$80 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 26, 2014 Check-out: Dec 27, 2014

Holiday Inn LONG BEACH (DWTN AREA)

3 stars
1133 Atlantic Avenue, Long Beach, CA 90813
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
62 reviews
perfect

Great location, great shuttle service, nice staff! See full review

  • Pillsbury
  • Mar 29, 2014
Family getaway

It was close to my Families Event. Room smelled musty but Overall it was ok. See full review

  • RedBug805
  • Jun 16, 2014
Visitors Love Long Beach Hotel's Downtown Location The Holiday Inn® Long Beach (Downtown Area) hotel is the place to stay when you're visiting this bustling Pacific Coast city. Offering a free shuttle service to within three miles radius from the Hotel and Long Beach Airport, Free 24 hrs wireless internet connection. In town for business? We're close to the St. Mary Medical Center, Boeing and Tesoro Refinery & Corporation. If you need to attend company seminars, you'll be glad to know the hotel is near Long Beach Convention & Entertainment Center, as well. And if you'd rather host a small meeting on site, three event rooms are available. Journey through the deep at the Aquarium of the Pacific with the kids, and then go shopping down the street on Pine Avenue or at Shoreline Village. Since the hotel is near Long Beach Convention Center, you can make it to events like the Grand Prix without a hassle. Don't forget that we also offer a shuttle to the Port of Long Beach for Carnival Cruise Package guests, and we're moments from the historic Queen Mary and CSULB. Plan your day with free Wi-Fi access, grab a hearty breakfast at Connect Café and then explore the area that surrounds the hotel's property in Long Beach, California. An outdoor pool and bubbling whirlpool offer the perfect places to unwind, too, so make reservations today for an unforgettable stay.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn LONG BEACH (DWTN AREA) also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Airline desk
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
FAX
Gift shop
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
DVD player
Outlet adapters
Temperature control

Nearby points of interest

  • Walter Pyramid: 4.1 mi

Dining

Connect Cafe
Our Brand New Connect Cafe offers a variety of fresh new option for breakfast and dinner. Dine or work in an inviting new athmosphere loaded with flat screen HD TV, Plug in for your mobile divices and free wifi. Enjoy our Seattle Best Coffee together with
L Opera
Classic Italian Cuisine
Kings Fish House
Great Seafood
Rock Bottom Brewery
American Food
Tequila Jacks
Mexican Food Restaurant overlooking the marina
Wokcano Asian Restaurant & Lounge
Asian Restaurant and Lounge and Entertainment
Sevilla
Spanish cuisine Night Club
Clubhouse Grill
The Clubhouse Bar serves a great selection of fine wines, as well as imported and domestic beers.
Blue Cafe
Full Bar & Live Blues/Jazz 7 Nights a Week!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (62)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn LONG BEACH (DWTN AREA)

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
12 out of 62
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3.8
Value:
4

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn LONG BEACH (DWTN AREA)

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pillsbury
Business
Colorado
Mar 29, 2014

perfect

Great location, great shuttle service, nice staff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Yard house!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn LONG BEACH (DWTN AREA)

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Business closer
Business
Nebraska
Jan 20, 2014

Hotel okay, staff needs more training!

We were in town for a convention. My employee stayed out later than I did; when he returned his room key did not work. He immediately went down to front desk and asked for his key to be reset. They told him that his key was not registered to any room and that since his name was not the one that booked the room, they could not give him a new key. On the surface of it, they manager may have followed proper protocal. My employee tried calling me in the room, however, I did not awake. I feel, since there was in fact a security guard on duty, a staff member could have came up to our room and knocked on the door, or simply escorted my employee to the room and made sure all was okay. Especially, since I did not answer the phone. Instead, my employee spent over half of his night sleeping on a couch in the corner of the lobby. I am not happy how this was handled by the night manager and I did inform the day manager upon check out. His only response was an apology and that he would have to talk to his staff about the situation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

The hotel offers a shuttle service to restaurants and night life near the pier.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn LONG BEACH (DWTN AREA)

