$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 23, 2014 Check-out: Nov 24, 2014

Queen Mary Hotel

3 stars
1126 Queen Highway, Long Beach, CA 90802
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
319 reviews
So much history.....had no idea.

Went to Long Beach on business and booked this hotel on price. Had no idea the story and history... See full review

  • KCarson
  • Sep 7, 2014
Cruise queen

Loving cruise ships, it does not get better than staying on the original Queen Mary. Dinner at Sir... See full review

  • Quick Overnight Stayer
  • Aug 12, 2014
This Los Angeles steamship hotel is a grand icon of 1930s

Stay aboard one of the most famous ocean liners in the world. The 75-year-old Queen Mary Hotel is a rare historic relic with functional hotel rooms, shops, spa and restaurants. She last sailed in Dec. 1967 and is permanently docked without an engine in Long Beach Harbor. Stay in vintage staterooms, wander her decks and learn of Winston Churchill, ghost stories and the Art Deco era. Dine in luxury with a view of the glowing Los Angeles skyline. Guests of the Queen Mary Hotel make use of the fitness center.

Highlights
  • Three decks of original preserved staterooms
  • Fitness center
  • On the National Register of Historic Places
  • Full-service spa
  • Pet friendly (fees apply)
Location

The Queen Mary Hotel is located in Long Beach Harbor, a convenient base for a southern California vacation. Proximity to 110 and 405 freeways is ideal for traveling both north and south.

Rooms

The Queen Mary Hotel features 314 tastefully preserved interiors with built-in furnishings, original wood paneling and 1930s artwork. Rooms are modernized with pillow-tops, iPod docks, Wi-Fi (fees apply), flat-screen satellite TVs and air conditioning. Sleep up to four people in comfortable rooms. Porthole windows, expanded sitting areas and refrigerators are available. The Queen Mary Hotel is 100 percent smoke free.

Features

In the golden days of steamship travel the Queen Mary carried movie stars and dignitaries to ports like New York, Singapore and Sydney. Later she transported 15,000 World War II troops. Roam the vast ship or join guided historic, design, wartime and paranormal tours. The Queen Mary Hotel offers a spa and fitness center on the main deck.

Dining

The seven eateries aboard the Queen Mary Hotel include a sustainable seafood restaurant and acclaimed Sunday champagne brunch held in the original first-class dining room. The 1930s vibe is alive with classic cocktails and fancy dinners at Sir Winston's and the Observation Bar. Grab kid-friendly fare at a deli and smoothie shop. Room service is available at the Queen Mary Hotel.

Transportation
  • Los Angeles International Airport (23 mi/37 km)
  • Long Beach Airport (11.3 mi/18.2 km)
  • Long Beach Harbor (adjacent)
  • Pacific Metro stop (blue line) (2.2 mi/3.5 km)
Attractions
  • Hollywood (31.9 mi/51.3 km)
  • Seal Beach (8 mi/12.9 km)
  • Staples Center (24.8 mi/39.8 km)
  • Disneyland (27.1 mi/43.6 km)
  • Long Beach Aquarium of the Pacific (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • 80,000 square feet of restored Art Deco event space
  • Event planning
  • Catering
Policies and Fees
  • Credit card is required at check-in. Guest must be 21 years of age to register.
  • Valid ID is required.
  • Valet parking is USD $20 plus tax per day.
  • Overnight parking is USD $17 per day plus tax .
  • There is a USD $14.95 facilities fee that includes Wi-Fi access.
  • A self-service business center is located in the lobby area.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

33.7522 -118.1911
Area served
Long Beach, CA
Nearby airports
(LAX) Los Angeles International (LGB) Long Beach Municipal
Area description
Nearby attractions include Disneyland, Knott's Berry Farm, Santa Monica, Hollywood, Beverly Hills, Universal Studios Hollywood, Catalina Island, Venice Beach.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Queen Mary Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Queen Mary Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Room
Each cabin has a king bed or 2 twin beds and is uniquely appointed and embellishments vary to include rich wood paneling art deco build-ins, original artwork and of course portholes for outside rooms. These elegant rooms were once reserved only for first class passengers, on their long trip across the Atlantic. Now you too can relax in style. All first class rooms are decorated in 1930s Art Deco, and have 85% of their original wood paneling.
Standard Room
Inside staterooms are perfect if you're looking for a place where you can relax, uninterrupted. Our windowless inside rooms, at the heart of the ship, will let you catch up on your sleep, no matter what time of day. Each room contains large, original Art Deco mirrors instead of portholes.

