$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 24, 2015 Check-out: May 25, 2015

Queen Mary Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1126 Queen Highway, Long Beach, CA 90802

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
360 reviews
3 day getway

I absolutely loved the ship's history and charm. It was like staying the Titanic. The room was... See full review

  • Teri D.
  • May 19, 2015
Great place to stay

I have stayed there many of times, and just really enjoy every trip there. Nice pre cruise hotel... See full review

  • Looking6063
  • May 3, 2015
This Los Angeles steamship hotel is a grand icon of 1930s

Stay aboard one of the most famous ocean liners in the world. The 75-year-old Queen Mary Hotel is a rare historic relic with functional hotel rooms, shops, spa and restaurants. She last sailed in Dec. 1967 and is permanently docked without an engine in Long Beach Harbor. Stay in vintage staterooms, wander her decks and learn of Winston Churchill, ghost stories and the Art Deco era. Dine in luxury with a view of the glowing Los Angeles skyline. Guests of the Queen Mary Hotel make use of the fitness center.

Highlights
  • Three decks of original preserved staterooms
  • Fitness center
  • On the National Register of Historic Places
  • Full-service spa
  • Pet friendly (fees apply)
  • Parking (at cost)
Location

The Queen Mary Hotel is located in Long Beach Harbor, a convenient base for a southern California vacation. Proximity to 110 and 405 freeways is ideal for traveling both north and south.

Rooms

The Queen Mary Hotel features 314 tastefully preserved interiors with built-in furnishings, original wood paneling and 1930s artwork. Rooms are modernized with pillow-tops, iPod docks, Wi-Fi (fees apply), flat-screen satellite TVs and air conditioning. Sleep up to four people in comfortable rooms. Porthole windows, expanded sitting areas and refrigerators are available. The Queen Mary Hotel is 100 percent smoke free.

Features

In the golden days of steamship travel the Queen Mary carried movie stars and dignitaries to ports like New York, Singapore and Sydney. Later she transported 15,000 World War II troops. Roam the vast ship or join guided historic, design, wartime and paranormal tours. The Queen Mary Hotel offers a spa and fitness center on the main deck.

Dining

The seven eateries aboard the Queen Mary Hotel include a sustainable seafood restaurant and acclaimed Sunday champagne brunch held in the original first-class dining room. The 1930s vibe is alive with classic cocktails and fancy dinners at Sir Winston's and the Observation Bar. Grab kid-friendly fare at a deli and smoothie shop. Room service is available at the Queen Mary Hotel.

Transportation
  • Los Angeles International Airport (23 mi/37 km)
  • Long Beach Airport (11.3 mi/18.2 km)
  • Long Beach Harbor (adjacent)
  • Pacific Metro stop (blue line) (2.2 mi/3.5 km)
Attractions
  • Hollywood (31.9 mi/51.3 km)
  • Seal Beach (8 mi/12.9 km)
  • Staples Center (24.8 mi/39.8 km)
  • Disneyland (27.1 mi/43.6 km)
  • Long Beach Aquarium of the Pacific (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • 80,000 square feet of restored Art Deco event space
  • Event planning
  • Catering
Policies and Fees
  • Credit card is required at check-in. Guest must be 21 years of age to register.
  • Valid ID is required.
  • The hotel charges $20 USD for self parking and $22 USD for valet parking.
  • There is a USD $14.95 facilities fee that includes Wi-Fi access.
  • A self-service business center is located in the lobby area.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Queen Mary Hotel also booked these hotels.

Queen Mary Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Room
Each cabin has a king bed or 2 twin beds and is uniquely appointed and embellishments vary to include rich wood paneling art deco build-ins, original artwork and of course portholes for outside rooms. These elegant rooms were once reserved only for first class passengers, on their long trip across the Atlantic. Now you too can relax in style. All first class rooms are decorated in 1930s Art Deco, and have 85% of their original wood paneling.
Standard Room
Inside staterooms are perfect if you're looking for a place where you can relax, uninterrupted. Our windowless inside rooms, at the heart of the ship, will let you catch up on your sleep, no matter what time of day. Each room contains large, original Art Deco mirrors instead of portholes.

