$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 21, 2015 Check-out: Jun 22, 2015

Hyatt the Pike, Long Beach

4 stars
View map of 285 Bay Street, Long Beach, CA 90802

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hyatt the Pike, Long Beach

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
62 out of 62
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hyatt the Pike, Long Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MKB
Business
San Diego, CA
Nov 21, 2010

Avia Long Beach

Great stay. Suite was not large but suited our needs for a short visit. Rooftop pool was a bonus, great view, uncrowded, well-maintained. Lots to do within walking distance. Great place to stay to see Aquarium of the Pacific. Movie theatre next door as well as harbor sights very accessible. We were pleasantly surprised.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Aquarium of the Pacific is worth a visit. Kids loved it.

Review of Hyatt the Pike, Long Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MKB
Business
San Diego, CA
Nov 21, 2010

Avia Long Beach

Great stay. Suite was not large but suited our needs for a short visit. Rooftop pool was a bonus, great view, uncrowded, well-maintained. Lots to do within walking distance. Great place to stay to see Aquarium of the Pacific. Movie theatre next door as well as harbor sights very accessible. We were pleasantly surprised.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Aquarium of the Pacific is worth a visit. Kids loved it.

Review of Hyatt the Pike, Long Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Love to getaway
Business
San Diego, CA
Oct 18, 2010

Awesome getaway and unbeatable location

This was great from the arrival through the departure. We arrived a few minutes early and the staff was wonderful. Staff was very friendly, considerate and professional throughout our stay.The restaurant staff was likewise delightful and the food excellent. Location is unbeatable! A new hotel that is smoke & pet free! Rooms are very tastefully designed and comfortable including the bed! We both agreed the bed was the most comfortable of all we've experienced. You can't lose with this one and the rate we got was fascinating!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Practically everything is right there or a short walking distance.

Review of Hyatt the Pike, Long Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Marcos, CA.
Jul 29, 2010

Avia Hotel Review

It was my boyfriends and I first year anniversary and we decided to pick a place based on the photos. We both thought the Hotel was beautiful once entered, and from the photos off the website the rooms and the pool looked incredible. The staff was friendly but didn't explain everything to us i.e the elevators and the pool details. We spent the majority of our time up at the pool on the top floor with breath taking views of the Long Beach Harbor. Unfortunately they allow non hotel guests to come up so there were a lot of children very noisy and not enough lounge chairs. We then decided to go out for food although the hotel bar and restaurant looked very inviting we wanted to explore the city. We then came back to the room and wanted to unwind with a movie and soon realized there were no movie channels. All in all the room was very nice a bit noisy, (you can hear the other showers turn all in the rooms next door) the service was friendly but I don't think it was worth $173.00 +tax. We will definitely stay somewhere else next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hyatt the Pike, Long Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fun in thesun seeker
Business
salt lake city utah
Jul 27, 2010

Beautiful quiet city with plenty to do

It was great. Close to good food, entertainment, and a clean quiet city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hyatt the Pike, Long Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wise Family
Business
Venice, California
Jul 21, 2010

Avia Hotel Long Beach

My wife and I wanted to get a quick getaway for the weekend near friends and where we could spend time on the water. We looked at a number of Hotels in the area but were captivated by the Avia's offering. The rooms seemed a little pricey (over 300/night), but it looked from the pictures that it would be well worth it. Once at the hotel it seemed to lack what we thought we were getting, which was mainly a nice pool. The pool was very small and had very few places to lounge. They had 2 cabanas they wanted 400/day for that were a joke. The cabanas looked like something that they bought from Target during a big summer sale (ficker - "fake wicker"). No one had rented them and they could have provided 6 more lounge chairs in that unused space. Another issue was that the TV was not working. When I called to complain and suggested that they may need to reset the system, they instead sent an engineer to our room at 11:30 pm. I figure they could fix it on their end, and did not expect someone at our door that late when I was already in bed with my wife! On the plus side, the staff was great, the location was great, and the room was really nice, but looked bigger in the pictures. The shower was very nice, and included the water fall shower head as well as a hand held. There is a lot going on in the area at night, and there are launch ramps nearby to access the many marina activities. Essentially, I feel like I was a little duped on the pool by the great photos they posted, and I like the flat screen TV that swivels from sitting area to bed, but it was not working correctly as I mentioned previously. I may sound petty, but for that much per night we could have done better at the nearby Hyatt, but they did not many pictures posted of their pool area. Live and learn...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Laugh Factory is nearby, check ahead to see if a good act will be in town when you vistit

Review of Hyatt the Pike, Long Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
LONG BEACH
Jul 8, 2010

wOw SeRvIcE ChECk IT OUT

EXCEPTIONAL SERVICE AND AMMENITIES

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

PINE ST

Review of Hyatt the Pike, Long Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mrsbebe
Business
Lakewood, CA
Jun 29, 2010

Avia Rocks!

Very comfortable and clean, loved loved loved the pool area and location of the hotel. We actually live very close by but decided to go out to Long Beach to celebrate our 6yr Anniversary and stay the night to not worry about driving. Besides with the expensive it is to travel now a days this felt like a mini vacation away from home. We had the King bed room which is a bit small and there's no dresser just a closet and two night stands. They do have a comfy lil couch at the foot of the bed and two more chairs by the windows. I would probably spare the two chairs and put a dresser there instead or move the couch to that area to make the room appear more spacious. After all the bed and small couch are plenty of seating in a room that size. Overall great hotel walking distance to many restaurants, pier, beach, shopping etc. Great for sight seeing and taking pics....can't wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hyatt the Pike, Long Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Lee, NJ
Jun 25, 2010

Avia Hotel Long Beach, CA

Excellent place to stay! Very good location! Perfect service and accommodation! I stayed in that hotel twice and defiantly will come again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hyatt the Pike, Long Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
la mirada ca
Jun 21, 2010

Very nice place to stay

Amazingly great customer service,beautiful rooms and views from roof top bar/pool,Gay friendly staff,5 star linens,steaming hot showers. Would have liked for the food/drink prices to be a little less pricey, so you can really enjoy the hotel scenery. Maybe even a microwave so that you can heat up left overs...since some people eat every few hours buying becomes expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

2nd street in Belmont shores has a bunch of healthy places to eat at reasonable prices. Otherwise walking distance there are plenty of un-healthy choices.

Back to menu Return to top