$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 27, 2015 Check-out: Apr 29, 2015

Queen Mary Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1126 Queen Highway, Long Beach, CA 90802

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
340 reviews
Great trip

I loved the ship. The food is expensive but the shuttle van will take you across the bay to where... See full review

  • sHELVY
  • Feb 11, 2015
christmas trip

I love the Queen Mary hotel. I always try to make a trip during different times of the year. They... See full review

  • Kim M.
  • Jan 21, 2015
This Los Angeles steamship hotel is a grand icon of 1930s

Stay aboard one of the most famous ocean liners in the world. The 75-year-old Queen Mary Hotel is a rare historic relic with functional hotel rooms, shops, spa and restaurants. She last sailed in Dec. 1967 and is permanently docked without an engine in Long Beach Harbor. Stay in vintage staterooms, wander her decks and learn of Winston Churchill, ghost stories and the Art Deco era. Dine in luxury with a view of the glowing Los Angeles skyline. Guests of the Queen Mary Hotel make use of the fitness center.

Highlights
  • Three decks of original preserved staterooms
  • Fitness center
  • On the National Register of Historic Places
  • Full-service spa
  • Pet friendly (fees apply)
  • Parking (at cost)
Location

The Queen Mary Hotel is located in Long Beach Harbor, a convenient base for a southern California vacation. Proximity to 110 and 405 freeways is ideal for traveling both north and south.

Rooms

The Queen Mary Hotel features 314 tastefully preserved interiors with built-in furnishings, original wood paneling and 1930s artwork. Rooms are modernized with pillow-tops, iPod docks, Wi-Fi (fees apply), flat-screen satellite TVs and air conditioning. Sleep up to four people in comfortable rooms. Porthole windows, expanded sitting areas and refrigerators are available. The Queen Mary Hotel is 100 percent smoke free.

Features

In the golden days of steamship travel the Queen Mary carried movie stars and dignitaries to ports like New York, Singapore and Sydney. Later she transported 15,000 World War II troops. Roam the vast ship or join guided historic, design, wartime and paranormal tours. The Queen Mary Hotel offers a spa and fitness center on the main deck.

Dining

The seven eateries aboard the Queen Mary Hotel include a sustainable seafood restaurant and acclaimed Sunday champagne brunch held in the original first-class dining room. The 1930s vibe is alive with classic cocktails and fancy dinners at Sir Winston's and the Observation Bar. Grab kid-friendly fare at a deli and smoothie shop. Room service is available at the Queen Mary Hotel.

Transportation
  • Los Angeles International Airport (23 mi/37 km)
  • Long Beach Airport (11.3 mi/18.2 km)
  • Long Beach Harbor (adjacent)
  • Pacific Metro stop (blue line) (2.2 mi/3.5 km)
Attractions
  • Hollywood (31.9 mi/51.3 km)
  • Seal Beach (8 mi/12.9 km)
  • Staples Center (24.8 mi/39.8 km)
  • Disneyland (27.1 mi/43.6 km)
  • Long Beach Aquarium of the Pacific (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • 80,000 square feet of restored Art Deco event space
  • Event planning
  • Catering
Policies and Fees
  • Credit card is required at check-in. Guest must be 21 years of age to register.
  • Valid ID is required.
  • The hotel charges $20 USD for self parking and $22 USD for valet parking.
  • There is a USD $14.95 facilities fee that includes Wi-Fi access.
  • A self-service business center is located in the lobby area.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Queen Mary Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Queen Mary Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Room
Each cabin has a king bed or 2 twin beds and is uniquely appointed and embellishments vary to include rich wood paneling art deco build-ins, original artwork and of course portholes for outside rooms. These elegant rooms were once reserved only for first class passengers, on their long trip across the Atlantic. Now you too can relax in style. All first class rooms are decorated in 1930s Art Deco, and have 85% of their original wood paneling.
Standard Room
Inside staterooms are perfect if you're looking for a place where you can relax, uninterrupted. Our windowless inside rooms, at the heart of the ship, will let you catch up on your sleep, no matter what time of day. Each room contains large, original Art Deco mirrors instead of portholes.

Amenities

  • Free internet
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Walter Pyramid: 5 mi

Dining

Sir Winston's
Continental west coast cuisine, a favorite among the city's business and social elite. 2003 Zagat Survey: "People's Choice" Award.
Promenade Cafe
American restaurant, features a menu ranging from full meals to light salads and sandwiches.
Hollywood Deli
Specializing in sandwiches, fresh salads, thick crust pizza, and fabulous pastries.
Starboard Bakery
Come enjoy an espresso or cappuccino drink, fresh-baked scones, tarts, biscotti, pastries, ice cream, smoothies, and souvenir items.
The Chelsea
Our seafood specialty restaurant where each meal captures the fresh, unique fare by our Award Winning Chef.
Observation Bar
One of the Queen's preserved landmarks with majestic mural, nickel railing and touchier lighting entertainment, outdoor patio, views of city skyline and California coast.
Champagne Sunday Brunch
The Grand Salon, the ship's original first class dining room, is the elegant setting for the spectacular Sunday brunch starring more than 50 world class entrees and an amazing dessert station.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Queen Mary Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
22 out of 340
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.4

