$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 4, 2015 Check-out: Jun 5, 2015

Queen Mary Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1126 Queen Highway, Long Beach, CA 90802

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Queen Mary Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
360 out of 360
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.7

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, Oregon
Jul 25, 2011

First Class in the 1930s!

The Queen Mary is special--full of history of the celebrities who traveled on her as well as her service transporting over 700,000 GIs during WWII. We took the self-guided tour ($5) and were fascinated by everything from ship details to stories of GIs who were transported by her to ghost sitings. We also danced to swing music at the Observation Bar on Sat night and enjoyed a fabulous brunch on Sun. morning. Our stateroom was comfortable and had original wood and details. However, it did need a few lightbulbs and the tub needed resurfacing. Overall though it is really fun to imagine you are just coming into Long Beach Harbor after crossing the sea. We loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Don't miss the Sunday brunch which is discounted if you are staying on board! The food is amazing and the guitarists are wonderful too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Somerset, NJ
Jul 25, 2011

Scary!!!

The hotel was great, you get to explore a really old ship, it was an experience sleeping in a haunted ship.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
BHC, AZ.
Jul 23, 2011

Take a cruise without leaving port.

Wonderful two porthole starboard king size bed room. Finished wood paneling, and everything else was exquisitely well kept. Dinner at Sir Winston's was outstanding. Highly recommended for a romantic getaway, without have to get out to sea.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Venice, CA
Jul 19, 2011

Great getaway for a night

I took my boyfriend away for the night for his birthday (we live just up the road in LA). We had a great time on the Queen Mary- there is a lot to enjoy- restaurants, tours, etc. But we mostly just enjoyed sitting out on the decks and looking out at the great views. The Observation Bar was fun at night and they had a good 1940's era band playing. It was a mostly touristy crowd with families during the day, but the bar got pretty happening at night and the drinks were great. The rooms weren't bad considering it's an old ship- very nostalgic if not haunted! My only complaint is that due to the make of such an old vessel be forewarned it's VERY loud and tough to sleep if you are a light sleeper. You can not only hear your neighbors, but also anyone else walking through the halls. Overall a great experience for 1 night and in a great location even if you wanted to get away to other things Long Beach has to offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 18, 2011

Heard voices on the Queen Mary.

We went to Shoreline Village for dinner before returning to our room for the evening. The location of the ship made it easy to board our cruise ship (Carnival Splendor) the next morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There was so much noise during the night of loud and rude people walking by our room. The people in the adjoining room came in late and were making so much noise that I had to go to the front desk and complain because they wouldn't quiet down even after I banged on the door. The staff was great at getting them to quiet down.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chino, CA
Jul 13, 2011

An adventure

This is definitely a place for tourists, children, or curious spectators. My boyfriend and I were bored at 3 am and just wandered the entire ship. No one cares that you meander. It's amazing for that very reason. We just climbed up random stairs and entered open doors. It was definitely an in-depth personal tour of the Queen Mary. As for the actual room, I did not get the room I paid for and the shower is weak. Beyond those two things, it was a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Try Forbidden City! It's down the PCH, which is a ten min drive. Amazing food, brilliant service, and outstanding service!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dog show traveler
Business
Southern Colorado
Jul 4, 2011

Best Hotel for a dog show

Attended a board meeting and national dog show. Stayed on the ship the whole time because it is not easy to get off and back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

Shopped in hotel, could not shop outside because there was no way to get there without transportation.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dog show traveler
Business
Southern Colorado
Jul 4, 2011

Best Hotel for a dog show

Attended a board meeting and national dog show. Stayed on the ship the whole time because it is not easy to get off and back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

Shopped in hotel, could not shop outside because there was no way to get there without transportation.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, Ca
Jul 3, 2011

Back in Time

Had a great time. Felt as though we had traveled back in time. It wasn't just an overnight stay, staying on the Queen Mary was an adventure in itself. The room was clean, beds comfortable and it came with a mini self tour of the ship and engine room. We would definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

Plenty of places to eat on the ship, shopping and beautiful view of Long Beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mrs. Dudley Do Right
Business
Acampo, CA
Jul 1, 2011

Fantastic Getaway!

A wonderful place to stay! The staff were wonderful. The hotel rooms were awesome! Food was great and all the exhibits were amazing. We had a fabulous time and can't wait to come stay again!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top