$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Feb 3, 2015 Check-out: Feb 4, 2015

Queen Mary Hotel

3 stars
1126 Queen Highway, Long Beach, CA 90802
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
333 reviews
christmas trip

I love the Queen Mary hotel. I always try to make a trip during different times of the year. They... See full review

  • Kim M.
  • Jan 21, 2015
A worthwhile experience

This was a fun hotel to stay in for a night or two. You also get access to their audio tour, which... See full review

  • SA traveller 2014
  • Jan 17, 2015
This Los Angeles steamship hotel is a grand icon of 1930s

Stay aboard one of the most famous ocean liners in the world. The 75-year-old Queen Mary Hotel is a rare historic relic with functional hotel rooms, shops, spa and restaurants. She last sailed in Dec. 1967 and is permanently docked without an engine in Long Beach Harbor. Stay in vintage staterooms, wander her decks and learn of Winston Churchill, ghost stories and the Art Deco era. Dine in luxury with a view of the glowing Los Angeles skyline. Guests of the Queen Mary Hotel make use of the fitness center.

Highlights
  • Three decks of original preserved staterooms
  • Fitness center
  • On the National Register of Historic Places
  • Full-service spa
  • Pet friendly (fees apply)
Location

The Queen Mary Hotel is located in Long Beach Harbor, a convenient base for a southern California vacation. Proximity to 110 and 405 freeways is ideal for traveling both north and south.

Rooms

The Queen Mary Hotel features 314 tastefully preserved interiors with built-in furnishings, original wood paneling and 1930s artwork. Rooms are modernized with pillow-tops, iPod docks, Wi-Fi (fees apply), flat-screen satellite TVs and air conditioning. Sleep up to four people in comfortable rooms. Porthole windows, expanded sitting areas and refrigerators are available. The Queen Mary Hotel is 100 percent smoke free.

Features

In the golden days of steamship travel the Queen Mary carried movie stars and dignitaries to ports like New York, Singapore and Sydney. Later she transported 15,000 World War II troops. Roam the vast ship or join guided historic, design, wartime and paranormal tours. The Queen Mary Hotel offers a spa and fitness center on the main deck.

Dining

The seven eateries aboard the Queen Mary Hotel include a sustainable seafood restaurant and acclaimed Sunday champagne brunch held in the original first-class dining room. The 1930s vibe is alive with classic cocktails and fancy dinners at Sir Winston's and the Observation Bar. Grab kid-friendly fare at a deli and smoothie shop. Room service is available at the Queen Mary Hotel.

Transportation
  • Los Angeles International Airport (23 mi/37 km)
  • Long Beach Airport (11.3 mi/18.2 km)
  • Long Beach Harbor (adjacent)
  • Pacific Metro stop (blue line) (2.2 mi/3.5 km)
Attractions
  • Hollywood (31.9 mi/51.3 km)
  • Seal Beach (8 mi/12.9 km)
  • Staples Center (24.8 mi/39.8 km)
  • Disneyland (27.1 mi/43.6 km)
  • Long Beach Aquarium of the Pacific (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • 80,000 square feet of restored Art Deco event space
  • Event planning
  • Catering
Policies and Fees
  • Credit card is required at check-in. Guest must be 21 years of age to register.
  • Valid ID is required.
  • Valet parking is USD $20 plus tax per day.
  • Overnight parking is USD $17 per day plus tax .
  • There is a USD $14.95 facilities fee that includes Wi-Fi access.
  • A self-service business center is located in the lobby area.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Queen Mary Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Queen Mary Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Room
Each cabin has a king bed or 2 twin beds and is uniquely appointed and embellishments vary to include rich wood paneling art deco build-ins, original artwork and of course portholes for outside rooms. These elegant rooms were once reserved only for first class passengers, on their long trip across the Atlantic. Now you too can relax in style. All first class rooms are decorated in 1930s Art Deco, and have 85% of their original wood paneling.
Standard Room
Inside staterooms are perfect if you're looking for a place where you can relax, uninterrupted. Our windowless inside rooms, at the heart of the ship, will let you catch up on your sleep, no matter what time of day. Each room contains large, original Art Deco mirrors instead of portholes.

Amenities

  • Free internet
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Walter Pyramid: 5 mi

Dining

Sir Winston's
Continental west coast cuisine, a favorite among the city's business and social elite. 2003 Zagat Survey: "People's Choice" Award.
Promenade Cafe
American restaurant, features a menu ranging from full meals to light salads and sandwiches.
Hollywood Deli
Specializing in sandwiches, fresh salads, thick crust pizza, and fabulous pastries.
Starboard Bakery
Come enjoy an espresso or cappuccino drink, fresh-baked scones, tarts, biscotti, pastries, ice cream, smoothies, and souvenir items.
The Chelsea
Our seafood specialty restaurant where each meal captures the fresh, unique fare by our Award Winning Chef.
Observation Bar
One of the Queen's preserved landmarks with majestic mural, nickel railing and touchier lighting entertainment, outdoor patio, views of city skyline and California coast.
Champagne Sunday Brunch
The Grand Salon, the ship's original first class dining room, is the elegant setting for the spectacular Sunday brunch starring more than 50 world class entrees and an amazing dessert station.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (333)