Amenities

  • Free internet
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Walter Pyramid: 5 mi

Dining

Sir Winston's
Continental west coast cuisine, a favorite among the city's business and social elite. 2003 Zagat Survey: "People's Choice" Award.
Promenade Cafe
American restaurant, features a menu ranging from full meals to light salads and sandwiches.
Hollywood Deli
Specializing in sandwiches, fresh salads, thick crust pizza, and fabulous pastries.
Starboard Bakery
Come enjoy an espresso or cappuccino drink, fresh-baked scones, tarts, biscotti, pastries, ice cream, smoothies, and souvenir items.
The Chelsea
Our seafood specialty restaurant where each meal captures the fresh, unique fare by our Award Winning Chef.
Observation Bar
One of the Queen's preserved landmarks with majestic mural, nickel railing and touchier lighting entertainment, outdoor patio, views of city skyline and California coast.
Champagne Sunday Brunch
The Grand Salon, the ship's original first class dining room, is the elegant setting for the spectacular Sunday brunch starring more than 50 world class entrees and an amazing dessert station.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Queen Mary Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
360 out of 360
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.7

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Teri D.
Business
Kalispell
May 19, 2015

3 day getway

I absolutely loved the ship's history and charm. It was like staying the Titanic. The room was small and quaint, not luxurious, but clean and comfortable. There is a free bus that leaves the ship every 15 minutes and does a complete route through Long Beach and was our only means of transportation. I would do it again in a heartbeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rocking in the Free World
Business
Greensburg
May 14, 2015

Cool history, but super out dated

This was a super cool experience, but I was really hoping for a more updated room etc. I know it is a historical ship, but I was not expecting something so old. I would stay again though - food and beer were excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Looking6063
Business
Waianae
May 3, 2015

Great place to stay

I have stayed there many of times, and just really enjoy every trip there. Nice pre cruise hotel for Carnival cruises. Good food and very nice bar. I will always stay there before going on Carnival or Princess cruise lines. Thank you

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Timothy K.
Business
N/A
Apr 25, 2015

Back to the days of empire

Arrived on Monday Easter almost had the ship to ourselves and were able tun explore. The cabins are magnificent the biggest bed with 6 soft pillows. Service on board is 2nd to none.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kristy W.
Business
Bloomington
Apr 18, 2015

Don't come!!

The worst experience in life. Really scary place to stay for a night. The fire alarm went off again and again and last for almost 2-3 hours until 2am. Terrible experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rachel W.
Business
N/A
Apr 12, 2015

A Night Away

Staying at The Queen Mary Hotel was fun & way more interesting then staying at a regular hotel! Two thumbs way up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sandra K.
Business
N/A
Feb 24, 2015

Bittersweet stay

Was really neat to stay on the ship. Staff didn't inform us of the tour times & when we asked about it we were told there was only 10 minutes left to do it so it was too late. That's the part I was looking most forward to, so was very disappointed by that. Staff was helpful, but only when directly asked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Robert A.
Business
N/A
Feb 13, 2015

Shabby Chic!

The hotel is dated and worn, but...that's part of its history and charm! If you're looking for an upscale ritzy hotel with lots of amenities, then The Queen Mary Hotel isn't for you! But...if your looking for Old World Charm and living a little piece of History, then it's Perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sHELVY
Business
Indianapolis
Feb 11, 2015

Great trip

I loved the ship. The food is expensive but the shuttle van will take you across the bay to where the cheap restaurants and 7 eleven is. You may have to walk. But I loved the value if the rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kerry S.
Business
N/A
Feb 11, 2015

Enjoyed our stay on the Queen Mary!

Recently spent four days and three nights aboard the Queen Mary. I loved the original decor and the unique experience staying aboard the ship provided. While on board, we did the Ghost Tour, viewed the Princess Diana exhibit and did some shopping. Walking around the Promenade deck with a cup of coffee from the Midship Market was a great way to start the morning. We also enjoyed eating at the Promenade Cafe-kudos to the staff there for the very original banana split! While in Long Beach we also did the Gray Whale Tour, the Harbor Tour and visited the Long Beach Aquarium. There were many great shops and local eateries and we felt that the area had a lot to offer and enjoyed the Queen Mary as our "home base" for our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top