$110 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 23, 2014 Check-out: Nov 26, 2014

BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn by the Sea

3 stars
7830 Fay Avenue, La Jolla, CA 92037-4240
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
95 reviews
great stay

Pleasantly surprised that the inn was so convenient to restaurants and beach. Really enjoyed... See full review

  • flyawayd
  • Oct 16, 2014
great vacation

The staff was super attentive. We got fresh towels every day automatically. The bar staff knew us... See full review

  • Greg airline pilot
  • Jun 9, 2014
Stay at this recently renovated hotel in the picturesque village of La Jolla in southern California. Escape to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn by the Sea. A 100% non-smoking facility! Located two blocks from the beautiful beaches of La Jolla, California, the inn offers guests the best in comfort and convenience at a great value. Hotel guests will enjoy strolling down Prospect Street, the Rodeo Drive of San Diego, where they will find great shopping, art galleries and fine dining. Choose a deluxe room with either an ocean view or a view of the village. All hotel guest rooms have interior corridors and are non-smoking. Guests may take advantage of the La Jolla Sports Club fitness center located across the street for a discounted daily fee. Other hotel amenities include an outdoor heated pool, meeting facility, free Wi-Fi, and a complimentary extended continental breakfast. The BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn by the Sea is conveniently located near the Birch Aquarium and the Museum of Contemporary Art. And only about five miles from Torrey Pines Golf Course, home to the 2008 U.S. Open Golf Championships. Wedding parties will appreciate the close proximity to seven beautiful churches. Corporate, senior and group rates are available. Make an online reservation today at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn by the Sea.

Hotel Map

32.8456 -117.2758
Nearby airports
(SAN), 12.00, MI, S;
Area description
Resort

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn by the Sea also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn by the Sea Rooms

2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,OCEAN VW,BALCNY,HISPD,DELUX BEDDING,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,OVERLOOKS POOL,HISPD,DELUXE BEDDING,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACC,COMMASSIST,BATH,MINSTE,NSM,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,MOBILITY ACC,COMMASSIST,BATHTB,VIEW,NSM,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,MOBILITY ACC,COMMASSIST,BATH,MINSTE,NSM,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,PART OCEANVW,BALCNY,HISPD,DELUX BED,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,UPPER FLR,BALCNY,HISPD,DELUX BEDDNG,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,1ST FLR,PATIO,HISPD,DELUXE BEDDING,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,OCEAN VW,BALCNY,HISPD,DELUX BEDDING,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,PART OCEANVW,BALCNY,HISPD,DELUX BED,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,UPPER FLR,BALCNY,HISPD,DELUX BEDDNG,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,1ST FLR,PATIO,HISPD,DELUXE BEDDING,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,OVERSZD TERRACE,HISPD,DELUX BEDDING,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Live entertainment
Dining
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Dining

Sammy's Woodfire Pizza
6.00 mile(s) from Sammy's Woodfire Pizza, full service, American, open for: lunch, dinner,
Jose's Courtroom
4.00 mile(s) from Jose's Courtroom, full service, Mexican, open for: lunch, dinner,
Roppongis
Adjacent to Roppongis, full service, Japanese, open for: lunch, dinner,
Extreme Pizza
4.00 mile(s) from Extreme Pizza, full service, Italian, open for: lunch, dinner,
Burgundy Grill
3.00 mile(s) from Burgundy Grill, full service, French, open for: lunch, dinner,
Trattoria Aqua
6.00 mile(s) from Trattoria Aqua, bar/lounge, Italian, open for: lunch, dinner,
Amici's East Coast Pizza
Adjacent to Amici's East Coast Pizza, full service, Italian, open for: lunch, dinner,
The Steakhouse at AZUL
8.00 mile(s) from The Steakhouse at AZUL, full service, American, open for: lunch, dinner,
Tapenade French Cuisine
6.00 mile(s) from Tapenade French Cuisine, full service, French, open for: lunch, dinner,
The Crab Catcher
6.00 mile(s) from The Crab Catcher, full service, Seafood, open for: lunch, dinner,

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (95)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn by the Sea

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
95 out of 95
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn by the Sea

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BlackPit
Business
Evergreen State
Jul 9, 2012

