the Music Center, Ahmanson, Disney Concert Hall and MOCA, too. Many of our guests are Dorothy Chandler fans, and will want to make that part of their trip as well. There is no shortage of things to do nearby, whether it is shopping on Rodeo Drive or visiting the beaches. If you are staying at our Los Angeles hotel on business, rest assured that you won't have to handle the famous traffic, because you will be close to everything. Some of our regular guests work with USC Hospital or the superior court, federal court or local court. We also welcome many business travelers to the financial or fashion district, and federal and state buildings bring civil servants to the area. Book today and save on your room at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn!

BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn Rooms

1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,HI SPEED NET,REFRIG,COFMKR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,HI SPEED NET,REFRIG,COFMKR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,ROLL IN SHOWER,NSMK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,ROLL IN SHOWER,NSMK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,WALK IN SHOWER,NSMK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Live entertainment
Horseback riding
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Barber shop
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Cordless phone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

34.0631 -118.2388
Area served
Beverly Hills, Anaheim, Santa Monica, Pasadena, Burbank
Nearby airports
(LAX), 18.00, MI, NE;
Area description
Downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Music Center: 0.6 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 0.8 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 0.8 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 0.8 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 1 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 1 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 1.1 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 1.1 mi
  • Pershing Square: 1.3 mi
  • Staples Center: 2.1 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 2.2 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 2.5 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Music Center: 0.6 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 0.8 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 0.8 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 0.8 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 1 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 1 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 1.1 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 1.1 mi
  • Pershing Square: 1.3 mi
  • Staples Center: 2.1 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 2.2 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 2.5 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Koreatown: 3.5 mi
  • Galen Center: 3.8 mi
  • California Science Center: 4.2 mi
  • Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum: 4.4 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 5.3 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 5.7 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 5.7 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 6.1 mi
  • Autry Museum Of Western Heritage: 6.4 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 6.4 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 6.5 mi
  • Magic Castle: 6.6 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 6.7 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 6.7 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 6.8 mi
  • The Grove: 6.8 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 6.8 mi
  • Farmers Market: 7 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 7 mi
  • Kitson: 8.4 mi
  • Simon Wiesenthal Center: 9.4 mi
  • University of California: 11.6 mi
  • Fowler Museum at UCLA: 11.6 mi
  • Westwood Memorial Park: 11.6 mi
  • Pauley Pavilion: 11.9 mi
  • UCLA: 12.3 mi
  • J. Paul Getty Center: 13.5 mi
  • Getty Center: 13.6 mi
  • Ultrazone Laser Tag: 13.6 mi
  • Getty Villa: 18.8 mi

Dining

Chinatown
.2 mile(s) from Chinatown, Chinese, There are over 90 Chinese restaurants. Featuring all the different ethnic foods of China such as Mandarin, Cantonese, Szchewan, Hunan and many more
Downtown Los Angeles
.2 mile(s) from Downtown Los Angeles, a wide variety of Intercontinental Cuisine to make any city envious.
Little Tokyo
1 mile(s) from Little Tokyo , You can unwind by having sushi, sake and participating in Karaoke. Little Tokyo offers a taste of Japan without leaving the country.
Olvera St.
.5 mile(s) from Olvera St., Mexican, If Mexican food is what you like, ave an authentic Mexican dinner while being serenaded at your table.
Hill Street Cafe
Hill Street Cafe, on premises

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (78)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
78 out of 78
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.8

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Brittany the Curious
San Diego, CA
Jan 4, 2010

Paper Thin Walls & Noisy Atmosphere

The room was very pretty and the front desk staff were very friendly and the only downfall was the paper thin walls and whenever someone would walk by our door, the footsteps sounded like a giant was passing by. I was awakened at 7am because the people next door were leaving and I could hear everything that was going on.. then the housekeeping started and it was incredibly loud. I could hear all the people talking very loudly downstairs at the cafe and shops.So be warned, it's extremely noisy in this hotel! But I will admit that it was adequate for the price since we only paid $43 for one night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

I recommend going to the La Brea Tar Pits, Universal Studios and the Museum of Jurassic Technology. This hotel is in the middle of a ton of different amazing attractions!

