$259 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 3, 2014

Lodge At Torrey Pines

5 stars
11480 N. Torrey Pines Rd., La Jolla, CA 92037
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
25 reviews
Wonderful getaway for a couple

This was a great weekend escape. The Lodge is beautiful and we loved the architecture. The staff... See full review

  • Weekend Getaway Retreater
  • Aug 25, 2014
nice place

everything good,special the golf,when we stay the juniot world champion match just start.realy nice See full review

  • Stone fron hangzhou
  • Jul 16, 2014

Situated adjacent to the 18th green of San Diego's championship Torrey Pines Golf Course, the Lodge at Torrey Pines is set within 6.5 acres overlooking the Pacific Ocean on the Torrey Pines cliffs in La Jolla, California. In keeping with the early 1900s Craftsman-inspired style, rooms and suites feature custom-designed furniture and fabrics, and high-speed wireless Internet access. Premier shopping and beautiful beaches are just minutes away in nearby La Jolla. The lodge also offers two on-site restaurants and a heated pool with poolside cabanas.

Highlights
  • Tee off at San Diego’s championship Torrey Pines Golf Course
  • Stunning cliff top setting overlooking the Pacific Ocean
  • Close to premier shopping and beautiful beaches at La Jolla
Rooms

The Lodge at Torrey Pines offers 170 spacious guest rooms and suites ranging in size from 520 to more than 1,500 square feet. Evoking an era when craftsmanship was paramount, rooms feature custom-designed Stickley-style furniture, leathers and fabrics and elegant decoration in warm tones. Rooms include one king size or two queen size beds with quality Egyptian linens and walk-in closets. Modern conveniences include Bose Wave stereo systems and high-speed Internet access. Superior rooms and suites offer additional luxuries such as private patios, separate parlors and granite bathrooms with oversized tubs.

Features

For on-site wining and dining, The Grill & Bar is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, serving an extensive menu of light snacks, hearty fare and gourmet cuisine. Its casual atmosphere and convenience to the golf course makes it an ideal place to meet up with friends. A.R. Valentien is the Lodge at Torrey Pine's signature restaurant where a seasonally influenced menu offers fresh, regional San Diego cuisine, served in a Craftsman-style interior with timber beams and stained-glass lanterns.

Relax indoors in lavish public rooms with fireplaces, large mantelpieces, overstuffed couches and leather chairs, or soak up the sun beside the heated outdoor pool with poolside cabanas and a large terrace with chaise lounges.

The resort's spa offers an extensive range of indulgent massages, facial and body treatments utilizing botanical and marine based products from Phytomer, True and Comfort Zone

Transportation
  • San Diego International Airport
  • Lindbergh International Airport
Nearby Attractions
  • Torrey Pines State Reserve
  • La Jolla shops and beaches
Business
  • Over 13,000 square feet of elegant meeting, seminar and banqueting space.

Hotel Map

32.9045 -117.2433
Area served
La Jolla, San Diego
Nearby airports
San Diego International Airport Lindbergh International Airport
Area description
You could easily spend your entire visit on the 6.5-acre grounds, the golf course and the adjacent Torrey Pines State Reserve. Downtown San Diego is about a 20-minute drive south on Interstate 5.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Lodge At Torrey Pines also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Lodge At Torrey Pines Rooms

Signature Special
These rooms offer tranquil views of our botanical reserve. They are quite spacious at over 500 square feet in size. These rooms come with a king sized bed, or two queen sized beds appointed with fine Egyptian cotton linens and quilted duvets. They are furnished with Stickley style furniture embodying the early 1900 Craftsman era, and feature fine woods, fabrics, and leathers. All rooms have luxurious granite and marble bathrooms with Craftsman accents and hardwoods. Guest room amenities include state of the art sound systems, complimentary high-speed Internet hookups, laptop size safes, mini-bars, and 24-hour room service.
Reserve King
One king bed with Egyptian-cotton linens and duvets. Torrey Pines State Reserve botanical recreation view. Approximately 600 square feet. Stickley-style furnishings. Sitting area. Walk-in closet. Marble bath, separate commode with telephone. Minibar. Coffee/tea maker. Complimentary bottled water. High-end radio/CD player. Cable/satellite TV. Pay movies. Video games (surcharge). Multi-line phone. Voice mail. Complimentary high-speed Internet access. Dial-up Internet access (surcharge). Twice-daily housekeeping. Nightly turndown service.
Palisade King
The Palisade guest rooms have spectacular views overlooking the Torrey Pines Golf Course and the Pacific Ocean, and offer 600 square feet of spacious accommodations. Rooms include one king bed with Egyptian cotton linens and quilted duvets. Roll away beds are available at no extra charge. These rooms also offer a fireplace, dual sinks, a walk-in shower, an over sized tub, elegant Stickley style furniture, a Bose CD player/radio, and a walk-in closet.
Signature Special
These rooms offer tranquil views of our botanical reserve. They are quite spacious at over 500 square feet in size. These rooms come with two queen sized beds or one king bed, appointed with fine Egyptian cotton linens and quilted duvets. They are furnished with Stickley style furniture embodying the early 1900 Craftsman era, and feature fine woods, fabrics, and leathers. All rooms have luxurious granite and marble bathrooms with Craftsman accents and hardwoods. Guest room amenities include state of the art sound systems, complimentary high-speed Internet hookups, laptop size safes, mini-bars, and 24-hour room service.
Signature Room
The Signature guest rooms overlook the botanical recreation of the Torrey Pines State Reserve, and offer between 470-520 square feet of spacious accommodations featuring Egyptian cotton linens and quilted duvets. These rooms also offer elegant Stickley style furniture, a Bose CD player/radio, and a walk-in closet. Rooms include one king bed or two queen beds (requests for specific bedding type will be noted but cannot be guaranteed).

