$123 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

Holiday Inn LONG BEACH (DWTN AREA)

3 stars
View map of 1133 Atlantic Avenue, Long Beach, CA 90813

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
55 reviews
perfect

Great location, great shuttle service, nice staff! See full review

  • Pillsbury
  • Mar 29, 2014
Smooth Stay

Very friendly and helpful staff. Location is very practical See full review

  • Tino
  • Apr 12, 2015
Visitors Love Long Beach Hotel's Downtown Location The Holiday Inn® Long Beach (Downtown Area) hotel is the place to stay when you're visiting this bustling Pacific Coast city. Offering a free shuttle service to within three miles radius from the Hotel and Long Beach Airport, Free 24 hrs wireless internet connection. In town for business? We're close to the St. Mary Medical Center, Boeing and Tesoro Refinery & Corporation. If you need to attend company seminars, you'll be glad to know the hotel is near Long Beach Convention & Entertainment Center, as well. And if you'd rather host a small meeting on site, three event rooms are available. Journey through the deep at the Aquarium of the Pacific with the kids, and then go shopping down the street on Pine Avenue or at Shoreline Village. Since the hotel is near Long Beach Convention Center, you can make it to events like the Grand Prix without a hassle. Don't forget that we also offer a shuttle to the Port of Long Beach for Carnival Cruise Package guests, and we're moments from the historic Queen Mary and CSULB. Plan your day with free Wi-Fi access, grab a hearty breakfast at Connect Café and then explore the area that surrounds the hotel's property in Long Beach, California. An outdoor pool and bubbling whirlpool offer the perfect places to unwind, too, so make reservations today for an unforgettable stay.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn LONG BEACH (DWTN AREA) also booked these hotels.

★★★
$152
4.2 / 5 26 reviews
★★★
$152
3.6 / 5 28 reviews
★★★
$135
3.7 / 5 52 reviews
★★★
$89
3.1 / 5 42 reviews
★★
$75
3.0 / 5 32 reviews
★★
$58
3.8 / 5 57 reviews
★★
$74
3.4 / 5 34 reviews
★★
$59
2.4 / 5 69 reviews
★★★
$139
3.7 / 5 22 reviews

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Airline desk
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
FAX
Gift shop
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
DVD player
Outlet adapters
Temperature control

Nearby points of interest

  • Walter Pyramid: 4.1 mi

Dining

Connect Cafe
Our Brand New Connect Cafe offers a variety of fresh new option for breakfast and dinner. Dine or work in an inviting new athmosphere loaded with flat screen HD TV, Plug in for your mobile divices and free wifi. Enjoy our Seattle Best Coffee together with
L Opera
Classic Italian Cuisine
Kings Fish House
Great Seafood
Rock Bottom Brewery
American Food
Tequila Jacks
Mexican Food Restaurant overlooking the marina
Wokcano Asian Restaurant & Lounge
Asian Restaurant and Lounge and Entertainment
Sevilla
Spanish cuisine Night Club
Clubhouse Grill
The Clubhouse Bar serves a great selection of fine wines, as well as imported and domestic beers.
Blue Cafe
Full Bar & Live Blues/Jazz 7 Nights a Week!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn LONG BEACH (DWTN AREA)

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
55 out of 55
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3.4
Value:
3.8

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn LONG BEACH (DWTN AREA)

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BuddyH
Family
Arizona
May 3, 2013

Room Heavily Smoked In

We checked in expecting it to be nice , however, it wasn't as nice as the pictures seemed to be. The first thing I noticed was the worn carpet in the hallways, and then when we opened the door to our room, we got a heavy smell of cigarette smoke. We sat in the room trying to decide do we take a chance on another room here being the same or do we find another hotel. After viewing out the back window only to see how bad the neighborhood is, we quickly made reservations elsewhere. We went back downstairs to check out after being there only 20 minutes. The staff at the front desk didn't even ask why I was checking out or how was my stay or if they could do anything, they just said have a nice day your already pre-paid! I had to inform them of the smoke issue in the room. They didn't even care.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Holiday Inn LONG BEACH (DWTN AREA)

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Los Angeles, CA
Oct 18, 2010

Never going back.

