$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 7, 2015 Check-out: Jun 9, 2015

Queen Mary Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1126 Queen Highway, Long Beach, CA 90802

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
360 reviews
3 day getway

I absolutely loved the ship's history and charm. It was like staying the Titanic. The room was... See full review

  • Teri D.
  • May 19, 2015
Great place to stay

I have stayed there many of times, and just really enjoy every trip there. Nice pre cruise hotel... See full review

  • Looking6063
  • May 3, 2015
This Los Angeles steamship hotel is a grand icon of 1930s

Stay aboard one of the most famous ocean liners in the world. The 75-year-old Queen Mary Hotel is a rare historic relic with functional hotel rooms, shops, spa and restaurants. She last sailed in Dec. 1967 and is permanently docked without an engine in Long Beach Harbor. Stay in vintage staterooms, wander her decks and learn of Winston Churchill, ghost stories and the Art Deco era. Dine in luxury with a view of the glowing Los Angeles skyline. Guests of the Queen Mary Hotel make use of the fitness center.

Highlights
  • Three decks of original preserved staterooms
  • Fitness center
  • On the National Register of Historic Places
  • Full-service spa
  • Pet friendly (fees apply)
  • Parking (at cost)
Location

The Queen Mary Hotel is located in Long Beach Harbor, a convenient base for a southern California vacation. Proximity to 110 and 405 freeways is ideal for traveling both north and south.

Rooms

The Queen Mary Hotel features 314 tastefully preserved interiors with built-in furnishings, original wood paneling and 1930s artwork. Rooms are modernized with pillow-tops, iPod docks, Wi-Fi (fees apply), flat-screen satellite TVs and air conditioning. Sleep up to four people in comfortable rooms. Porthole windows, expanded sitting areas and refrigerators are available. The Queen Mary Hotel is 100 percent smoke free.

Features

In the golden days of steamship travel the Queen Mary carried movie stars and dignitaries to ports like New York, Singapore and Sydney. Later she transported 15,000 World War II troops. Roam the vast ship or join guided historic, design, wartime and paranormal tours. The Queen Mary Hotel offers a spa and fitness center on the main deck.

Dining

The seven eateries aboard the Queen Mary Hotel include a sustainable seafood restaurant and acclaimed Sunday champagne brunch held in the original first-class dining room. The 1930s vibe is alive with classic cocktails and fancy dinners at Sir Winston's and the Observation Bar. Grab kid-friendly fare at a deli and smoothie shop. Room service is available at the Queen Mary Hotel.

Transportation
  • Los Angeles International Airport (23 mi/37 km)
  • Long Beach Airport (11.3 mi/18.2 km)
  • Long Beach Harbor (adjacent)
  • Pacific Metro stop (blue line) (2.2 mi/3.5 km)
Attractions
  • Hollywood (31.9 mi/51.3 km)
  • Seal Beach (8 mi/12.9 km)
  • Staples Center (24.8 mi/39.8 km)
  • Disneyland (27.1 mi/43.6 km)
  • Long Beach Aquarium of the Pacific (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • 80,000 square feet of restored Art Deco event space
  • Event planning
  • Catering
Policies and Fees
  • Credit card is required at check-in. Guest must be 21 years of age to register.
  • Valid ID is required.
  • The hotel charges $20 USD for self parking and $22 USD for valet parking.
  • There is a USD $14.95 facilities fee that includes Wi-Fi access.
  • A self-service business center is located in the lobby area.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Queen Mary Hotel also booked these hotels.

Queen Mary Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Room
Each cabin has a king bed or 2 twin beds and is uniquely appointed and embellishments vary to include rich wood paneling art deco build-ins, original artwork and of course portholes for outside rooms. These elegant rooms were once reserved only for first class passengers, on their long trip across the Atlantic. Now you too can relax in style. All first class rooms are decorated in 1930s Art Deco, and have 85% of their original wood paneling.
Standard Room
Inside staterooms are perfect if you're looking for a place where you can relax, uninterrupted. Our windowless inside rooms, at the heart of the ship, will let you catch up on your sleep, no matter what time of day. Each room contains large, original Art Deco mirrors instead of portholes.

