$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 31, 2014 Check-out: Aug 1, 2014

Queen Mary Hotel

3 stars
1126 Queen Highway, Long Beach, CA 90802
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
429 reviews
a step back in time

this is a lovely historic vessel with the charm and simplicity of days gone by. other than the... See full review

  • worker cheryl
  • Jul 2, 2014
Senior Trip

Took my daughter here for her senior trip. Had a great time loved the hotel cool experience See full review

  • Alison marine and college
  • Apr 24, 2014
This Los Angeles steamship hotel is a grand icon of 1930s

Stay aboard one of the most famous ocean liners in the world. The 75-year-old Queen Mary Hotel is a rare historic relic with functional hotel rooms, shops, spa and restaurants. She last sailed in Dec. 1967 and is permanently docked without an engine in Long Beach Harbor. Stay in vintage staterooms, wander her decks and learn of Winston Churchill, ghost stories and the Art Deco era. Dine in luxury with a view of the glowing Los Angeles skyline. Guests of the Queen Mary Hotel make use of the fitness center.

Highlights
  • Three decks of original preserved staterooms
  • Fitness center
  • On the National Register of Historic Places
  • Full-service spa
  • Pet friendly (fees apply)
Location

The Queen Mary Hotel is located in Long Beach Harbor, a convenient base for a southern California vacation. Proximity to 110 and 405 freeways is ideal for traveling both north and south.

Rooms

The Queen Mary Hotel features 314 tastefully preserved interiors with built-in furnishings, original wood paneling and 1930s artwork. Rooms are modernized with pillow-tops, iPod docks, Wi-Fi (fees apply), flat-screen satellite TVs and air conditioning. Sleep up to four people in comfortable rooms. Porthole windows, expanded sitting areas and refrigerators are available. The Queen Mary Hotel is 100 percent smoke free.

Features

In the golden days of steamship travel the Queen Mary carried movie stars and dignitaries to ports like New York, Singapore and Sydney. Later she transported 15,000 World War II troops. Roam the vast ship or join guided historic, design, wartime and paranormal tours. The Queen Mary Hotel offers a spa and fitness center on the main deck.

Dining

The seven eateries aboard the Queen Mary Hotel include a sustainable seafood restaurant and acclaimed Sunday champagne brunch held in the original first-class dining room. The 1930s vibe is alive with classic cocktails and fancy dinners at Sir Winston's and the Observation Bar. Grab kid-friendly fare at a deli and smoothie shop. Room service is available at the Queen Mary Hotel.

Transportation
  • Los Angeles International Airport (23 mi/37 km)
  • Long Beach Airport (11.3 mi/18.2 km)
  • Long Beach Harbor (adjacent)
  • Pacific Metro stop (blue line) (2.2 mi/3.5 km)
Attractions
  • Hollywood (31.9 mi/51.3 km)
  • Seal Beach (8 mi/12.9 km)
  • Staples Center (24.8 mi/39.8 km)
  • Disneyland (27.1 mi/43.6 km)
  • Long Beach Aquarium of the Pacific (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • 80,000 square feet of restored Art Deco event space
  • Event planning
  • Catering
Policies and Fees
  • Credit card is required at check-in. Guest must be 21 years of age to register.
  • Valid ID is required.
  • Valet parking is USD $20 plus tax per day.
  • Overnight parking is USD $17 per day plus tax .
  • There is a USD $14.95 facilities fee that includes Wi-Fi access.
  • A self-service business center is located in the lobby area.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

33.7522 -118.1911
Area served
Long Beach, CA
Nearby airports
(LAX) Los Angeles International (LGB) Long Beach Municipal
Area description
Nearby attractions include Disneyland, Knott's Berry Farm, Santa Monica, Hollywood, Beverly Hills, Universal Studios Hollywood, Catalina Island, Venice Beach.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Queen Mary Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Queen Mary Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Room
Each cabin has a king bed or 2 twin beds and is uniquely appointed and embellishments vary to include rich wood paneling art deco build-ins, original artwork and of course portholes for outside rooms. These elegant rooms were once reserved only for first class passengers, on their long trip across the Atlantic. Now you too can relax in style. All first class rooms are decorated in 1930s Art Deco, and have 85% of their original wood paneling.
Standard Room
Inside staterooms are perfect if you're looking for a place where you can relax, uninterrupted. Our windowless inside rooms, at the heart of the ship, will let you catch up on your sleep, no matter what time of day. Each room contains large, original Art Deco mirrors instead of portholes.