Ratings and reviews for Queen Mary Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
26 out of 333
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kim M.
Business
N/A
Jan 21, 2015

christmas trip

I love the Queen Mary hotel. I always try to make a trip during different times of the year. They always have great things going on. The price to park should not be charged per day but should be only a one time fee for hotel guests. I think it is unfare to charge such a high price per day for some one who is already staying at the Hotel. I am sorry to see the stores that I have relied on for so many years to buy things for myself, my family and gifts are no longer going to be there. I will visit these stores where ever they have gone but am sad that I can no longer walk along the Promenade deck to shop them. I understand there will be other stores put in by the new company taking over the Queen Mary, but I understand the items will be of less quality and not the type of items I have become so happy with buying over these many years. One of the reasons I have come to the Queen Mary over the years is for the specific types of shops that were available. As to the restaurants and food, I am not happy with the prices in any of the restaurants and sad to see the Deli is gone. I had to borrow money in order to feed myself and my son whom I had brought there as a Christmas going away present as he was leaving for the Army. The prices were outrageous and no average family that stays on the ship can afford it. Even the Marketplace where I saw alot of people going to was crazy expensive. $9.00 for a sandwich that looked like it came from a hospital cafeteria. I was also sad to see the other food place by the Observation Bar was gone and replaced by a mock childs play room. I watched the Hotel Del Coronado raise their prices so no one but the rich could stay there or shop or even eat there and now I am watching the Queen Mary do the same. Is this how America is supposed to be? Cutting out the not so rich who deserve to enjoy the same things? I enjoyed my stay with my son but it would have been horrible if I had not been able to borrow money. No one should have to borrow money just to eat because all the restaurants are expensive. Also, the hotel did make the mistake of charging me again for the same night that I already paid for through a travel booking agency. It was later taking care of, but this should never have happened. I believe I should have been given a free night for this kind of mistake but I was not offered any thing except the reversal of the charge. Other wise I had a wonderful time and was glad to have been able to buy some gifts at my favorite shops before they closed. The staff was very helpful and pleasant. The Observation Bar could do with offering a bit more appetizers. I will be back to see how things are going with the new company take over.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SA traveller 2014
Business
Smyrna
Jan 17, 2015

A worthwhile experience

This was a fun hotel to stay in for a night or two. You also get access to their audio tour, which can be a significant savings. So if you are going to tour the ship anyway, it really doesn't cost that much more just to stay the night on it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LongSLeang
Business
SF
Nov 15, 2014

romatic

This place have a lot of nice view, and take a lot of good picture and side seeing. The room setting was very nice classic and very romantic. Very good place for couple getaway. The bed was a little to small but very nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pink squirrel
Business
Detroit, MI
Sep 16, 2014

Something different

It is something that you don't do every day!! It's a near 100 year old ship, so it's not the same as the Hilton!! But what it does have is unique, and gives you a feel of history in your hands. The rooms were all cool little cubes that at first felt small, but it actually felt cozy at free a bit. The bed was heavenly ! Take the experience for what it is, get out of it what's there. They had tons of things to do exhibits and dinners it was a good overall experience ! All the food was good price and top notch that I had as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Just take time walk through things like your not in a big hurry tgere are millions of things to see!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
stretch38
Business
San Diego
Jul 8, 2014

Queen Mary

A very, unique and special place. room was surprisingly adequate in terms of space.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

very convenient to terminal for Catalina Express

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Polish prince two
Business
Calgary
Mar 6, 2014

Total fun

If you are looking for 5 stars by today's standards this is not the place for you. If you are looking for a good time and travel back to 1930 then this is an extremely fun place. I would recommend it as I had a fantastic time and the service was better than average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mjb144ivy
Business
baldwin park, california
Aug 26, 2013

Wonderful Getaway!

My senses were saturated with nostalgia and history! The price was way below the other hotels in the Long Beach area and way above in personality. Be sure to go to the sun deck and watch the fishing boats and sailboats going by. Accessible to restaurants, aquarium, LA arena and everything! Wonderful!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Michael Thomas
Business
Santa Barbara, CA
Apr 3, 2013

Historical experience...pricey but worth it.

Very noisy. St. Patrick's Day parties and drunk, loud, visitors/guests late-night, but okay with good ear plugs. Upgraded cabin okay, nothing fancy, mattress very comfortable. View to Long Beach Harbor requested, received cabin with view on parking lot. Parking extra and pricey. Restaurant okay, but overpriced. However, all in all great experience. Toured ship, including bridge, engine room etc. Volunteers in Communications teach morse code and equipment used on ship during service times. Cool!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Walk at night on ship, great views on Long Beach Harbor, Skyline, bridge, all lighted up, colorful. Great for romantic evening or experiencing historical ship and how they travelled in the old days. For sailors: Engine room, bridge, communications, etc. a must-see.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ZHENG XU
Business
Palm desert,CA
Jan 2, 2013

nice location

room is ok, but the location is perfect. View is nice,and there is many good shops in this ship

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PT83
Business
UK
Oct 4, 2012

Unique experience but beware thin walls!

Very good value option for Long beach with good range of food & drink options on site. Only criticism is how thin the walls are, we could hear every word and every sound from the TV from next door

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top