Amenities

  • Free internet
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Walter Pyramid: 5 mi

Dining

Sir Winston's
Continental west coast cuisine, a favorite among the city's business and social elite. 2003 Zagat Survey: "People's Choice" Award.
Promenade Cafe
American restaurant, features a menu ranging from full meals to light salads and sandwiches.
Hollywood Deli
Specializing in sandwiches, fresh salads, thick crust pizza, and fabulous pastries.
Starboard Bakery
Come enjoy an espresso or cappuccino drink, fresh-baked scones, tarts, biscotti, pastries, ice cream, smoothies, and souvenir items.
The Chelsea
Our seafood specialty restaurant where each meal captures the fresh, unique fare by our Award Winning Chef.
Observation Bar
One of the Queen's preserved landmarks with majestic mural, nickel railing and touchier lighting entertainment, outdoor patio, views of city skyline and California coast.
Champagne Sunday Brunch
The Grand Salon, the ship's original first class dining room, is the elegant setting for the spectacular Sunday brunch starring more than 50 world class entrees and an amazing dessert station.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Queen Mary Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
40 out of 360
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rocking in the Free World
Business
Greensburg
May 14, 2015

Cool history, but super out dated

This was a super cool experience, but I was really hoping for a more updated room etc. I know it is a historical ship, but I was not expecting something so old. I would stay again though - food and beer were excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sHELVY
Business
Indianapolis
Feb 11, 2015

Great trip

I loved the ship. The food is expensive but the shuttle van will take you across the bay to where the cheap restaurants and 7 eleven is. You may have to walk. But I loved the value if the rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
j415
Business
LA
Oct 25, 2014

nice night on the Queen, but

we have stayed on the Queen Mary a number of times before. as always, our room was nice, with a comfortable bed. we are used to there being more room to room noise than in most hotels. however, it struck us as wrong that we were not informed until we checked in (and had nowhere else to go) (prepaid through Orb) that they were hosting a Halloween haunted area right outside the ship which was very noisy and ran until 1 a.m. we were told it would be noisy and we could spend more money to upgrade our room but it would still be noisy. it wasn't terrible and we got to sleep, but it was noisy. i think Orb owes it to us to tell us there is a special circumstance that can seriously interfere with our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Traveleor Dee
Business
Columbus OH
Oct 22, 2014

Historic = Old Hotel

Very disappointed in this experience. This may be an historic ship but it needs to be a museum not a hotel. Carpets, most furniture were dirty. Staff were all very personable and courteous but cannot fix something this broken. Entire ship needs to be remodeled where guests stay. Stayed with a group that had a gathering on Sports Deck. Staff gathered up a personal extension cord and after 5 days still no one could tell me about it. No communication between various departments. I'm writing the parent company - I want my property back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

stay at a budget hotel and visit the ship if you wish, but don't waste your money to stay there.

Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Quick Overnight Stayer
Business
Chicago, IL
Aug 12, 2014

Cruise queen

Loving cruise ships, it does not get better than staying on the original Queen Mary. Dinner at Sir Winston's was truly exquisite!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Definitely have dinner at Sir Winston's

Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dj BV
Business
Westminster ,California
Aug 7, 2014

It was so good

I had the best time there everything was so nice and clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Hcghjchjkbcgjg

Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
worker cheryl
Business
Washington DC
Jul 2, 2014

a step back in time

this is a lovely historic vessel with the charm and simplicity of days gone by. other than the walls being thin (so you could hear voices) the room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The food in the restaurant was very good and staff were polite and friendly. The self guided tour was very interesting. the place was bustling with weddings and parties. I would go again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

there is a free bus that circulates from the terminal to and around Long Beach, saving on parking expenses and making travel very convenient to the business area and other attractions.

Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Cali Wedding Photographer
Business
Sacramento, CA
Oct 24, 2013

not great for biz travelers

my room was not thoroughly cleaned. There were receipts and dirty tissues in the bed side drawers. There was no desk or table to work on while in the room. Also, the wi-fi was very hit and miss with connectivity and there is very little to no cell service in the room. Since this was a business trip for me it was very difficult to work in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Groundhog
Business
Hayward, CA
Oct 18, 2013

Queen Mary

The staff was superb and friendly had a great experience but was not vistited by any ghost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Slowboat
Business
Rockville Centre, NY
Sep 28, 2013

Try it - you'll like it...

The Queen Mary is 1.5 times the size of the Titanic. It is a majestic classic ship and you wonder how something so big and beautiful could have ever been built in a less technological age. But there it is and staying in one of the rooms gives you a feeling for that time. The woodwork is beautiful. There are tours (recommend taking one). The view of Long beach is wonderful and the rooms are comfortable even if cruise ship sized. Pay a few extra dollars for an exterior (window) room. Not sure how much more a suite costs, but it may well be worth the inquiry. Food is ok. You can run quarter mile laps on the Sun Deck or on a path along the shore. In sum, you can't rate this hotel on just amenities. It is touching a bit of history and the experience that matters most.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

free buses from the QM take you Long Beach if you want to eat on shore. The dining options on the ship are limited but decent quality.

Back to menu Return to top