$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 15, 2014 Check-out: May 16, 2014

Queen Mary Hotel

3 stars
1126 Queen Highway, Long Beach, CA 90802
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
270 reviews
Perfect for my birthday

The beds were extremely comfortable and the staff was very friendly. See full review

  • Pimpmitch49
  • Mar 22, 2014
Nice mini getaway

I truly enjoyed myself aboard the queen mary hotel!!!! Because you're on a shop it feels like a... See full review

  • Whachu Talkin bout Willis
  • Mar 13, 2014
This Los Angeles steamship hotel is a grand icon of 1930s

Stay aboard one of the most famous ocean liners in the world. The 75-year-old Queen Mary Hotel is a rare historic relic with functional hotel rooms, shops, spa and restaurants. She last sailed in Dec. 1967 and is permanently docked without an engine in Long Beach Harbor. Stay in vintage staterooms, wander her decks and learn of Winston Churchill, ghost stories and the Art Deco era. Dine in luxury with a view of the glowing Los Angeles skyline. Guests of the Queen Mary Hotel make use of the fitness center.

Highlights
  • Three decks of original preserved staterooms
  • Fitness center
  • On the National Register of Historic Places
  • Full-service spa
  • Pet friendly (fees apply)
Location

The Queen Mary Hotel is located in Long Beach Harbor, a convenient base for a southern California vacation. Proximity to 110 and 405 freeways is ideal for traveling both north and south.

Rooms

The Queen Mary Hotel features 314 tastefully preserved interiors with built-in furnishings, original wood paneling and 1930s artwork. Rooms are modernized with pillow-tops, iPod docks, Wi-Fi (fees apply), flat-screen satellite TVs and air conditioning. Sleep up to four people in comfortable rooms. Porthole windows, expanded sitting areas and refrigerators are available. The Queen Mary Hotel is 100 percent smoke free.

Features

In the golden days of steamship travel the Queen Mary carried movie stars and dignitaries to ports like New York, Singapore and Sydney. Later she transported 15,000 World War II troops. Roam the vast ship or join guided historic, design, wartime and paranormal tours. The Queen Mary Hotel offers a spa and fitness center on the main deck.

Dining

The seven eateries aboard the Queen Mary Hotel include a sustainable seafood restaurant and acclaimed Sunday champagne brunch held in the original first-class dining room. The 1930s vibe is alive with classic cocktails and fancy dinners at Sir Winston's and the Observation Bar. Grab kid-friendly fare at a deli and smoothie shop. Room service is available at the Queen Mary Hotel.

Transportation
  • Los Angeles International Airport (23 mi/37 km)
  • Long Beach Airport (11.3 mi/18.2 km)
  • Long Beach Harbor (adjacent)
  • Pacific Metro stop (blue line) (2.2 mi/3.5 km)
Attractions
  • Hollywood (31.9 mi/51.3 km)
  • Seal Beach (8 mi/12.9 km)
  • Staples Center (24.8 mi/39.8 km)
  • Disneyland (27.1 mi/43.6 km)
  • Long Beach Aquarium of the Pacific (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • 80,000 square feet of restored Art Deco event space
  • Event planning
  • Catering
Policies and Fees
  • Credit card is required at check-in. Guest must be 21 years of age to register.
  • Valid ID is required.
  • Valet parking is $19 USD per day (Friday through Saturday).
  • Overnight parking is $15 USD per day.
  • Internet fees: $5.99 USD for 60 minutes, $9.99 USD for 24 hours and $49.99 USD for seven days.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Queen Mary Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Room
Each cabin has a king bed or 2 twin beds and is uniquely appointed and embellishments vary to include rich wood paneling art deco build-ins, original artwork and of course portholes for outside rooms. These elegant rooms were once reserved only for first class passengers, on their long trip across the Atlantic. Now you too can relax in style. All first class rooms are decorated in 1930s Art Deco, and have 85% of their original wood paneling.
Standard Room
Inside staterooms are perfect if you're looking for a place where you can relax, uninterrupted. Our windowless inside rooms, at the heart of the ship, will let you catch up on your sleep, no matter what time of day. Each room contains large, original Art Deco mirrors instead of portholes.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Queen Mary Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

33.7522 -118.1911
Area served
Long Beach, CA
Nearby airports
(LAX) Los Angeles International (LGB) Long Beach Municipal
Area description
Nearby attractions include Disneyland, Knott's Berry Farm, Santa Monica, Hollywood, Beverly Hills, Universal Studios Hollywood, Catalina Island, Venice Beach.