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pat R.
Business
N/A
Jan 5, 2015

Disappointing visit with thr Queem

I had occasion to need a room close to work, while my home was unavailable. I have lived in long beach for over 20 years but never visited this historic landmark until earlier this week. I was given a standard room (with wimdows to exterior). Room had a full size bed, flat screen tv, shower. Very small and simple. All i wanted/needed was a clean, quiet room to dleep after long work days. Room had a strong foot odor, matress was uncomfortable, there were fingrrprints on ceiling by electrical panel, bathroom sink stopped up, and i ran out of hot water on my last day there. Worse yet, the walls are thin so watch out who you next to or you could be unpleasantly surprised. Good recovery though by Asst Manager after i brought these issues to ber attention, she agreed to reverse chatges for parking and "facilities fee". Without any hassle. At least their customer service was 3 star.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit Shoreline Village for great food, drinks, with nice walk around tourist shops. Theres a local shuttle from the Queen Mary hotel that will take you right to it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cassdidas
Business
West Covina, California
Dec 4, 2014

Room

The first night I was there it was horrible due to a room I had below the dance hall. There was a wedding and I was able to hear everything and I couldn't rest until midnight when it was over. I had a marathon the next morning so I was really upset of the noise. I complained and was moved the next day but it was too late.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
krida
Business
seattle
Dec 1, 2014

ok

great room, great hisorical aspect. lots of peeling paint

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

avoid cocktails

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HowieLun
Business
Los Angeles
Oct 5, 2014

Nice hotel overall

It was nice getting to stay this majestic ship with rich history. Nice room overall and friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
spider 1
Business
los Angeles
Aug 5, 2014

great location

Enjoy the view and the ocean smell of relaxation .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
holly guest
Business
phoenix,az
Apr 3, 2014

exciting to be part of history

i enjoyed my stay. it was noisy, but there were weddings and get togethers, so this was to be expected.the staff was accommodating, and the room was interesting. the exhibits are worth getting there early enough to see.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

come early enough to see the exhibits or allow time for these.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
traveling free spirit
Business
sacramento, ca
Jul 29, 2013

The Queen treats you like a queen

I boarded the Queen Mary and was royally welcomed and immediately felt relaxation set in. The room was very charming with many original fixtures intertwined with modern ammenities such as a flat screen TV and wifi. The bathroom was interesting with older faucets for the tub and shower. High tea was served in true English fashion. Having been to tea over the years at other tea rooms, I can assure you that this will not disappoint. Touring the Princess Diana exhibit really rounded out my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make sure to make reservations for dinner if you want to dine onboard. I saw several people attempt to walk up and were sadly turned away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BJJ Traveler
Business
ATX
Jun 3, 2013

A ghost sighting would have made the stay worth it.

Awful. Awful. Awful. I will never ever stay at this hotel if I can help it. The front desk staff was helpful and nice as was the head housekeeper but that is were it ended. I had a rude bartender, maitree and the staff at the "we serve starbucks" marketplace. by the way, the coffee isn't starbucks and if it is, it isn't made to Starbucks standards. They nickel and dime you for every little thing. the cost of foods is rediculous, there is nothing good to do on the ship and if you stay there you must get a rental and pay $17 per night to park. I take it back, this hotel is so not worth the cost even with a ghost sighting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Long Beach Cafe on Ocean Blvd has the best breakfast! I sure everything is good but we only had breakfast there. Bring an appetite and a little cash because the poritions are huge but the prices are small (for Long Beach ;) )

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tores
Business
Pasadena, California
Apr 15, 2013

Good, but still needs a little work

Loved the idea of staying aboard on old luxury liner. King bed was very comfortable, great harbor view and the room was clean. I understand that trying to preserve 'old world charm'. But there is a limit to that, especially the toilet and shower head. It was great walking around, but the only way to see the pool area is with a tour. I recommend that you do at least one tour. I did tour some of the supposed 'haunted spots' and my photographs did capture some interesting things, so take your camera and an extra pair of batteries...they tend to drain. Food is good, especially breakfast at the Cafe. Dinner was ok. There are 2 or 3 restaurants onboard. Keep in mind that there are no other restaurants off the ships unless you walk, drive across the harbor on the Queens Bridge and into the Downtown area....which is a 3 mile trek. Just be aware that parking in the downtown area is a bit. Taxi would be a good choice. It would be great if the area surrounding Queen Mary would be more developed with shopping and restaurants. This needs much improvement

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Suggest that you walk across the Queens Bridge for more dining choices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tourust
Business
CA
Jul 19, 2012

Good Hotel

the hotel was great, But the room was actually very small it didn't look like the photo

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

cool

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top