Amenities

  • Free internet
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Walter Pyramid: 5 mi

Dining

Sir Winston's
Continental west coast cuisine, a favorite among the city's business and social elite. 2003 Zagat Survey: "People's Choice" Award.
Promenade Cafe
American restaurant, features a menu ranging from full meals to light salads and sandwiches.
Hollywood Deli
Specializing in sandwiches, fresh salads, thick crust pizza, and fabulous pastries.
Starboard Bakery
Come enjoy an espresso or cappuccino drink, fresh-baked scones, tarts, biscotti, pastries, ice cream, smoothies, and souvenir items.
The Chelsea
Our seafood specialty restaurant where each meal captures the fresh, unique fare by our Award Winning Chef.
Observation Bar
One of the Queen's preserved landmarks with majestic mural, nickel railing and touchier lighting entertainment, outdoor patio, views of city skyline and California coast.
Champagne Sunday Brunch
The Grand Salon, the ship's original first class dining room, is the elegant setting for the spectacular Sunday brunch starring more than 50 world class entrees and an amazing dessert station.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (429)

Ratings and reviews for Queen Mary Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
429 out of 429
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.7

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
weasel103
redondo beach, ca
Dec 16, 2012

historic and fun

My husband loves old ships and this one offers all sorts of great tours. The room was much larger than I expected it to be and the restaurants were fantastic. Would highly recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JIReid
Burbank, California
Jul 8, 2013

Wifes birthday

The ship was very unique. A lot of history and we had a good time. The staff was very nice. A good place to stay for a short period of time as the location is a bit far from the Long beach night life. We will go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
YKim777
Business
North, New Jersey
Jun 17, 2013

Night at the Museum

Fun place to stay. Hotel itself is an attraction. Free bus to downtown Long Beach makes it feel accessible even if it is modestly off the beaten track. Crew was exceptionally nice and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
KSDM
Wailuku, HI
Jun 13, 2013

Disappointed

I was looking forward to this hotel. I knew it would be old and didn't expect anything expect a "different" kind of hotel. Here is what I found: Negative: 1. Room: Mold on the shower curtain. Toilet handle broke off in my hand. The bathroom smelled like an outhouse (maybe that's to be expected, but it's gross anyway). 2. Amenities: They charge for wifi. Even hotels in the middle of nowhere California give wifi. This is a bit ridiculous. 3. Amenities: The stores all close at 6PM. In a city this size, I believe that this is much too early. 4. Amenities: There is no store to sell a soda. The front desk said that there were vending machines but never told me where to find them (I should have asked but I was trying to decide what to do next - leave the hotel, or just go to a restaurant). 5. Amenities: Business center printer was broken. Positive: 1. Staff was not rude. I want to say polite, but yet, I cannot say that entirely. They were nice, but there was something missing. My impression is that they have poor morale and very poor management. 2. Staff did help us print something, that was very kind of them. Again, the staff were nice... but something was still missing. I stress, I think there are management issues that are manifesting themselves in the staff attitudes. Not bad, but not positive either 3. The hotel was what I expected. It was very nautical and there were elements in the room i loved. The light switches, windows, if the toilet handle had not broken off in my hand, I would have loved it. There could be so many great things about this hotel with some cleaning and TLC. Again, a management/ownership issue. It was a shame to see such a great vessel used, abused and profited on but not given any real re-investment. I guess I should be ashamed for complaining with the price was so cheap but really, I'd have paid more for the experience worthy of the memory of the Queen Mary. NOTE: I marked that I would recommend this hotel to a friend but i would not be selling it. If heard a friend was going to go, I would be sure to explain all the bad and recommend a tour. The only reason to even remotely recommend is because of the novelty. I've now talked myself out of marking I'd recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JMH1
NY, NY
Jun 8, 2013

Neat Experience

Small rooms, cool experience. A bit pricey, but I had never stayed on a boat before, so it was worth doing once.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grad's Mommie
Gilroy
Jun 5, 2013

Celebration of College Gracuation & Our Anniversary of first meeting one another 30+ years ago.

Hotel has a great deal of interesting history and tours, quaint, clean, and hotel staff very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cord195148
San jose, CA
Jun 3, 2013

Weekend of history

Had a wonderful time investigating the old-world splendor. Can only imagine the cruises of the time. great food throughout, weather to boot, friendly and helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

There is a piano bar and lounge in Sir Winston's restaurant, that is not advertised. Don't miss it. You don't have to have dinner to enjoy it.

Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BJJ Traveler
ATX
Jun 3, 2013

A ghost sighting would have made the stay worth it.

Awful. Awful. Awful. I will never ever stay at this hotel if I can help it. The front desk staff was helpful and nice as was the head housekeeper but that is were it ended. I had a rude bartender, maitree and the staff at the "we serve starbucks" marketplace. by the way, the coffee isn't starbucks and if it is, it isn't made to Starbucks standards. They nickel and dime you for every little thing. the cost of foods is rediculous, there is nothing good to do on the ship and if you stay there you must get a rental and pay $17 per night to park. I take it back, this hotel is so not worth the cost even with a ghost sighting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Long Beach Cafe on Ocean Blvd has the best breakfast! I sure everything is good but we only had breakfast there. Bring an appetite and a little cash because the poritions are huge but the prices are small (for Long Beach ;) )

Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KerryA
Wisconsin
May 31, 2013

Queen Mary

We Went to Long Beach to celebrate our sons college graduation and stayed on the Queen Mary. The room was very spacious for a 'cruise ship'! We also had dinner at Chelsea's restaurant on the ship. #awesome dinner# We really enjoyed the trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Guardian
Texas, USA
May 19, 2013

nice hotel

We stayed four nights, very nice one time experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RG traveler
Naperville, IL
May 16, 2013

Hidden in Long Beach

Entered into a memorable past... The Queen Mary. The surprise is that is a floating hotel in the heart of Long Beach. Their restaurants and Diana exhibit added a special touch of yesteryear.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top