$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2014 Check-out: Aug 26, 2014

BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn

3 stars
818 N Hill Street, Los Angeles, CA 90012-2395
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
55 reviews
Everything was PERFECT!

My fiancé and I went to a hockey game at the staples center and we stayed at this hotel. The staff... See full review

  • Brenda surge tech
  • Dec 19, 2013
No too shabby

This place was nice for the price. I liked that you needed a key to take the elevator up to the... See full review

  • Megs The Great
  • Mar 13, 2013
Welcome to BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn! The Staples Sports Arena is just a short drive away from our Los Angeles hotel, making it easy to catch a game, concert or special performance. When you are staying in downtown, the whole city is just steps away. Our Los Angeles hotel is near the Amtrak Union Station, so guests can opt for public transportation as their vehicle of choice. The Los Angeles Convention Center is also a few minutes away, and many business travelers stay with us while they are in town for an event or tradeshow. L.A. Live and Hollywood are in the neighborhood, making it simple for our Los Angeles hotel guests to make the most of their trip. The Lakers, Clippers, Kings and Dodgers all play their home games nearby, and catching one of them is an exciting addition to any vacation. We are centrally located to Universal Studios, too, which is nearly required for adventure lovers and traveling families. The Hollywood Bowl, Nokia Theatre, and Kodak Theatre are also close to our Los Angeles hotel. When planning your trip, make sure to check off the Music Center, Ahmanson, Disney Concert Hall and MOCA, too. Many of our guests are Dorothy Chandler fans, and will want to make that part of their trip as well. There is no shortage of things to do nearby, whether it is shopping on Rodeo Drive or visiting the beaches. If you are staying at our Los Angeles hotel on business, rest assured that you won't have to handle the famous traffic, because you will be close to everything. Some of our regular guests work with USC Hospital or the superior court, federal court or local court. We also welcome many business travelers to the financial or fashion district, and federal and state buildings bring civil servants to the area. Book today and save on your room at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn!

Hotel Map

34.0631 -118.2388
Area served
Beverly Hills, Anaheim, Santa Monica, Pasadena, Burbank
Nearby airports
(LAX), 18.00, MI, NE;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn Rooms

1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,HI SPEED NET,REFRIG,COFMKR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,HI SPEED NET,REFRIG,COFMKR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,ROLL IN SHOWER,NSMK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,ROLL IN SHOWER,NSMK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,WALK IN SHOWER,NSMK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Live entertainment
Horseback riding
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Barber shop
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Cordless phone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Music Center: 0.6 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 0.8 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 0.8 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 0.8 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 1 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 1 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 1.1 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 1.1 mi
  • Pershing Square: 1.3 mi
  • Staples Center: 2.1 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 2.2 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 2.5 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Music Center: 0.6 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 0.8 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 0.8 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 0.8 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 1 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 1 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 1.1 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 1.1 mi
  • Pershing Square: 1.3 mi
  • Staples Center: 2.1 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 2.2 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 2.5 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Koreatown: 3.5 mi
  • Galen Center: 3.8 mi
  • California Science Center: 4.2 mi
  • Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum: 4.4 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 5.3 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 5.7 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 5.7 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 6.1 mi
  • Autry Museum Of Western Heritage: 6.4 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 6.4 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 6.5 mi
  • Magic Castle: 6.6 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 6.7 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 6.7 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 6.8 mi
  • The Grove: 6.8 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 6.8 mi
  • Farmers Market: 7 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 7 mi
  • Kitson: 8.4 mi
  • Simon Wiesenthal Center: 9.4 mi
  • University of California: 11.6 mi
  • Fowler Museum at UCLA: 11.6 mi
  • Westwood Memorial Park: 11.6 mi
  • Pauley Pavilion: 11.9 mi
  • UCLA: 12.3 mi
  • J. Paul Getty Center: 13.5 mi
  • Getty Center: 13.6 mi
  • Ultrazone Laser Tag: 13.6 mi
  • Getty Villa: 18.8 mi

Dining

Chinatown
.2 mile(s) from Chinatown, Chinese, There are over 90 Chinese restaurants. Featuring all the different ethnic foods of China such as Mandarin, Cantonese, Szchewan, Hunan and many more
Downtown Los Angeles
.2 mile(s) from Downtown Los Angeles, a wide variety of Intercontinental Cuisine to make any city envious.
Little Tokyo
1 mile(s) from Little Tokyo , You can unwind by having sushi, sake and participating in Karaoke. Little Tokyo offers a taste of Japan without leaving the country.
Olvera St.
.5 mile(s) from Olvera St., Mexican, If Mexican food is what you like, ave an authentic Mexican dinner while being serenaded at your table.
Hill Street Cafe
Hill Street Cafe, on premises

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (55)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
55 out of 55
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.7

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jMoney
San Francisco, CA
Feb 28, 2011

Last Minute Trip

Last minute trip to LA for All-Star Weekend turned out great. Hotel was close to freeway, 15 minutes away from Hollywood, plenty underground parking, rooms were nice & clean, overall convenient and a great value for my money. Beyond my expectations for Best Western.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Hollywood!!

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles
Jan 23, 2011

Nice place to stay

Located in China town and close to good food. Also short distance to down town LA. Would have liked a few more towels in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mex Visitor
Palm Springs, CA
Jan 23, 2011

Yes

Not knowing what to expect, I reserved for one night and ended up wishing I had booked for two. The room was comfortable, nicely decorated, and very convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dim Sum at Golden Dragon on Broadway is good and popular.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
Dec 18, 2010

Abusive Staff

This hotel is very strange. The housekeeping tried entering our room without knocking at 8AM when we were still asleep. They opened and closed the door loudly. Also the refridgerator was loud and made noises all night. We tried requesting a different room or to get a different fridge and were told "since we were unhappy the hotel's policy is that we not be allowed to stay another night." Thanks [...]. You are a snot like nobody else. I am reporting you to your manager and corporate on Monday when important people are around to take complaints. I was stunned by [...]'s robotic answers. It was almost funny to people checking out with us they were laughing about it as the line flowed out the door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Master Wok. Down the street.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Not Provided
Oct 1, 2010

Despite having booked in May for

Despite having booked in May for a September stay, and confirming in August that we would arrive around 10 pm, the front desk staff member had allocated our room with two beds to another client. We were given another room which had one queen bed, queried this, were offered an upgrade, accepted and were then told it wasn't available. The staff member then apologised profusely and said we had to also move from the current room as he couldn't "put it into the computer". We had to take our bags to another room (one king bed) which happened to share the bedhead wall with the utility room so we were wakened early with banging and chatter from the cleaning staff. Location is handy to transport, breakfast is average but adequate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Diego
Aug 19, 2010

Convenient Location

Just a few blocks away from the Gold Line light rail station. LA's Chinatown is a lot of fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bonita san diego
san diego, ca
Aug 10, 2010

its alright

its really walking distance from chinatown...so you can shop and just take back your purchases to the hotel. it said free wi-fi but the wi-fi wasn't working in the 3rd floor, my daughter had to get out of the room so she can get signal. the staff are courteous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Not Provided
Jun 6, 2010

The staff were very helpful.

The staff were very helpful. The complimentary breakfast was excellent: a choice of cereals, waffles, bagels, muffins, juice and coffee. Enjoyed the location - walking distance to Walt Disney Hall and Cathedral. Chinatown was fun!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
auburn ca
Mar 22, 2010

Ugh

roaches. what more need i say?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
ireland
Mar 5, 2010

good value

stayed for two nights feb.Good area seemed safe,near train station ,no nightlife near( walking,no car)good base for daytime touring

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top

Change search