$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 9, 2015

Queen Mary Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1126 Queen Highway, Long Beach, CA 90802

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
333 reviews
Vacation Trip

Vacation trip was excellent, however wish my hotel room was not so cold during our stay. But... See full review

  • Andrew S.
  • Aug 30, 2015
Mother/Son Senior trip

The staff was wonderful! Very helpful and kind. The room had everything we needed and was very... See full review

  • Denise B.
  • Aug 3, 2015

A legendary transatlantic ocean liner rich in history and tradition once carried royalty, celebrities, and soldiers. Now an international symbol of Long Beach, CA, the Queen Mary is a popular destination for history enthusiast, ghost hunters, and television and movie productions. The Queen Mary has been used in films like the original Poseidon Adventure and He's Just Not That Into You, and television shows The Ghost Whisper and 90210.

Come explore the Queen Mary from bow to stern with nostalgic tours, shopping arcade, and spectacular ocean and skyline vistas. Guests do not merely check in, they stroll aboard, sleep in original art deco staterooms, and dine in award winning restaurants. The Queen Mary Hotel, unparalleled atmosphere and accommodations. Docked in the Queensway Bay at the south end of the 710 Freeway, 21 miles from Lax, 23 miles from John Wayne SNA, and 7 miles from Long each Airport LGB. The new Long Beach Cruise Terminal, home of Carnival Cruise Lines, is walking distance from hotel entrance. Listed on National Register of Historic Places the Queen Mary boasts 314 original staterooms spanning three decks, including eight full suites. Each cabin is uniquely appointed and embellishments vary to include rich wood paneling, art deco built ins, and original artwork and have window portholes for outside rooms.

Credit card is required at check in. Guest must be 21 years of age to register. Valid ID is required.

Valet parking $22.00 plus tax per day . Overnight self parking is $20.00 per day plus tax.

There is a $14.95 facilities fee that includes wi-fi. A self service business center USD is located in the Lobby area.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Queen Mary Hotel also booked these hotels.

★★★
$75
3.1 / 5 279 reviews
★★★
$138
4.0 / 5 36 reviews
★★★
$119
4.0 / 5 98 reviews
★★
$74
3.4 / 5 34 reviews
★★★★
$119
3.8 / 5 441 reviews
★★★★
$209
4.1 / 5 49 reviews
★★★
$126
3.5 / 5 55 reviews
★★★★
$159
4.0 / 5 136 reviews

Queen Mary Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Room
Each cabin has a king bed or 2 twin beds and is uniquely appointed and embellishments vary to include rich wood paneling art deco build-ins, original artwork and of course portholes for outside rooms. These elegant rooms were once reserved only for first class passengers, on their long trip across the Atlantic. Now you too can relax in style. All first class rooms are decorated in 1930s Art Deco, and have 85% of their original wood paneling.
Standard Room
Inside staterooms are perfect if you're looking for a place where you can relax, uninterrupted. Our windowless inside rooms, at the heart of the ship, will let you catch up on your sleep, no matter what time of day. Each room contains large, original Art Deco mirrors instead of portholes.

Amenities

  • Free internet
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Walter Pyramid: 5 mi

Dining

Sir Winston's
Continental west coast cuisine, a favorite among the city's business and social elite. 2003 Zagat Survey: "People's Choice" Award.
Promenade Cafe
American restaurant, features a menu ranging from full meals to light salads and sandwiches.
Hollywood Deli
Specializing in sandwiches, fresh salads, thick crust pizza, and fabulous pastries.
Starboard Bakery
Come enjoy an espresso or cappuccino drink, fresh-baked scones, tarts, biscotti, pastries, ice cream, smoothies, and souvenir items.
The Chelsea
Our seafood specialty restaurant where each meal captures the fresh, unique fare by our Award Winning Chef.
Observation Bar
One of the Queen's preserved landmarks with majestic mural, nickel railing and touchier lighting entertainment, outdoor patio, views of city skyline and California coast.
Champagne Sunday Brunch
The Grand Salon, the ship's original first class dining room, is the elegant setting for the spectacular Sunday brunch starring more than 50 world class entrees and an amazing dessert station.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Queen Mary Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
65 out of 333
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.6

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Denise B.
Family
N/A
Aug 3, 2015

Mother/Son Senior trip

The staff was wonderful! Very helpful and kind. The room had everything we needed and was very clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TerryRetiredteach
Family
Paola
Aug 2, 2015

Fun experience with grand daughter!

