$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 20, 2014 Check-out: Apr 21, 2014

Queen Mary Hotel

3 stars
1126 Queen Highway, Long Beach, CA 90802
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
271 reviews
Perfect for my birthday

The beds were extremely comfortable and the staff was very friendly. See full review

  • Pimpmitch49
  • Mar 22, 2014
Nice mini getaway

I truly enjoyed myself aboard the queen mary hotel!!!! Because you're on a shop it feels like a... See full review

  • Whachu Talkin bout Willis
  • Mar 13, 2014
This Los Angeles steamship hotel is a grand icon of 1930s

Stay aboard one of the most famous ocean liners in the world. The 75-year-old Queen Mary Hotel is a rare historic relic with functional hotel rooms, shops, spa and restaurants. She last sailed in Dec. 1967 and is permanently docked without an engine in Long Beach Harbor. Stay in vintage staterooms, wander her decks and learn of Winston Churchill, ghost stories and the Art Deco era. Dine in luxury with a view of the glowing Los Angeles skyline. Guests of the Queen Mary Hotel make use of the fitness center.

Highlights
  • Three decks of original preserved staterooms
  • Fitness center
  • On the National Register of Historic Places
  • Full-service spa
  • Pet friendly (fees apply)
Location

The Queen Mary Hotel is located in Long Beach Harbor, a convenient base for a southern California vacation. Proximity to 110 and 405 freeways is ideal for traveling both north and south.

Rooms

The Queen Mary Hotel features 314 tastefully preserved interiors with built-in furnishings, original wood paneling and 1930s artwork. Rooms are modernized with pillow-tops, iPod docks, Wi-Fi (fees apply), flat-screen satellite TVs and air conditioning. Sleep up to four people in comfortable rooms. Porthole windows, expanded sitting areas and refrigerators are available. The Queen Mary Hotel is 100 percent smoke free.

Features

In the golden days of steamship travel the Queen Mary carried movie stars and dignitaries to ports like New York, Singapore and Sydney. Later she transported 15,000 World War II troops. Roam the vast ship or join guided historic, design, wartime and paranormal tours. The Queen Mary Hotel offers a spa and fitness center on the main deck.

Dining

The seven eateries aboard the Queen Mary Hotel include a sustainable seafood restaurant and acclaimed Sunday champagne brunch held in the original first-class dining room. The 1930s vibe is alive with classic cocktails and fancy dinners at Sir Winston's and the Observation Bar. Grab kid-friendly fare at a deli and smoothie shop. Room service is available at the Queen Mary Hotel.

Transportation
  • Los Angeles International Airport (23 mi/37 km)
  • Long Beach Airport (11.3 mi/18.2 km)
  • Long Beach Harbor (adjacent)
  • Pacific Metro stop (blue line) (2.2 mi/3.5 km)
Attractions
  • Hollywood (31.9 mi/51.3 km)
  • Seal Beach (8 mi/12.9 km)
  • Staples Center (24.8 mi/39.8 km)
  • Disneyland (27.1 mi/43.6 km)
  • Long Beach Aquarium of the Pacific (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • 80,000 square feet of restored Art Deco event space
  • Event planning
  • Catering
Policies and Fees
  • Credit card is required at check-in. Guest must be 21 years of age to register.
  • Valid ID is required.
  • Valet parking is USD $20 plus tax per day.
  • Overnight parking is USD $17 per day plus tax .
  • There is a USD $14.95 facilities fee that includes Wi-Fi access.
  • A self-service business center is located in the lobby area.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Queen Mary Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Room
Each cabin has a king bed or 2 twin beds and is uniquely appointed and embellishments vary to include rich wood paneling art deco build-ins, original artwork and of course portholes for outside rooms. These elegant rooms were once reserved only for first class passengers, on their long trip across the Atlantic. Now you too can relax in style. All first class rooms are decorated in 1930s Art Deco, and have 85% of their original wood paneling.
Standard Room
Inside staterooms are perfect if you're looking for a place where you can relax, uninterrupted. Our windowless inside rooms, at the heart of the ship, will let you catch up on your sleep, no matter what time of day. Each room contains large, original Art Deco mirrors instead of portholes.

Amenities

  • Free internet
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Queen Mary Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

33.7522 -118.1911
Area served
Long Beach, CA
Nearby airports
(LAX) Los Angeles International (LGB) Long Beach Municipal
Area description
Nearby attractions include Disneyland, Knott's Berry Farm, Santa Monica, Hollywood, Beverly Hills, Universal Studios Hollywood, Catalina Island, Venice Beach.

