$142 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 20, 2015 Check-out: Apr 23, 2015

Hotel Laguna

3 stars
View map of 425 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Laguna

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
45 out of 45
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.6

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Laguna

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MGPV
Business
WINNETKA, CA
Jan 2, 2014

WONDERFUL NEW YEAR EVE

I liked it. It was clean. It is very close to the beach and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Laguna

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SoCal Traveler14
Business
San Diego, CA
Aug 29, 2013

Perfect Southern California Getaway

Very friendly staff (with a few exceptions), clean and comfortable hotel room, and a location that cannot be beat! Would definetly stay here again in one of the partial ocean view/beachfront rooms!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Head just a few streets down to Forest Ave. to find many hidden gems!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Laguna

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
m.raven
Business
Redlands, Ca
Jul 25, 2013

perfect location

The staff are fabulous, quick to take care of needs, polite and engaging. The room was very clean, the beds are marvelously comfortable. The resturant was great and very accomadating for special diet needs. The only complaint I had was no complimentery in room coffee, room service charges for delivery, or you have to get dressed and go to the resturant. A coffee cart in the lobby would be great...or even better coffee in the room. The location was perfect, easy walking to the whole village.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Laguna

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy Hubby 2
Business
Downey, CA
Jul 1, 2013

Great Birthday Bash

This was a fun get away. I really enjoyed the hotel and it's location. It was right in the heart of the whole town and all the great shops. I liked that the hotel had an exclusive Hotel Beach area, to sit and order drinks!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Las Brisas has great food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Laguna

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
the wedding master
Business
New York, NY
Jul 1, 2013

Perfect Location

Right on the beach in beautiful Laguna. Next to great restaurants with amazing views. The hotel itself is fine, its certainly not modern and looks it, but its clean and comfortable. But if you are not staying there for the beach access and views, then might as well stay somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Laguna

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sierra Therese
Business
San Diego, California
Jul 1, 2013

Charming and Beautiful

The hotel was amazing! We had such a good time there. We were a bit skeptical since some of the reviews said that the rooms were dirty or that the Valley View room was hard to sleep in because of the traffic sounds. None of this was the case for us. Our room was just a little bit hot which was our only problem but we were only in the room to sleep anyway! The hotel has a delightful private beach where you can order food and drinks and the staff there was so friendly and helpful. I loved this cute little hotel with the most amazing view and the town is so close, we never even used our car. Great place! Will visit again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Cliff restaurant has the best views in the city!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Laguna

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Picked wrong
Business
California
Jun 23, 2013

Great location, but no AC!

We usually would not have been able to afford this hotel, but we had a great discount offer so we jumped at the chance... wish we hadn't. The location could not be better... on the beach, right next to a playground for kids and surrounded by good stores, dining, and even a movie theatre. Outside of the hotel is beautiful, but when they say historical that includes the tiny rooms and bathrooms. We were extremely disappointed when we were already checked in and realized there is no cooling system other than a ceiling fan. The staff did bring a small portable fan to our room but it was still so muggy. We had to keep the windows open all day and night to air out the room, but had to keep our kids away from that side of the room since there are no screens or bars... windows are just wide open, not very safe. It was also very noisy. Between the noise and uncomfortable room temperature and mugginess, it was hard to get a good sleep... even after a day playing in the ocean. We also thought there was a continental breakfast which turned out to be just coffee and tea. They do give you a 25% off voucher to eat breakfast in their restaurant (which looks over the ocean). Next time we will try to stay somewhere else close to the same area, but we will not be staying there again... too uncomfortable!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Laguna

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cristina Needed Break
Business
Las Vegas
Jun 15, 2013

Great location

The location is excellent, the price is affordable, and the staff was nice. The only negative is that our room was right above the trash pickup facing the park and the pickup trash Sunday morning noise LOUD!! Whatever it was...trash or delivery, it was loud! Room 211

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Laguna

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Hunter132
Business
Los Angeles
May 28, 2013

Needs an overhaul

Location is the only benefit. Hotel is moldy and the carpets need cleaning -- I've been sick for two days after our one night stay. Basic amenities are missing. No air conditioning mandated windows staying open which made for a very loud evening. Don't come with children as there are no safety devices on windows or hallway emergency exits. Service for cocktails on the deck was lacking although the view was great. We didn't have dinner ther but the couple next to us seemed very dissatisfied. Parking was $20 and they got me for another $5 for early arrival -- I was happy to pay though given the traffic and parking in Laguna is horrendous. Breakfast was ok but -- again -- service was marginal. Next time I'll stay in Newport Beach for a little bit more and have all the amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Laguna

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hugo and Kathy
Business
Chicago, IL
May 26, 2013

Nice location but needs updating

The hotel is nicely located on the beach and close to all the attraction in Laguna. It could stand much updating. Do not accept a Village view room as you will not sleep past 6 AM due to the noise from traffic. This could easily be fixed with new type of windows as the current windows appear to be the originals which are in bad shape. Management was understanding and offered us a garden view room but for an additional $50. That was their solution to our problem. Be careful when bathing as both my wife and I were nearly scalded due to water temperature changes that came on suddenly, a real problem! Parking is $20 per day. Parking attendant was very nice and helpful. Love Laguna Beach but will look for another place to stay next time we go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Rock'N Fish is a great place to eat, you need to try their Signature Oak Grilled Fresh Artichoke as an appetizer it's out of this world. Romeo cucina is also a great Italian restaurant where the food is great the service better. You wont be disappointed! We had a great breakfast at a fantastic local place named Orange Inn. Nothing fancy just great food and coffee, try it you'll love sharing a table with the local folks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top