$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 5, 2015 Check-out: Jan 8, 2015

Queen Mary Hotel

3 stars
1126 Queen Highway, Long Beach, CA 90802
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
325 reviews
Great experience

This was our first time there , loved the experience and the vintage room and boat.Nice change from... See full review

  • WeekendTravelers 2
  • Nov 29, 2014
So much history.....had no idea.

Went to Long Beach on business and booked this hotel on price. Had no idea the story and history... See full review

  • KCarson
  • Sep 7, 2014
This Los Angeles steamship hotel is a grand icon of 1930s

Stay aboard one of the most famous ocean liners in the world. The 75-year-old Queen Mary Hotel is a rare historic relic with functional hotel rooms, shops, spa and restaurants. She last sailed in Dec. 1967 and is permanently docked without an engine in Long Beach Harbor. Stay in vintage staterooms, wander her decks and learn of Winston Churchill, ghost stories and the Art Deco era. Dine in luxury with a view of the glowing Los Angeles skyline. Guests of the Queen Mary Hotel make use of the fitness center.

Highlights
  • Three decks of original preserved staterooms
  • Fitness center
  • On the National Register of Historic Places
  • Full-service spa
  • Pet friendly (fees apply)
Location

The Queen Mary Hotel is located in Long Beach Harbor, a convenient base for a southern California vacation. Proximity to 110 and 405 freeways is ideal for traveling both north and south.

Rooms

The Queen Mary Hotel features 314 tastefully preserved interiors with built-in furnishings, original wood paneling and 1930s artwork. Rooms are modernized with pillow-tops, iPod docks, Wi-Fi (fees apply), flat-screen satellite TVs and air conditioning. Sleep up to four people in comfortable rooms. Porthole windows, expanded sitting areas and refrigerators are available. The Queen Mary Hotel is 100 percent smoke free.

Features

In the golden days of steamship travel the Queen Mary carried movie stars and dignitaries to ports like New York, Singapore and Sydney. Later she transported 15,000 World War II troops. Roam the vast ship or join guided historic, design, wartime and paranormal tours. The Queen Mary Hotel offers a spa and fitness center on the main deck.

Dining

The seven eateries aboard the Queen Mary Hotel include a sustainable seafood restaurant and acclaimed Sunday champagne brunch held in the original first-class dining room. The 1930s vibe is alive with classic cocktails and fancy dinners at Sir Winston's and the Observation Bar. Grab kid-friendly fare at a deli and smoothie shop. Room service is available at the Queen Mary Hotel.

Transportation
  • Los Angeles International Airport (23 mi/37 km)
  • Long Beach Airport (11.3 mi/18.2 km)
  • Long Beach Harbor (adjacent)
  • Pacific Metro stop (blue line) (2.2 mi/3.5 km)
Attractions
  • Hollywood (31.9 mi/51.3 km)
  • Seal Beach (8 mi/12.9 km)
  • Staples Center (24.8 mi/39.8 km)
  • Disneyland (27.1 mi/43.6 km)
  • Long Beach Aquarium of the Pacific (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • 80,000 square feet of restored Art Deco event space
  • Event planning
  • Catering
Policies and Fees
  • Credit card is required at check-in. Guest must be 21 years of age to register.
  • Valid ID is required.
  • Valet parking is USD $20 plus tax per day.
  • Overnight parking is USD $17 per day plus tax .
  • There is a USD $14.95 facilities fee that includes Wi-Fi access.
  • A self-service business center is located in the lobby area.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Queen Mary Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Queen Mary Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Room
Each cabin has a king bed or 2 twin beds and is uniquely appointed and embellishments vary to include rich wood paneling art deco build-ins, original artwork and of course portholes for outside rooms. These elegant rooms were once reserved only for first class passengers, on their long trip across the Atlantic. Now you too can relax in style. All first class rooms are decorated in 1930s Art Deco, and have 85% of their original wood paneling.
Standard Room
Inside staterooms are perfect if you're looking for a place where you can relax, uninterrupted. Our windowless inside rooms, at the heart of the ship, will let you catch up on your sleep, no matter what time of day. Each room contains large, original Art Deco mirrors instead of portholes.