Nearby points of interest

  • Walter Pyramid: 5 mi

Dining

Sir Winston's
Continental west coast cuisine, a favorite among the city's business and social elite. 2003 Zagat Survey: "People's Choice" Award.
Promenade Cafe
American restaurant, features a menu ranging from full meals to light salads and sandwiches.
Hollywood Deli
Specializing in sandwiches, fresh salads, thick crust pizza, and fabulous pastries.
Starboard Bakery
Come enjoy an espresso or cappuccino drink, fresh-baked scones, tarts, biscotti, pastries, ice cream, smoothies, and souvenir items.
The Chelsea
Our seafood specialty restaurant where each meal captures the fresh, unique fare by our Award Winning Chef.
Observation Bar
One of the Queen's preserved landmarks with majestic mural, nickel railing and touchier lighting entertainment, outdoor patio, views of city skyline and California coast.
Champagne Sunday Brunch
The Grand Salon, the ship's original first class dining room, is the elegant setting for the spectacular Sunday brunch starring more than 50 world class entrees and an amazing dessert station.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (271)

Ratings and reviews for Queen Mary Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
271 out of 271
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.7

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Cord195148
San jose, CA
Jun 3, 2013

Weekend of history

Had a wonderful time investigating the old-world splendor. Can only imagine the cruises of the time. great food throughout, weather to boot, friendly and helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

There is a piano bar and lounge in Sir Winston's restaurant, that is not advertised. Don't miss it. You don't have to have dinner to enjoy it.

Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

1
BJJ Traveler
ATX
Jun 3, 2013

A ghost sighting would have made the stay worth it.

Awful. Awful. Awful. I will never ever stay at this hotel if I can help it. The front desk staff was helpful and nice as was the head housekeeper but that is were it ended. I had a rude bartender, maitree and the staff at the "we serve starbucks" marketplace. by the way, the coffee isn't starbucks and if it is, it isn't made to Starbucks standards. They nickel and dime you for every little thing. the cost of foods is rediculous, there is nothing good to do on the ship and if you stay there you must get a rental and pay $17 per night to park. I take it back, this hotel is so not worth the cost even with a ghost sighting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Long Beach Cafe on Ocean Blvd has the best breakfast! I sure everything is good but we only had breakfast there. Bring an appetite and a little cash because the poritions are huge but the prices are small (for Long Beach ;) )

Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

4
KerryA
Wisconsin
May 31, 2013

Queen Mary

We Went to Long Beach to celebrate our sons college graduation and stayed on the Queen Mary. The room was very spacious for a 'cruise ship'! We also had dinner at Chelsea's restaurant on the ship. #awesome dinner# We really enjoyed the trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Guardian
Texas, USA
May 19, 2013

nice hotel

We stayed four nights, very nice one time experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

4
RG traveler
Naperville, IL
May 16, 2013

Hidden in Long Beach

Entered into a memorable past... The Queen Mary. The surprise is that is a floating hotel in the heart of Long Beach. Their restaurants and Diana exhibit added a special touch of yesteryear.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Hubert Food Connoisseur
Business
Huntsville, AL
May 11, 2013

Unusual experience staying on a ship

The Promenade Cafe and both restaurants were outstanding both as regards food as well as service. The carpet in the room could have been cleaner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Don't miss the excellent food at the cafe and restaurants.

Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

4
golfermike
Manassas, VA
Apr 26, 2013

Acommodating staff... but the Parking$!!

The room was cool - the front desk did everything possible to make us welcome and compensate us for some of the shortcomings of the maid service (perhaps they're understaffed?). Our only complaint is having to pay $17/night to self-park our car!! The parking lot was right next to the valet parking lot so, we saved $5/night self-parking our car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

4
FJM in Maine
Near Portland, Maine
Apr 25, 2013

One of a kind accommodations with some compromises

We greatly enjoyed our stay on board the RMS QUEEN MARY. It must be said at the outset that our room was fairly small, and the furnishings somewhat basic. But what would you expect for a ship's stateroom built in the 1930s! Nevertheless, the room was comfortable, clean and well maintained. The staff and service were very good. And the setting just can't be beat! After waking and having breakfast in the morning, we spent hours touring the ship. We would have happily spent more time on board, but had to catch a ferry to Catalina. Overall a fascinating and enjoyable stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The former Soviet attack submarine SCORPION is right next to the RMS QUEEN MARY, and definitely worthwhile. It was not at all crowded and facilities like the torpedo room, bridge, engine room and crew accommodations are extensively accessible to those who go on board. Guests on the QUEEN MARY receive a discount on admissions to the SCORPION.

Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

2
Pleased with the hotel
California, USA
Apr 24, 2013

Parking

First time staying at the Queen Mary Hotel. My wife found the cost beyond our hotel room was outrages. #1 was the cost of parking of 17.00 dollars when your a guest at the hotel was not good. Most places my wife and I stay at...Parking is free. In addition, The room 153 was terrible, we could hear the person in the next room snoring and we could hear them talking. We will not be staying here and would not recommend this for any of our friends. When we come to Long Beach we will be staying at Hyatt or Hilton as we have in the past. Sorry about our review....But you ask us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

4
DBTraveler8811
Business
Long Beach, CA
Apr 18, 2013

Go for the experience

You could pick the Holiday Inn but can it claim to have carried troops in WWII? Rooms are a bit small but full of character. Still have the original fans, windows, etc. And they offer tours of the ship. Overall a very interesting and enlightening stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top