$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 22, 2015 Check-out: May 25, 2015

Courtyard by Marriott Long Beach Downtown

3 stars
View map of 500, East First Street, Long Beach, CA 90802

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
32 reviews
Was a great catch up with friends

Hotel was very comfortable. The staff were very helpful. We were able to sit in hotel lounge ,drink... See full review

  • AZ Pianoman
  • Feb 18, 2015
Great stay in Long Beach

I really liked the location of the hotel. It was clean and simple. Nothing fancy, but it is close... See full review

  • Ben.178
  • Jan 15, 2015
Our Courtyard Long Beach, California hotel offers a convenient space in the heart of downtown. Enjoy a prime location within walking distance of gorgeous beaches, the Convention Center, Long Beach Arena and the Performing Arts Center. Nearby, you will also find Pine Avenue, The Pike, Shoreline Village, and the Aquarium of the Pacific. Back at our downtown Long Beach hotel enjoy a delicious meal at our restaurant, James Republic, serving modern California coastal cuisine. Feel at home in our spacious guest rooms with luxury Marriott bedding, in-room beverages, and more. Business travelers at our hotel in Long Beach, CA can stay focused with a large work desk, an ergonomic chair and complimentary high-speed internet access. Take advantage of downtime when it arises with our on-site amenities including an outdoor pool and fitness center. Planning a meeting? Our hotel near the Long Beach Convention Center offers nearly 7,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, full AV capabilities and an expert event staff.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard by Marriott Long Beach Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Water skiing
Horseback riding
Scuba diving
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Walter Pyramid: 4.3 mi

Dining

James Republic
Farm to table concept dictated by fresh seasonal ingredients.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott Long Beach Downtown

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
32 out of 32
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Long Beach Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AZ Pianoman
Business
N/A
Feb 18, 2015

Was a great catch up with friends

Hotel was very comfortable. The staff were very helpful. We were able to sit in hotel lounge ,drink wine,eat desert and catch up with some dear friends. Great location. Walking distant to lots of restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Long Beach Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ben.178
Business
Long Beach
Jan 15, 2015

Great stay in Long Beach

I really liked the location of the hotel. It was clean and simple. Nothing fancy, but it is close to shopping, restaurants, and the beach. The hotel has bikes for use at no charge which was an awesome perk . Only complaint is no continental breakfast. Overall great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Long Beach Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kim M.
Business
N/A
Jan 6, 2015

Family Trip

We stayed two night at this hotel. It is walking distance from many places to eat. Nice staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want to see LA book your trip with "Sunseekers", they come directly to the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Long Beach Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
pa32dude
Business
Portland, OR
Dec 8, 2014

Semi-upscale in the heart of Long Beach

Great location in downtown Long Beach, short walk to many good restaurants & bars. This place is a little more upscale than some of the hotels/motels clustered in the area, but not quite top-tier. The room was spacious and comfortable and while the balcony was too tiny to be usable, it was great having the big sliding doors to open for fresh air. Biggest knock was that there were some stains on the sheets that made us think they needed to improve their laundry process, hence the low cleanliness score. Parking charge was a bit steep, but not out of line for the area and at least there seemed to be plenty of space in the garage. However the WiFi is complimentary and worked quite well, so that balanced out the parking expense somewhat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

District Wine is a wonderful local place for wine, beer and small plates.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Long Beach Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
William Traveler
Business
Santa Barbara, California
Nov 14, 2014

Needs some maintenance

The room was average but the beds were comfortable. The hallways and room smelled of mold and were very musty smelling. Don't forget the added on parking fee. Not a hotel I would stay at again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Many restaurants within a short drive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Long Beach Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kansas agronomist
Business
central Kansas
Nov 6, 2014

Clean and comfortable but noisy

This hotel is within easy walking distance of the Long Beach convention center. Very pleasant lobby and staff. The room was very clean. My only complaint (other than price) is that something about the way the room doors close meant that at certain times of day it sounded like doors were being slammed over and over. At first I thought my neighbors were having a big party, but maybe it was just people coming and going up and down the whole hall. Could hear neighbors talking so maybe the walls are also thin?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Long Beach Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Model Maria
Business
Palmdale, California
Sep 9, 2014

Nice spot!!!

It was very clean & the staff was very friendly. I loved how it was soo close to everything. Walking distance from pier!!! I think the price could be a lil cheaper though. Overall it was a great spot!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Long Beach Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Glam mom 2013
Business
Memphis, Tennessee
Sep 3, 2014

romantic getaway

The staff was very friendly and the only thing I didn't like was the fact that I had to pay for parking but overall the stay was awesome

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Long Beach Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
NH from AZ
Business
Phoenix
Sep 2, 2014

A marginal 3 star hotel

Great staff but the hotel needs an update. Lobby was ok but room needs to be updated. Area by the hotel wasnt that nice but we didnt spend any time in Long Beach any way

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Vons is literally across the street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Long Beach Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ABS JR.
Business
New Orleans
Aug 11, 2014

nice hotel

Stayed here while I was at a conference in long beach. Good stay. ...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top