Amenities

  • Free internet
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Walter Pyramid: 5 mi

Dining

Sir Winston's
Continental west coast cuisine, a favorite among the city's business and social elite. 2003 Zagat Survey: "People's Choice" Award.
Promenade Cafe
American restaurant, features a menu ranging from full meals to light salads and sandwiches.
Hollywood Deli
Specializing in sandwiches, fresh salads, thick crust pizza, and fabulous pastries.
Starboard Bakery
Come enjoy an espresso or cappuccino drink, fresh-baked scones, tarts, biscotti, pastries, ice cream, smoothies, and souvenir items.
The Chelsea
Our seafood specialty restaurant where each meal captures the fresh, unique fare by our Award Winning Chef.
Observation Bar
One of the Queen's preserved landmarks with majestic mural, nickel railing and touchier lighting entertainment, outdoor patio, views of city skyline and California coast.
Champagne Sunday Brunch
The Grand Salon, the ship's original first class dining room, is the elegant setting for the spectacular Sunday brunch starring more than 50 world class entrees and an amazing dessert station.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (325)

Ratings and reviews for Queen Mary Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
60 out of 325
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.5

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Penny Ross
Business
Wilton, Connecticut
Nov 19, 2014

Historic Queen Mary

If you love to learn the story behind historic buildings, spend a few days on the Queen Mary! I was fascinated by the detailed facts that were abundant on the Queen Mary. The food, service and entertainment aboard the Queen Mary were wonderful. If I owned the ship, I would be working hard to keep the integrity of the design and time period, but I would definitely refurbish the state rooms by polishing, refinishing the beautiful wood, replacing the carpet. This could all be done without destroying the look and feel of the ship when it was put into service in 1936. Overall, my stay on the ship was a vacation full of interesting people and history.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Excellent food in all of the dining rooms and impeccable service. My hint; try different food for every meal, you won't be disappointed!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mira The Traveler
Business
SF bay, California
Nov 12, 2014

Quite unique experiences but poor service!

It was a good experience to spend a night in a such a large ship full of history especially for my daughter. You can't learn that from any book. Anyway I quite disappointed that the hotel could not even provide hot water or free coffee stand at the lobby and I could not get a phone connection to the room service , the line kept getting busy signal and the front desk was not helpful at all. I think it would be fair to at least give us a free parking for hotel guest since we pay a lot for the room already.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TravelerIA
Business
Iowa
Sep 14, 2014

Interesting

It was interesting to look around, and Sir Winston's restaurant had absolutely amazing food, but the rooms had no air or heat and felt humid and musty. Great to visit and see all the history, but not sure I would actually stay on board again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ms CPA
Business
Hercules, CA
Aug 12, 2014

Missing a lot!!!

The room size is good. The king bed did not have a fitted sheet. Every time I move, the sheet wraps & clings to me. There were five pillows which I liked, three regular sized & two longer ones; but the pillow cases for the bigger ones are two regular sized pillow cases put together; they do not have long pillow cases. There were six light fixtures with only one light switch; I cannot turn off one without turning off all six light fixtures. Shampoo, lotion, & soaps are of different brands; look like those samples collected or scavenged from other hotels. Floor carpet in the room looks filthy. Wifi cannot reach our room. My daughter called for assistance & instructions to access the wifi but the lady who answered the phone did not seem to know what we are talking about. Our room was freezing. The thermostat does not work. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. It's not worth the money we paid for our two night stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Research first.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy Traveler 17
Business
Southern California
Jul 25, 2014

Great for a night away

It was fun to stay somewhere that the hotel itself is a destination worth seeing. Staying one night was enough for use as it was more for the experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
gmoney1616
Business
long beach
Jul 9, 2014

excellent

Had a blast very nice hotel should take the whole family accommodations were great b almost never wanted to leave

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Puakea
Business
California
Jun 27, 2014

Beautiful

We stayed for one night and had a wonderful time. The Princess Di exhibit was special to see, the food was affordable and good, and the room was clean and comfy. The staff was very friendly and the numerous tours made us wish we had stayed linger so we could go on all of them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Crazy Texas Girls
Business
Kyle, TX
Jun 22, 2014

Great Food

We loved the food at every restaurant. The Creme Brulee was so awesome. The walls are extremely thin. You can clearly hear every conversation going on in the rooms next door or in the hall. This made it a little hard to sleep in if you were exhausted the day before. It would have been nice if they had the escalator working for the audio tour because there are a frightening number of stairs you must walk up and down to get and return the headsets. Over all we enjoyed our stay. Also the shops close down way too early, around 7 PM. People are on vacation and don't even return to the ship until after 7 PM.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Oysters and Creme Brulee awesome!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gandolf
Business
Seattle
May 28, 2014

Two night stay

Problem finding our reservation during check-in. About 1/2 hour wait. Was "upgraded" to an outside cabin vs. the original inside due to the difficulty. Roomy and nostalgic. Be prepared for the possibility of long walk to/from room #big ship#. Didn't take any available tours. About 1/2 hour #28 miles# to LAX. Would recommend if you wanted something different or interested in the ship.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The buffet breakfast VERY good. Service not that attentive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wedding Mama Diana
Business
Long Beach CA
May 13, 2014

Fantastic historical ship & hotel

My son was married on the sun deck with a reception in the Verandah Grill. Wedding guests stayed overnight to enjoy this historic ship. So convenient and wonderful. If you ever want a different experience, stay here! The staff was very polite and accommodating. A beautiful experience filled with wonderful memories.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top