This has nothing to do with the hotel staff, but all to do with the hotel location. It's in a borderline ghetto neighborhood. I've lived in the hood and I know this is not THAT bad, but next time I'll pay a little more to be closer to the airport and possibly a nicer area and hotel. There were questionable people using the computer in the lobby. The TV in the hotel was fuzzy, and the remote had duct tape holding the battery in place. Though the staff was nice, I'd just rather not come back to the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Holiday Inn LONG BEACH (DWTN AREA)

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Business closer
Business
Nebraska
Jan 20, 2014

Hotel okay, staff needs more training!

We were in town for a convention. My employee stayed out later than I did; when he returned his room key did not work. He immediately went down to front desk and asked for his key to be reset. They told him that his key was not registered to any room and that since his name was not the one that booked the room, they could not give him a new key. On the surface of it, they manager may have followed proper protocal. My employee tried calling me in the room, however, I did not awake. I feel, since there was in fact a security guard on duty, a staff member could have came up to our room and knocked on the door, or simply escorted my employee to the room and made sure all was okay. Especially, since I did not answer the phone. Instead, my employee spent over half of his night sleeping on a couch in the corner of the lobby. I am not happy how this was handled by the night manager and I did inform the day manager upon check out. His only response was an apology and that he would have to talk to his staff about the situation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

The hotel offers a shuttle service to restaurants and night life near the pier.

Review of Holiday Inn LONG BEACH (DWTN AREA)

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
No thank you Holiday Inn
Couples
Colorado
Jul 29, 2013

Wrong Way to Start Honeymoon

The hotel is under major construction which no one informed us of. Construction tarps hanging everywhere, the gym is relocated in an actual room, all of the floors are ripped up to bare concrete even on the 4th floor, and huge gaps along the room door so noises are very loud throughout the night. We only managed a couple of hours of sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Holiday Inn LONG BEACH (DWTN AREA)

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Dallas, TX
Mar 29, 2008

expected better

Between the jarring'70s scheme in the dining room and a constantly-running toilet in my room, this Holiday Inn Long Beach (Atlantic Ave) offered less than I'd hoped for in a comfy three-night stay. There was little to draw me into the lobby or public spaces: No cozy fireplace, little conversational seating, and office-like lighting overhead. Some major fluffing is in order here: It was like the dreary college dormitory you wish you'd never signed up for. Despite an unintentional-retro look, Holiday Inn Long Beach didn't lack for guests -- perhaps because of its proximity to a major urban hospital.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Holiday Inn LONG BEACH (DWTN AREA)

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
May 21, 2009

Too many problems

I was there for 2 nights on business. First, my key card didn't work so I had to tote my luggage with me back to the lobby. Then I noticed a window open on a busy street, but the crank was broken so I couldn't shut it. The front desk sent up maintenance but, after 15 minutes of trying, declared it unfixable. A call to the front desk resulted in a room change about 15 minutes later. Then it turned out that the ice machine for my floor was broken. Another guest showed up with his ice bucket and said the only one working was 2 floors up. Plus it takes a really, really long time to get any warm/hot water. By the time I finally got settled, it was only about an hour before I needed to go to sleep. Fortunately, the next night I only had to deal with the ride up to the working ice machine and semi-warm water and, otherwise, enjoyed the hotel. It is very clean and comfortable but I'd say upkeep is not keeping up with general appearances.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn LONG BEACH (DWTN AREA)

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Long Beach convention travel
Business
Seattle, WA
Sep 17, 2010

Beware the late checkout fee

A typical Holiday Inn. Not fancy but serviceable. However, I cannot recommend this hotel. The checkout time is 2pm. I requested a later checkout 3pm and was denied. I was charged $50 for that one hour. Not cool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn LONG BEACH (DWTN AREA)

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
USA
Jul 5, 2008

Bad Service

I had a bad experience with the TV service. My TV was not working properly, I was not able to order a movie I call twice to the front desk staff and they say they were going to fix it and send me a technician which never came. I called the hotel staff again and they gave an I don't care attitude.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Place is five minutes from the beach.

Review of Holiday Inn LONG BEACH (DWTN AREA)

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
sacramento, ca
Feb 8, 2010

Holiday Inn Long Beach

crummy neighborhood

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Holiday Inn LONG BEACH (DWTN AREA)

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
rberto
Friends
Italia
May 9, 2010

just for a few days

On the road but not so close to the main streets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Back to menu Return to top