Amenities

  • Free internet
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Walter Pyramid: 5 mi

Dining

Sir Winston's
Continental west coast cuisine, a favorite among the city's business and social elite. 2003 Zagat Survey: "People's Choice" Award.
Promenade Cafe
American restaurant, features a menu ranging from full meals to light salads and sandwiches.
Hollywood Deli
Specializing in sandwiches, fresh salads, thick crust pizza, and fabulous pastries.
Starboard Bakery
Come enjoy an espresso or cappuccino drink, fresh-baked scones, tarts, biscotti, pastries, ice cream, smoothies, and souvenir items.
The Chelsea
Our seafood specialty restaurant where each meal captures the fresh, unique fare by our Award Winning Chef.
Observation Bar
One of the Queen's preserved landmarks with majestic mural, nickel railing and touchier lighting entertainment, outdoor patio, views of city skyline and California coast.
Champagne Sunday Brunch
The Grand Salon, the ship's original first class dining room, is the elegant setting for the spectacular Sunday brunch starring more than 50 world class entrees and an amazing dessert station.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (319)

Ratings and reviews for Queen Mary Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
319 out of 319
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.7

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Roofwarrior
Chicago Burbs
Nov 5, 2012

Anniversary

Everyone was absolutely wonderful,from our arrival to departure,things could not have been more pleasant. Room was clean,food was excellent,nightlife was beyond description. Maureen and The Five Mercury's was the highlight of Saturday night. What a surprise,and I mean a surprise. Will stay there again when back in S.California.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure to be in the lounge on Saturday night,one will not be disappointed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LongSLeang
Business
SF
Nov 15, 2014

romatic

This place have a lot of nice view, and take a lot of good picture and side seeing. The room setting was very nice classic and very romantic. Very good place for couple getaway. The bed was a little to small but very nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mira The Traveler
Business
SF bay, California
Nov 12, 2014

Quite unique experiences but poor service!

It was a good experience to spend a night in a such a large ship full of history especially for my daughter. You can't learn that from any book. Anyway I quite disappointed that the hotel could not even provide hot water or free coffee stand at the lobby and I could not get a phone connection to the room service , the line kept getting busy signal and the front desk was not helpful at all. I think it would be fair to at least give us a free parking for hotel guest since we pay a lot for the room already.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jax Skywalker
Business
Long Beach, CA
Oct 31, 2014

Great staycation!

As a Long Beach native the Queen Mary is a part of our day to day. I had never stayed at the hotel, but decided to splurge on a one day staycation. The staff was great, the rooms are impeccable, and the location is spectacular. As soon as I walked in to the room, I felt transported to a different era, I loved that this was turning into an experience. We went to the Observation Bar for drinks and appetizer and it was just delightful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Parking is a bit pricey at $17 overnight.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
j415
Business
LA
Oct 25, 2014

nice night on the Queen, but

we have stayed on the Queen Mary a number of times before. as always, our room was nice, with a comfortable bed. we are used to there being more room to room noise than in most hotels. however, it struck us as wrong that we were not informed until we checked in (and had nowhere else to go) (prepaid through Orb) that they were hosting a Halloween haunted area right outside the ship which was very noisy and ran until 1 a.m. we were told it would be noisy and we could spend more money to upgrade our room but it would still be noisy. it wasn't terrible and we got to sleep, but it was noisy. i think Orb owes it to us to tell us there is a special circumstance that can seriously interfere with our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Traveleor Dee
Business
Columbus OH
Oct 22, 2014

Historic = Old Hotel

Very disappointed in this experience. This may be an historic ship but it needs to be a museum not a hotel. Carpets, most furniture were dirty. Staff were all very personable and courteous but cannot fix something this broken. Entire ship needs to be remodeled where guests stay. Stayed with a group that had a gathering on Sports Deck. Staff gathered up a personal extension cord and after 5 days still no one could tell me about it. No communication between various departments. I'm writing the parent company - I want my property back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

stay at a budget hotel and visit the ship if you wish, but don't waste your money to stay there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anthony Relax Ambassador
Business
Cedar Hill Tx
Oct 9, 2014

First Time visit to California and The Queen Mary

The Queen Mary was charming, The boat was nice and the lobby took you back to the time the boat sailed the oceans.The bed was comfortable , and huge.The linen was clean and soft. I was preparing my wife to be on a boat on the open water, so this was a great opportunity for her to get her sea legs without having to leave the bay.The food was pricey so we had most of our meals, just across the bay in Long Beach. For the most part our stay was nice, Dark Habour festival was going on at the time so the weekend was a little noisy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Lot of nice restaurant in down town Long Beach Panama Joe's 10 mins from the boat , had good Mexican dishes TV's in every booth

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HowieLun
Business
Los Angeles
Oct 5, 2014

Nice hotel overall

It was nice getting to stay this majestic ship with rich history. Nice room overall and friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pink squirrel
Business
Detroit, MI
Sep 16, 2014

Something different

It is something that you don't do every day!! It's a near 100 year old ship, so it's not the same as the Hilton!! But what it does have is unique, and gives you a feel of history in your hands. The rooms were all cool little cubes that at first felt small, but it actually felt cozy at free a bit. The bed was heavenly ! Take the experience for what it is, get out of it what's there. They had tons of things to do exhibits and dinners it was a good overall experience ! All the food was good price and top notch that I had as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Just take time walk through things like your not in a big hurry tgere are millions of things to see!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TravelerIA
Business
Iowa
Sep 14, 2014

Interesting

It was interesting to look around, and Sir Winston's restaurant had absolutely amazing food, but the rooms had no air or heat and felt humid and musty. Great to visit and see all the history, but not sure I would actually stay on board again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jaime S
Business
Las Vegas, Nevada
Sep 11, 2014

great experience

The only negative is the price. However, if you don't mind spending the money, the experience is amazing. perfect place to watch a sunrise as well!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top