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
patwin22
Business
Vancouver, WA, USA
Oct 24, 2011

a little old

the building is a bit on the 70's feeling when you enter the lobby and all the way to the room. I was thinking, man did I make the right decision? As i walked into the room, there I noticed new carpet, new tile floors in the bathroom, a nice LCD tv,(I expected a huge tube) and the most comfortable bed i have had in a hotel. The location was within minutes of the Longbeach Expo. The only problem was the hot & cold valves were switched on the bath sink, interesting tooth brushing experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn LONG BEACH (DWTN AREA)

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orlando, FL
Sep 17, 2010

Shuttle service was great

Was in Long Beach for a conference - hotel was fine, but overpriced due to the conference. While remodeled, the rooms are showing their age. Free shuttle service around Long Beach was a nice surprise!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn LONG BEACH (DWTN AREA)

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Long Beach convention travel
Business
Seattle, WA
Sep 17, 2010

Beware the late checkout fee

A typical Holiday Inn. Not fancy but serviceable. However, I cannot recommend this hotel. The checkout time is 2pm. I requested a later checkout 3pm and was denied. I was charged $50 for that one hour. Not cool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn LONG BEACH (DWTN AREA)

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
buffalo,ny
Mar 31, 2010

conference

they were very prompt with the shuttle service. good service all around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn LONG BEACH (DWTN AREA)

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bozeman, MT
Mar 23, 2010

Good overall

Overall, the hotel was average. It is on a busy street that had alot of activity - even at 2 am. It smelled like an old hotel that has tried very hard to get rid of the smell of stale smoke but just couldn't quite get there. The elevator had cracked flooring and there were various carpet stains throughout the hallways. But, the service of the staff made up for it. The servers and bartenders in the hotel's lounge were attentive, friendly and made eating in the lounge very enjoyable. It was very busy when I was there, but I felt like I was the only one in the place! If you like flashy, new, uber-clean and quiet hotels with a big pool, this place ain't it. But if an oldie-but-a-goodie will suffice with a friendly staff and reasonable price, this might be a good place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The beach is only about an easy 1 mile walk away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn LONG BEACH (DWTN AREA)

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kung fu Panda
Business
San Francisco, CA
Aug 7, 2009

3 guys 2 beds. We have a problem!

Told us we couldn't get a roll out bed for our third person because it was a fire hazard even though I had called Holiday Inn weeks prior and they said we could for $10 extra. They proceeded to give us a blanket and pillows for the third person to sleep on the floor. After over two hours with Cheap Tickets and finally with Holiday Inn Corporate we were able to get a second room for $10 per night. They eventually comped us that room because the toilet was leaking. We also had to go back to the front desk 4 times because our key wouldn't open the door. They did give us a few vouchers for breakfast. All in all, the rooms were descent for the price but it was just a rough start.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out yard House with over 100 beers. Also, there are beaches, you just have to drive or cab down the coast a bit.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn LONG BEACH (DWTN AREA)

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nashville, Tn
Jun 14, 2009

GREAT LOCATION

I was on business and the location worked well for me. The hotel offers shuttle to many restaurants on the water. The staff was extremely helpful. The onsite bar and grill made it nice to grab a quick meal as well

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn LONG BEACH (DWTN AREA)

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
May 21, 2009

Too many problems

I was there for 2 nights on business. First, my key card didn't work so I had to tote my luggage with me back to the lobby. Then I noticed a window open on a busy street, but the crank was broken so I couldn't shut it. The front desk sent up maintenance but, after 15 minutes of trying, declared it unfixable. A call to the front desk resulted in a room change about 15 minutes later. Then it turned out that the ice machine for my floor was broken. Another guest showed up with his ice bucket and said the only one working was 2 floors up. Plus it takes a really, really long time to get any warm/hot water. By the time I finally got settled, it was only about an hour before I needed to go to sleep. Fortunately, the next night I only had to deal with the ride up to the working ice machine and semi-warm water and, otherwise, enjoyed the hotel. It is very clean and comfortable but I'd say upkeep is not keeping up with general appearances.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top