$139 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 31, 2014

BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn

3 stars
818 N Hill Street, Los Angeles, CA 90012-2395
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
53 reviews
Everything was PERFECT!

My fiancé and I went to a hockey game at the staples center and we stayed at this hotel. The staff... See full review

  • Brenda surge tech
  • Dec 19, 2013
Stayed with friends!

We needed somewhere close to Club Nokia for a concert that was cheap! This was perfect, right in... See full review

  • LoveKPOP
  • Feb 6, 2014
Welcome to BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn! The Staples Sports Arena is just a short drive away from our Los Angeles hotel, making it easy to catch a game, concert or special performance. When you are staying in downtown, the whole city is just steps away. Our Los Angeles hotel is near the Amtrak Union Station, so guests can opt for public transportation as their vehicle of choice. The Los Angeles Convention Center is also a few minutes away, and many business travelers stay with us while they are in town for an event or tradeshow. L.A. Live and Hollywood are in the neighborhood, making it simple for our Los Angeles hotel guests to make the most of their trip. The Lakers, Clippers, Kings and Dodgers all play their home games nearby, and catching one of them is an exciting addition to any vacation. We are centrally located to Universal Studios, too, which is nearly required for adventure lovers and traveling families. The Hollywood Bowl, Nokia Theatre, and Kodak Theatre are also close to our Los Angeles hotel. When planning your trip, make sure to check off the Music Center, Ahmanson, Disney Concert Hall and MOCA, too. Many of our guests are Dorothy Chandler fans, and will want to make that part of their trip as well. There is no shortage of things to do nearby, whether it is shopping on Rodeo Drive or visiting the beaches. If you are staying at our Los Angeles hotel on business, rest assured that you won't have to handle the famous traffic, because you will be close to everything. Some of our regular guests work with USC Hospital or the superior court, federal court or local court. We also welcome many business travelers to the financial or fashion district, and federal and state buildings bring civil servants to the area. Book today and save on your room at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn!

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn Rooms

1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,HI SPEED NET,REFRIG,COFMKR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,HI SPEED NET,REFRIG,COFMKR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,ROLL IN SHOWER,NSMK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,ROLL IN SHOWER,NSMK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,WALK IN SHOWER,NSMK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Live entertainment
Horseback riding
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Barber shop
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Cordless phone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Music Center: 0.6 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 0.8 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 0.8 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 0.8 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 1 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 1 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 1.1 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 1.1 mi
  • Pershing Square: 1.3 mi
  • Staples Center: 2.1 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 2.2 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 2.5 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Music Center: 0.6 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 0.8 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 0.8 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 0.8 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 1 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 1 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 1.1 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 1.1 mi
  • Pershing Square: 1.3 mi
  • Staples Center: 2.1 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 2.2 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 2.5 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Koreatown: 3.5 mi
  • Galen Center: 3.8 mi
  • California Science Center: 4.2 mi
  • Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum: 4.4 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 5.3 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 5.7 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 5.7 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 6.1 mi
  • Autry Museum Of Western Heritage: 6.4 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 6.4 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 6.5 mi
  • Magic Castle: 6.6 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 6.7 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 6.7 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 6.8 mi
  • The Grove: 6.8 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 6.8 mi
  • Farmers Market: 7 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 7 mi
  • Kitson: 8.4 mi
  • Simon Wiesenthal Center: 9.4 mi
  • University of California: 11.6 mi
  • Fowler Museum at UCLA: 11.6 mi
  • Westwood Memorial Park: 11.6 mi
  • Pauley Pavilion: 11.9 mi
  • UCLA: 12.3 mi
  • J. Paul Getty Center: 13.5 mi
  • Getty Center: 13.6 mi
  • Ultrazone Laser Tag: 13.6 mi
  • Getty Villa: 18.8 mi

Dining

Hill Street Cafe
Hill Street Cafe, on premises
Chinatown
.2 mile(s) from Chinatown, Chinese, There are over 90 Chinese restaurants. Featuring all the different ethnic foods of China such as Mandarin, Cantonese, Szchewan, Hunan and many more
Olvera St.
.5 mile(s) from Olvera St., Mexican, If Mexican food is what you like, ave an authentic Mexican dinner while being serenaded at your table.
Downtown Los Angeles
.2 mile(s) from Downtown Los Angeles, a wide variety of Intercontinental Cuisine to make any city envious.
Little Tokyo
1 mile(s) from Little Tokyo , You can unwind by having sushi, sake and participating in Karaoke. Little Tokyo offers a taste of Japan without leaving the country.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (53)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
53 out of 53
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.7

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
megreat
Business
dc
Dec 3, 2012

not bad

Did not like the fact that they charged $10/night for parking. Not fair at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
La Momy
Business
Philadelphia
Nov 29, 2012

family getaway

close to union station and also flyaway, breakfast was sufficient

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
La Momy
Business
Philadelphia
Nov 23, 2012

Family getaway

Much beter than imagine, close to union station! Good price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Heinz K
Business
Germany
Sep 15, 2012

It's not the Ritz but it will do for those on a budget.

The location is good not because of the depressed neighborhood it's in but because it is very close to the Metro system, the downtown sights: Walt Disney Concert Hall, Union Station, City Hall, Olvera Street, and old LA Chinatown where food is a bargain. What could improve is the breakfast situation which is less than expected but not exactly horrible. If you are picky about everything this is not the place for you to stay but for those looking for a bargain and are flexible about details it's is a good choice. It is not a place to bring lots of little children as there is no place for them to play.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Any of the late hour Chinese restaurants such as the Mayflower and for those who prefer a more American menu the famous Phillipe's where you meet lots of people from all parts of the city and around the world.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Santo widjaja
Business
Indonesia
Sep 2, 2012

Price compare location, is okay

I think the construction of building is too old, because if we walking, we can felt the floor little move

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SuperTravel
Business
San Diego, CA, USA
Mar 13, 2012

Good value in Chinatown

If you just need a place to stay near downtown, this is a great location for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The gold line is just 2 blocks away and takes you right to Little Tokyo and Arts district in minutes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fonz
Business
San Jose, CA, USA
Feb 15, 2012

Overnight

I happen to have a disability that makes walking difficult . The location of motel isn't in a bad location but the parking garage is real difficult to get to motel from. The elevator was not working so if I hadnt had a person with me I would never attempted to climb all those stairs with my luggage. They charged for parking which I don't believing in paying extra for to stay at a motel. We arrived real late which they were aware of and they didn't have anyone there to help with luggage . We had to climb 3 flights of stairs with all our luggage because we didn't know if anything would be safe if left in vehicle

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Have plenty of tip money available

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pk Mac
Business
Texas, USA
Jan 15, 2012

Quick in and out

Nice clean hotel. In the middle of Chinatown. Very safe feel. Must use card to get where rooms are.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dr. D
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Jan 14, 2012

It sucks.

I will not go back. I was surprised that this hotel was rated Best Western Plus. It does not deserve it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Andy123456789
Business
Lancaster, CA, USA
Nov 20, 2011

OK

The TV Picture had a lot of snow. we thought the shop's inside the BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn where nice untill a loud drunk couple stopted me from sleeping. The shower door frame fell apart. Parking $ 10.00

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top