A Nice Vacation

Great location, minutes walking distance from all the restaurants, shops, coves, ocean. Friendly staff. The parking is a little bit stressful, but with perseverance you will find a spot. Included continental breakfast was good, every day something different. Bottled water and chocolates in your room. Good beds and pillows. Iron & board, hair dryer. Complimentary ice coffee and apples in the lobby. Overall a great experience and we will come back if we travel to La Jolla.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn by the Sea

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Annie Em
Business
Gilbert,Az
Jul 16, 2012

Great Couples Get-a-Way

We were amazed that these rooms were available during the high summer vacation season. The price was much lower than many other hotels in the area, but the accommodations and amenities were excellent. The hotel looked newly refurbished and fresh. The free breakfast buffet was more than expected with several hot foods, and a daily newspaper was an added bonus. We'll definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

We enjoyed walking the trails along the cove. The trail north starts behind the La Jolla Cave Store. There were many picturesque areas for a camera. Wear good hiking/walking shoes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn by the Sea

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
aktravler
Business
Roseville, CA
Jan 21, 2013

Good value for what you get

Very nice location within walkable distance. Love the morning hot breakfast, it's not the best but very worth for the value. Will come back again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn by the Sea

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Paulalane
Business
Boston
Feb 25, 2013

Family visit

This hotel is in a great location,so close to the cove.I walked every day, so many shops and restaurants nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn by the Sea

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Greg airline pilot
Business
Superior, CO
Jun 9, 2014

great vacation

The staff was super attentive. We got fresh towels every day automatically. The bar staff knew us by name and drink after one happy hour there. They even recommended that we sneak up to the 10th floor to the Skyroom to check it out even though it was closed. Great venue there with a view for small private parties.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn by the Sea

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
brooklyn, ny
May 20, 2009

great location for the chill traveler

My husband and I are fairly relaxed travelers, so a clean room and friendly staff make us happy! That said, we loved the location of this hotel -- it's not at water's edge, but for such a reasonable price, a few walking blocks from the water was great for us. We were a few blocks from a lovely walking/running path right along the beach, 1 block from a friendly camera store (who charged our camera battery for us when it died mid-trip!), and 1 to 2 blocks in any direction to great shopping and a variety of restaurants (from the quick and yummy Don Carlos taco shop to high end eateries). We did rent a car to venture outside La Jolla (we were in town for a friend's wedding), but we loved walking to the beach every day to watch the seals that gather nearby!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn by the Sea

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ontario, CA
Dec 16, 2007

The location was excellent and we were able to walk everywhere.

We enjoyed our stay on our recent visit to LaJolla to attend a wedding. All of our events were in walking distance and we could not have asked for a better location or value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

All of LaJolla is in close proximity. Great shops, restaurants and of course the beautiful ocean.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn by the Sea

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
elm_city_traveler
Business
new haven, CT
Sep 24, 2009

Lovely hotel with great service

The hotel lobby was immaculate, with cool interior design. We were thrilled with the location, within walking distance to the beach, great bars/restaurants, and the wedding we were attending! The room was wonderful, opened to a small patio and included complimentary bottled water, free wi-fi and continental breakfast. one of the nicest hotels we've stayed. The location is just spectacular.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We walked down to the Children's Beach, and went swimming after watching the seals!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn by the Sea

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Seabird
Business
Hong Kong
Jun 9, 2010

best stay ever

We went to San Diego for the first time, and this is our best hotel stay ever. The location of this hotel is excellent, given its reasonable price compared to other expensive hotels nearby. It's just a 5-minute walk to the beautiful sea shore of La Jolla. It's very close to the sea lion beach. Room is clean, quiet and of good decor. The breakfast is very good, far beyond our expectation. We will definitely stay here again when we visit San Diego in the future. We will also look for Best Western Inn when we travel elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn by the Sea

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
flyawayd
Business
LaJolla,CA.
Oct 16, 2014

great stay

Pleasantly surprised that the inn was so convenient to restaurants and beach. Really enjoyed afternoon tea and coffee in the lobby. Breakfast was more than expected and great seating by the pool indoors or out. Staff was very friendly and helpful. I would reccomend this inn to anyone staying in La Jolla. We got an adorable mini crib for the baby which was very convenient too.Thanks Days Inn staff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Several good restaurants. We ate late lunch on the outside deck at Josephs which had awesome tacos and guacamole. In the evening we ate ahi tuna salad at Albert Krauss brewery. Enjoyed being able to walk !

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top