$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Feb 3, 2015 Check-out: Feb 4, 2015

Queen Mary Hotel

3 stars
1126 Queen Highway, Long Beach, CA 90802
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
333 reviews
christmas trip

I love the Queen Mary hotel. I always try to make a trip during different times of the year. They... See full review

  • Kim M.
  • Jan 21, 2015
A worthwhile experience

This was a fun hotel to stay in for a night or two. You also get access to their audio tour, which... See full review

  • SA traveller 2014
  • Jan 17, 2015
This Los Angeles steamship hotel is a grand icon of 1930s

Stay aboard one of the most famous ocean liners in the world. The 75-year-old Queen Mary Hotel is a rare historic relic with functional hotel rooms, shops, spa and restaurants. She last sailed in Dec. 1967 and is permanently docked without an engine in Long Beach Harbor. Stay in vintage staterooms, wander her decks and learn of Winston Churchill, ghost stories and the Art Deco era. Dine in luxury with a view of the glowing Los Angeles skyline. Guests of the Queen Mary Hotel make use of the fitness center.

Highlights
  • Three decks of original preserved staterooms
  • Fitness center
  • On the National Register of Historic Places
  • Full-service spa
  • Pet friendly (fees apply)
Location

The Queen Mary Hotel is located in Long Beach Harbor, a convenient base for a southern California vacation. Proximity to 110 and 405 freeways is ideal for traveling both north and south.

Rooms

The Queen Mary Hotel features 314 tastefully preserved interiors with built-in furnishings, original wood paneling and 1930s artwork. Rooms are modernized with pillow-tops, iPod docks, Wi-Fi (fees apply), flat-screen satellite TVs and air conditioning. Sleep up to four people in comfortable rooms. Porthole windows, expanded sitting areas and refrigerators are available. The Queen Mary Hotel is 100 percent smoke free.

Features

In the golden days of steamship travel the Queen Mary carried movie stars and dignitaries to ports like New York, Singapore and Sydney. Later she transported 15,000 World War II troops. Roam the vast ship or join guided historic, design, wartime and paranormal tours. The Queen Mary Hotel offers a spa and fitness center on the main deck.

Dining

The seven eateries aboard the Queen Mary Hotel include a sustainable seafood restaurant and acclaimed Sunday champagne brunch held in the original first-class dining room. The 1930s vibe is alive with classic cocktails and fancy dinners at Sir Winston's and the Observation Bar. Grab kid-friendly fare at a deli and smoothie shop. Room service is available at the Queen Mary Hotel.

Transportation
  • Los Angeles International Airport (23 mi/37 km)
  • Long Beach Airport (11.3 mi/18.2 km)
  • Long Beach Harbor (adjacent)
  • Pacific Metro stop (blue line) (2.2 mi/3.5 km)
Attractions
  • Hollywood (31.9 mi/51.3 km)
  • Seal Beach (8 mi/12.9 km)
  • Staples Center (24.8 mi/39.8 km)
  • Disneyland (27.1 mi/43.6 km)
  • Long Beach Aquarium of the Pacific (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • 80,000 square feet of restored Art Deco event space
  • Event planning
  • Catering
Policies and Fees
  • Credit card is required at check-in. Guest must be 21 years of age to register.
  • Valid ID is required.
  • Valet parking is USD $20 plus tax per day.
  • Overnight parking is USD $17 per day plus tax .
  • There is a USD $14.95 facilities fee that includes Wi-Fi access.
  • A self-service business center is located in the lobby area.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Queen Mary Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Queen Mary Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Room
Each cabin has a king bed or 2 twin beds and is uniquely appointed and embellishments vary to include rich wood paneling art deco build-ins, original artwork and of course portholes for outside rooms. These elegant rooms were once reserved only for first class passengers, on their long trip across the Atlantic. Now you too can relax in style. All first class rooms are decorated in 1930s Art Deco, and have 85% of their original wood paneling.
Standard Room
Inside staterooms are perfect if you're looking for a place where you can relax, uninterrupted. Our windowless inside rooms, at the heart of the ship, will let you catch up on your sleep, no matter what time of day. Each room contains large, original Art Deco mirrors instead of portholes.