We wanted to stay on the Queen Mary to experience the flavor of the ship from back in the day! We liked the way the rooms hadn't been modernized and were mostly the same way as they were in the sailing days. The Diana Exhibit on board was beautiful and very interesting, and our dinner in the restaurant on board was very good too! If you are looking for a different hotel experience, this is it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cynthia W.
Family
N/A
Jul 27, 2015

Visiting my daughter

The Queen Mary is a lovely place to stay, and utterly unique. Houskeeping services were excellent. My room was extremely comfortable. The portholes even opened! By all means book a room with a view. Every crew member I encountered was friendly and very helpful. I got lost on one of the decks, and an extremely kind gentleman walked me to where I was trying to go, explaining that it's a rare day when someone doesn't get lost. The one exception is the Observation Bar & Art Deco Lounge, which is neither sophisticated, stylish, not cool. In fact, it is stiflingly hot, and the service is indifferent at best. The servers don't hesitate to let you sit and wait and wait and wait until just after Happy Hour has passed until your order is taken. On the other hand, I had one of my best dinners ever in the Chelsea Chowder House & Bar. It was pricey, but outstanding, and my server didn't mind one bit that I lingered with a book over wine and dinner for a good 2 hours. By all means, give yourself the chance to experience this lovely hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Saundra J.
Family
Jacksonville
Jun 10, 2015

A trip to remember

I was looking for the experience of the days of old aboard the Queen Mary. I found more. I learned about history on the ship. Replicas of old ships were great. I would like to stay there again. I would love to have wireless internet in the room, only outside the room. They have an area near the lobby check-in for internet/wifi. The food and staff were awesome. I needed a refrigerator, and one was in my room within a few minutes after I checked in. Great service. The ship is being well preserved. I took great pictures and video.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kerry S.
Family
N/A
Feb 11, 2015

Enjoyed our stay on the Queen Mary!

Recently spent four days and three nights aboard the Queen Mary. I loved the original decor and the unique experience staying aboard the ship provided. While on board, we did the Ghost Tour, viewed the Princess Diana exhibit and did some shopping. Walking around the Promenade deck with a cup of coffee from the Midship Market was a great way to start the morning. We also enjoyed eating at the Promenade Cafe-kudos to the staff there for the very original banana split! While in Long Beach we also did the Gray Whale Tour, the Harbor Tour and visited the Long Beach Aquarium. There were many great shops and local eateries and we felt that the area had a lot to offer and enjoyed the Queen Mary as our "home base" for our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Penny Ross
Family
Wilton, Connecticut
Nov 19, 2014

Historic Queen Mary

If you love to learn the story behind historic buildings, spend a few days on the Queen Mary! I was fascinated by the detailed facts that were abundant on the Queen Mary. The food, service and entertainment aboard the Queen Mary were wonderful. If I owned the ship, I would be working hard to keep the integrity of the design and time period, but I would definitely refurbish the state rooms by polishing, refinishing the beautiful wood, replacing the carpet. This could all be done without destroying the look and feel of the ship when it was put into service in 1936. Overall, my stay on the ship was a vacation full of interesting people and history.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: In Hotel

Excellent food in all of the dining rooms and impeccable service. My hint; try different food for every meal, you won't be disappointed!

Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mira The Traveler
Family
SF bay, California
Nov 12, 2014

Quite unique experiences but poor service!

It was a good experience to spend a night in a such a large ship full of history especially for my daughter. You can't learn that from any book. Anyway I quite disappointed that the hotel could not even provide hot water or free coffee stand at the lobby and I could not get a phone connection to the room service , the line kept getting busy signal and the front desk was not helpful at all. I think it would be fair to at least give us a free parking for hotel guest since we pay a lot for the room already.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TravelerIA
Family
Iowa
Sep 14, 2014

Interesting

It was interesting to look around, and Sir Winston's restaurant had absolutely amazing food, but the rooms had no air or heat and felt humid and musty. Great to visit and see all the history, but not sure I would actually stay on board again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ms CPA
Family
Hercules, CA
Aug 12, 2014

Missing a lot!!!

The room size is good. The king bed did not have a fitted sheet. Every time I move, the sheet wraps & clings to me. There were five pillows which I liked, three regular sized & two longer ones; but the pillow cases for the bigger ones are two regular sized pillow cases put together; they do not have long pillow cases. There were six light fixtures with only one light switch; I cannot turn off one without turning off all six light fixtures. Shampoo, lotion, & soaps are of different brands; look like those samples collected or scavenged from other hotels. Floor carpet in the room looks filthy. Wifi cannot reach our room. My daughter called for assistance & instructions to access the wifi but the lady who answered the phone did not seem to know what we are talking about. Our room was freezing. The thermostat does not work. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. It's not worth the money we paid for our two night stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Research first.

Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy Traveler 17
Family
Southern California
Jul 25, 2014

Great for a night away

It was fun to stay somewhere that the hotel itself is a destination worth seeing. Staying one night was enough for use as it was more for the experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top