Nearby points of interest

  • Walter Pyramid: 5 mi

Dining

Sir Winston's
Continental west coast cuisine, a favorite among the city's business and social elite. 2003 Zagat Survey: "People's Choice" Award.
Promenade Cafe
American restaurant, features a menu ranging from full meals to light salads and sandwiches.
Hollywood Deli
Specializing in sandwiches, fresh salads, thick crust pizza, and fabulous pastries.
Starboard Bakery
Come enjoy an espresso or cappuccino drink, fresh-baked scones, tarts, biscotti, pastries, ice cream, smoothies, and souvenir items.
The Chelsea
Our seafood specialty restaurant where each meal captures the fresh, unique fare by our Award Winning Chef.
Observation Bar
One of the Queen's preserved landmarks with majestic mural, nickel railing and touchier lighting entertainment, outdoor patio, views of city skyline and California coast.
Champagne Sunday Brunch
The Grand Salon, the ship's original first class dining room, is the elegant setting for the spectacular Sunday brunch starring more than 50 world class entrees and an amazing dessert station.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (270)

Ratings and reviews for Queen Mary Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
270 out of 270
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.7

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

3
nos07
LA, CA
Aug 28, 2012

Nice historical hotel.. but

It was nice hotel to stay in with all the history the ship has but... wall between the rooms are so thin we had hard time sleeping in the morning. Seems like walls are paper thin, you can hear everything that goes around the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

4
dragon1953
Arizona
Aug 25, 2012

Fun weekend getaway

The hotel was very cool. The rooms were amazing. We were a bit disappointed that we had to pay $10 for Internet , and $17 for parking. Overall the experience was good. Worth at least one night just to see the ship.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

If the dining room is closed they will deliver to your room.

Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Chris and Amy's wedding
North Carolina
Aug 22, 2012

Wedding on Queen Mary Hotel

Went for a ship board wedding, great venue! Excellent atmosphere, service, and staff. Rich in history, boat tours, 'ghost' hunting a night. Phone app put "ghosts" in pics, to much fun!! Free shuttle bus to get around Long Beach, very convenient, parking is expensive and limited everywhere. LA had a heat wave while we visited, AC in room was minimally sufficient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

2
Jeep Driver 2
Utah
Aug 13, 2012

Not so elegant

If you are expecting the Queen in her glory, this isn't it. The furnishings are definitely not to her time period and are very run down. The mold in the bathroom was unreal. Definitely a 2 star if you aren't staying in a Suite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

Chelsea's Chowder House was perfect!

Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

4
DrDRL
Business
Oak Harbor, WA
Aug 10, 2012

Historic and unique

Staying at the Queen Mary is a like a step back into history. I enjoyed our one night cruise on this historic ship. Even though some things look a little worn, taken in context that this ship is nearly eighty years old and one is staying in a virtual museum, it all was great. The view of the lights of the city at night are wonderful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The free shuttle will take you into the city to most places you would need to go.

Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

4
3dogmom
Florida
Aug 8, 2012

Pretend you're on a 1930's cruise

If you love old architecture and Art Deco trimming, the QM is the perfect stay. We loved walking the decks and envisioning ourselves in the time of its early voyages. We should have taken a tour so we could have explored more of the ship, but we loved what we were able to see by poking around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Maggie 1
So Calif.
Jul 31, 2012

Pretty good!

It was a neat experance to stay on a ship comissioned in 1936. It was like stepping back in time and the harbor setting beautiful. The rooms were fun right down to the port hole windows, beds very comfortable. The food was excellent in both the high end dinning and the delux coffee shop, a bit expensive but very good. A bit of a down was that a boat tour did not come with the room, a $12 per person extra. I think there should have been at least a discount. Plan enough time to just relax on deck, read, visit and enjoy the view. Wish we had planned more time to do that. No pool but the kids loved to explore the ship and lots of wiggle room on the many decks. We will do it again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Other eating areas off the ship are across the bay,long walk or short drive. Also, shopping and the Long Beach Aquarium are in that same area.

Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Faery Gramma
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 29, 2012

Sweet Suite Upgrade

My granddaughter and grandson decided to stay overnight with us. At the desk I was offered a "family room" for $30 more and a 2 br 2 ba suite with separate living room for $120 more. We took the suite. I cannot rave enough about staying in the suite, complete with portholes for this stay! We saw the Princess Diana Exhibit which was chock full of newspaper items and all sorts of royal memoribilia of the Windsor Royals. There are all sorts of fascinating little tours. If you are staying at the hotel ALL other tours are heavily discounted. We had a lovely tea in the exquisite tea room. The food onboard was very good. AND REASONABLE. My husband spent hours doing every tour he could get. Some friends joined us and we watched the opening night Olympics. Honestly, I cannot believe that I have not stayed at the Queen Mary before. It was just fabulous. Immaculate with ironed bed linens and an enthusiastic staff. Yes it is worn in places but has tons of charm and exquisite features. My husband wants to go back for his birthday. Stay here and you will be transported to a fantastic mini Atlantic crossing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Book any extra tours or exhibits after you check in and the upgrade room is well worth the expense.

Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

4
HosieChuter
Central Florida
Jul 28, 2012

One of my best!

Amazing experience. Safest location. Will be back! Special thanks and appreciation for Allison at the front desk. Service doesn't get much better. Quarky, romantic and scary! Instant adventure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Downtown Long Beach has plenty of restaurants.

Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Retired fireman traveler
Murrieta, CA
Jul 28, 2012

Fun stay

The ship is 80 years old and they are trying to preserve the ship as it was. The bed was a little hard but ok, the flush system on the toilet leaves a little to be desired, but you can't beat this for a historically interesting stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top