Amenities

  • Free internet
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Walter Pyramid: 5 mi

Dining

Sir Winston's
Continental west coast cuisine, a favorite among the city's business and social elite. 2003 Zagat Survey: "People's Choice" Award.
Promenade Cafe
American restaurant, features a menu ranging from full meals to light salads and sandwiches.
Hollywood Deli
Specializing in sandwiches, fresh salads, thick crust pizza, and fabulous pastries.
Starboard Bakery
Come enjoy an espresso or cappuccino drink, fresh-baked scones, tarts, biscotti, pastries, ice cream, smoothies, and souvenir items.
The Chelsea
Our seafood specialty restaurant where each meal captures the fresh, unique fare by our Award Winning Chef.
Observation Bar
One of the Queen's preserved landmarks with majestic mural, nickel railing and touchier lighting entertainment, outdoor patio, views of city skyline and California coast.
Champagne Sunday Brunch
The Grand Salon, the ship's original first class dining room, is the elegant setting for the spectacular Sunday brunch starring more than 50 world class entrees and an amazing dessert station.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (333)

Ratings and reviews for Queen Mary Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
183 out of 333
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.7

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
gucas
Business
laramie
Jan 28, 2015

Just ok

the hotel is amazing and the night is beautiful, but the price is not worthy, I just feel the window of the room is so small and all of the items inside the room even I guess in the hotel are made from wood, which is very dangerous if catch fire.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
chang l.
Business
N/A
Jan 22, 2015

Nice

Nice place good staff. I sign up a tour n it was very fun

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FR.181
Business
VISALIA
Jan 15, 2015

Queen Mary Visitation

The stay was good overall, the lack of a small fridge and unable to control room temperature was a little inconvenience but the location of the Queen Mary to shops and restaurants in Long Beach was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shade S.
Business
San Clemente
Jan 5, 2015

Date Night With Wife

Great trip and night. Live 1 hour away and never stayed on the Queen Mary before. The rooms are small, but its a boat built in the early 1900's, so it was exactly what we thought it would be. Great food and romantic setting. I am in the Military and this was money well spent. Boat Tour makes the whole adventure. I plan on making a return visit. Loved the views from the deck of the boat reminded me of the Titanic Movie. Views of Long Beach at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TKJBROWN
Business
San Jose
Dec 16, 2014

A Real Treat On The Grande Old Lady!

My wife and I were booked for a cruise out of Long Beach and needed to overnight. We found this gem right next door to the cruise terminal and paid a very reasonable and low price for the room. We received a complementary upgrade to a room with a porthole and extra bed and it was really neat to see how passengers of old used to travel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
WeekendTravelers 2
Business
Arroyo Grande, Ca.
Nov 29, 2014

Great experience

This was our first time there , loved the experience and the vintage room and boat.Nice change from a regular hotel.Would do it again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Cape Cod Joanie
Business
E. Dennis, MA Cape Cod
Nov 26, 2014

Overnight stay

This nostalgic hotel had a wonderful tour of the ship. We requested our upgraded stateroom be changed in the early evening due to thin walls and the young group next door was loud, inebriated, and cussed often. Our room was changed to a much smaller unit, but we were given a minimal credit on our bill. The ship itself was wonderful to visit, but the accommodations were mediocre at best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jax Skywalker
Business
Long Beach, CA
Oct 31, 2014

Great staycation!

As a Long Beach native the Queen Mary is a part of our day to day. I had never stayed at the hotel, but decided to splurge on a one day staycation. The staff was great, the rooms are impeccable, and the location is spectacular. As soon as I walked in to the room, I felt transported to a different era, I loved that this was turning into an experience. We went to the Observation Bar for drinks and appetizer and it was just delightful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Parking is a bit pricey at $17 overnight.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anthony Relax Ambassador
Business
Cedar Hill Tx
Oct 9, 2014

First Time visit to California and The Queen Mary

The Queen Mary was charming, The boat was nice and the lobby took you back to the time the boat sailed the oceans.The bed was comfortable , and huge.The linen was clean and soft. I was preparing my wife to be on a boat on the open water, so this was a great opportunity for her to get her sea legs without having to leave the bay.The food was pricey so we had most of our meals, just across the bay in Long Beach. For the most part our stay was nice, Dark Habour festival was going on at the time so the weekend was a little noisy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Lot of nice restaurant in down town Long Beach Panama Joe's 10 mins from the boat , had good Mexican dishes TV's in every booth

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jaime S
Business
Las Vegas, Nevada
Sep 11, 2014

great experience

The only negative is the price. However, if you don't mind spending the money, the experience is amazing. perfect place to watch a sunrise as well!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top