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

The Grill & Bar
The Grill offers a casual and convenient dining experience located adjacent to the practice putting greens and starters club house of the torrey pines golf course.
A.R. Valentien
The Lodge's signature restaurant, A.R. Valentien, takes its name from a talented early-1900's California artist whose works in ceramics, watercolors and oils are now valued collectors items. A.R. Valentien features fresh regional cuisine by the award winning chef Jeff Jackson, and is served in an elegant, timbered room overlooking the 18th hole of the Torrey Pines Golf Course. The restaurant's decor also includes an exhibit of original Valentien artwork.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Set the mood for your meetings-large or small, intimate or open, quiet or festive-in our flexible series of elegant spaces. Meeting facilities at the Lodge total over 13,000 square feet, and can be configured for regal dinners, high-tech presentations, casual hard-working seminars and more.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (25)

Ratings and reviews for Lodge At Torrey Pines

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
25 out of 25
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Lodge At Torrey Pines

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Weekend Getaway Retreater
Business
Orange County, CA
Aug 25, 2014

Wonderful getaway for a couple

This was a great weekend escape. The Lodge is beautiful and we loved the architecture. The staff was very helpful. The breakfast was phenomenal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lodge At Torrey Pines

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stone fron hangzhou
Business
Hangzhou china
Jul 16, 2014

nice place

everything good,special the golf,when we stay the juniot world champion match just start.realy nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

good resturant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lodge At Torrey Pines

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Boyfriend of Birthday Gir
Business
Phoenix
May 24, 2014

Nice but no Ice

Staff kind and outgoing in wonderful Lodge on course of Famous Torrey Pines. Upgrades unavailable even though many mid-week vacancies as sweet staff unable to find a way to say "yes". Ice machine has no access to guests and small bucket can only be refilled if you call front desk. $25 per day to park a car in empty garage and only $30 per day to valet. Need a rental car to get anywhere as La Jolla is a ways down the road. Great if golfing only or you want to boast ofstaying at the Lodge. Interior rooms not much of a view even though cute balconies are provided.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Have a rental car to do anything other than golf

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lodge At Torrey Pines

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MIB man
Business
Houston
Jul 13, 2013

was just not what I expected

I have stayed in a lot of hotels for trips. This time my wife and I tought, hey lets stay at nice place. The reception desk everyone was very nice. When cecking in but one thing I was supprised about was. When checking out and we had a couple of issue's or when I told them on the phone what happened.this is whst happened. First night they where great with everything. Then I was changing to go to pool, shirt off and just about to pull shorts down a lady with out knocking just opens the door looks at me and asks turn down service. So when I tell them this I was expecting a little more than just a sorry. What can we do to make it up to you. Then also the room was nice but with a four to five star rate you expect things to be complete and the shower fixtures where not installed correctly. So with all the less expensive places I have.stayed this really is the same to me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lodge At Torrey Pines

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Florida Driverr
Business
New Haven, Connecticut
May 29, 2013

Great Spot

We used The Lodge as a family meeting place for our son who lives in China and us East Coast dwellers. Our rooms we great overlooking Torrey Pine interior nature area. Food and serve was outstanding at AR Valentine's and The Grill. Add on golfing at one of the most scenic courses in America and you can't beat it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Parking was complementary if you didn't use the valet parking service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lodge At Torrey Pines

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Foomench
Business
Longmont, CO
Aug 7, 2012

Great service, nice place, beautiful setting

A few reviews have commented on this being a great place to stay for golfers, but not necessarily for others. Well, we stayed for three nights, never played any golf, and thought the place was first rate. The staff was helpful from the first time I called to tell them of our late arrival to after the stay when we figured out we left a computer charger in our hotel room. In between, the concierge gave us helpful information, the front desk and housekeeping were most professional and responsive, and the restaurant staff was helpful as well, including one time when we didn't eat a meal, but my wife wanted a little bread. In this last case, Diamond at The Grill was particularly accommodating and deserves special thanks. Our room was spacious and the bed comfortable. We didn't have a balcony or patio, and if I go back, I would ask for one. The room included a fridge, and in a nice change from other higher end hotels, complementary internet access.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lodge At Torrey Pines

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Virgi
Business
Washington, USA
Feb 5, 2012

Very good for golfers

Service and staff. Service very good,restaurants good but expensive it was curious to pay for parking.Location is excellent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lodge At Torrey Pines

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
davidoo
Business
Toronto, ON, Canada
Jan 25, 2012

perfect

one of the very best places we've ever stayed ... great friendly service, high end but not stuffy, superb food, wonderful views, amazing golf and hiking right next door, and a close drive to everywhere nearby, la jolla, san diego, etc. highly highly recommended

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lodge At Torrey Pines

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ALGS
Business
New Jersey, USA
Jan 17, 2012

Beautiful Property

A wonderful place to stay! We would like to return when the climate allows to enjoy the pool, as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lodge At Torrey Pines

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JVA2001
Business
Ridgewood, NJ, USA
Dec 1, 2011

Fanatastic experience

The architecture, landscaped grounds and rooms are amazingly beautiful. The service was superb, with a staff as pleasant as any I have encountered. I would recommend it to any one wishing a secluded feel on an historic golf course just minutes from San Diego and a short drive up the coast for some great dinning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Fantastic food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top