$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 19, 2015 Check-out: Aug 20, 2015

Queen Mary Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1126 Queen Highway, Long Beach, CA 90802

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Queen Mary Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
329 out of 329
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.7

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NicoleFrz
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Dec 26, 2013

Great place for one or two nights!

This hotel is great because its rich in history and its unique because the hotel is a boat. Since it is rich in history they try to keep everything as authentic as possible but also means very thin walls so you can hear the people next to you. That was literally the only downfall. I ate at Chelsea's Chowder House which was very good and at the end of the year they have 10-20% off all their wine bottles so good deals. The boat does not have many restrictions so after dinner you can walk around the whole ship to get good views of downtown Long Beach and the harbor. If you are planning on an extended stay in the Los Angeles area I do not recommend this hotel. Spend one night here for novelty and to drop some dough on drinks and food but for any extended stay find a place closer and more centralized to LA city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shy bud
Business
Fontana
Dec 16, 2013

Fun time.

We really enjoyed this unique location. The rooms gave a feeling of traveling back in time. Staff was great. The walls were thin but we had expected this so it actually added to the nostalgic aspect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
seahag007
Business
wa
Dec 2, 2013

Queen Mary

Arrived at motel and we found things poorly marked for parking and such. Light bulbs were burnt out in room and the tub did not work..shower was awesome. No cream rinse or lotion so take your own. We had to use our own bars of soap. No tours were included with hotel stay everything is extra. when leaving received bill for parking which should have been free for hotel guests (silly me for thinking this way)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

don't expect much

Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lovely Home
Business
Agoura Hills, Ca
Nov 18, 2013

Could not sleep

The walls are paper thin, so you hear every sound from the rooms above you, and on both sides. The band was VERY LOUD, and did not stop playing till midnight. We hardly slept at all, even though we paid another $40.00 to upgrade our room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
john l111
Business
ontario
Nov 11, 2013

would not stay their again

we had no hot water. the room was cold and thermostat did not work, the fan in the bathroom ran all night could not sleep. we paid 200 dollars a night and another 200 on food and drinks you think they would pay for parking nope another 20.00 to park,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frank of Palm Springs
Business
Palm Springs,California
Oct 30, 2013

A visit for a milestone wedding anniversary

The Queen Mary is a ship; you mostly know it is a hotel, but it is a charming experience to be staying on a ship-hotel. It is well painted and kept up. The hotel staff was very knowledgeable,pleasant and followed up with promised materials. The cost was very reasonable considering the uniqueness of the experience . We have been on numerous cruises and we did not see this as a "been there-done that" experience, because of the history of the ship. The restaurants were fine, but the service was a hair slow. All in all we loved this as the place we chose to go on our wedding anniversary.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

go to the Cafe instead of the Tea Room for faster service, and the elegant upscale way they present cafe foods, like salads, burgers soup and the like. You really felt that you were eating gourmet.

Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Cali Wedding Photographer
Business
Sacramento, CA
Oct 24, 2013

not great for biz travelers

my room was not thoroughly cleaned. There were receipts and dirty tissues in the bed side drawers. There was no desk or table to work on while in the room. Also, the wi-fi was very hit and miss with connectivity and there is very little to no cell service in the room. Since this was a business trip for me it was very difficult to work in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BFL Whale watcher
Business
Bakersfield, CA
Oct 9, 2013

Queen Mary

The uniqueness of the historic Queen Mary makes it an outstanding experience. I've stayed in more exclusive hotels with regard to amenities, but this was a great and repeatable experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jules2013
Business
michigan
Oct 7, 2013

jules2013

LOVED THIS HOTEL , will def be back someday, loved the original look of our room to get a peak at the past, also great value for area

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mr b 412
Business
england
Oct 6, 2013

Queen Mary Oct '13

Promised plenty, delivered very little on all fronts. Our room leaked from the ceiling and had dated and time-weary decor. Bathroom was a poor affair, tarnished taps and neither modern nor authentic featured. Location is poor and you are charged a 'resort fee' which includes a tour despite being able to freely walk around the ship. Cafe and bar expensive and not all that nice. A new keyside attraction (some sort of fright-spectacular playing on the Mary's haunted status) seems to occur every 3 days and adds noise and cheapens the whole experience further. In short, high expectations, very poor return. Don't bother staying there, two or three hours walking around would be plenty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top