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Brittany the Curious
San Diego, CA
Jan 4, 2010

Paper Thin Walls & Noisy Atmosphere

The room was very pretty and the front desk staff were very friendly and the only downfall was the paper thin walls and whenever someone would walk by our door, the footsteps sounded like a giant was passing by. I was awakened at 7am because the people next door were leaving and I could hear everything that was going on.. then the housekeeping started and it was incredibly loud. I could hear all the people talking very loudly downstairs at the cafe and shops.So be warned, it's extremely noisy in this hotel! But I will admit that it was adequate for the price since we only paid $43 for one night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

I recommend going to the La Brea Tar Pits, Universal Studios and the Museum of Jurassic Technology. This hotel is in the middle of a ton of different amazing attractions!

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jeanlong
Las Vegas
Dec 28, 2009

Chinatown hotel

Fabulous Chinatown location, walking distance to restaurants, shops, bank. Central location, short drive to everything/anything in L.A. area. Staff efficient and friendly in check-in. Price of room does not include $8 parking fee which goes until Noon, then $3 more if you leave the car in the garage, so if price is factor, consider the cost of parking. Breakfast is included in downstairs courtyard but serving area is totally cramped, hot water is insufficient for tea or oatmeal, and with only 2 toasters those are totally inadequate to handle load of people wanting bagels and toast; plus, waffles are not self-serve and staff was undercooking them all so they are soggy. this probably explains the cheap room price. If location is important, this is it. Plenty of nearby inexpensive places for breakfast though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to restaurants, Dim sum, fresh seafood, Pho.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jeanlong
Las Vegas
Dec 28, 2009

Chinatown hotel

Fabulous Chinatown location, walking distance to restaurants, shops, bank. Central location, short drive to everything/anything in L.A. area. Staff efficient and friendly in check-in. Price of room does not include $8 parking fee which goes until Noon, then $3 more if you leave the car in the garage, so if price is factor, consider the cost of parking. Breakfast is included in downstairs courtyard but serving area is totally cramped, hot water is insufficient for tea or oatmeal, and with only 2 toasters those are totally inadequate to handle load of people wanting bagels and toast; plus, waffles are not self-serve and staff was undercooking them all so they are soggy. this probably explains the cheap room price. If location is important, this is it. Plenty of nearby inexpensive places for breakfast though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to restaurants, Dim sum, fresh seafood, Pho.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Diego, CA
Nov 3, 2009

Fantastic experience

I love this hotel. Great price, great serivce, and the most important is the great location. Love it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Diego, CA
Nov 3, 2009

Fantastic experience

I love this hotel. Great price, great serivce, and the most important is the great location. Love it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nikkichikki
Tokyo, Japan
Oct 21, 2009

Decent hotel for a stay in China town

It was a fine stay. The hotel room itself was clean with no evidence of bugs, which was a concern of ours. The area though, is a different story. Very dirty and not the safest place after dark perhaps, but that's China town I guess. About 10 mins walk from Union Station, which is helpful if you want to take the trains.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nikkichikki
Tokyo, Japan
Oct 21, 2009

Decent hotel for a stay in China town

It was a fine stay. The hotel room itself was clean with no evidence of bugs, which was a concern of ours. The area though, is a different story. Very dirty and not the safest place after dark perhaps, but that's China town I guess. About 10 mins walk from Union Station, which is helpful if you want to take the trains.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bookkeeper Jay
San Francisco, CA
Oct 20, 2009

Good Value

This was my second lodging for my trip, since my time in LA was extended. They let me check in early. I just wanted a place to chill out and relax. I stayed in a Best Western hotel before and I was impressed. The room was clean and neat, a lot of space, some nice amenities in the room, high speed internet access. And being located in Chinatown is a plus, it's a short bus ride to Chinatown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bookkeeper Jay
San Francisco, CA
Oct 20, 2009

Good Value

This was my second lodging for my trip, since my time in LA was extended. They let me check in early. I just wanted a place to chill out and relax. I stayed in a Best Western hotel before and I was impressed. The room was clean and neat, a lot of space, some nice amenities in the room, high speed internet access. And being located in Chinatown is a plus, it's a short bus ride to Chinatown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top