$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2015 Check-out: Aug 20, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn by the Sea

3 stars
View map of 7830 Fay Avenue, La Jolla, CA 92037-4240

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn by the Sea

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
97 out of 97
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn by the Sea

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
tired of choosing
Business
la jolla
Sep 26, 2012

convenient location

Found the breakfast room a little chaotic, messy and lacking in a fresh odour

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

karl strauss brewery excellent food & beer tastings

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn by the Sea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Quark
Business
Buffalo
Sep 18, 2012

Very satisfied with Inn by the Sea

Very good value, smack in the center of all the action. We would not hesitate to return. Breakfast was not gourmet but definitely much better than the muffin we've been treated to at other locations. Here, quiche and hashed potatoes are offered, as well as yogurt, OJ, Apple juice, and milk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn by the Sea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grecognos
Business
Los Gatos, CA
Aug 9, 2012

Great hotel

This is a great hotel in La Jolla, very clean and nice. As long as you don't count to have a quiet breakfast in the morning (included) is a perfect stay for a business traveler also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn by the Sea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SKC Mom
Business
Central Texas
Aug 1, 2012

Great views

Nice hotel, great location, excellent views, free breakfast! Staff could probably be a little friendlier, but overall experience was good. Enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn by the Sea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
san diego junkie
Business
Tucson, AZ
Jul 17, 2012

OKAY STAY..

We typically stay near Mission Beach but the crowd has become rough so we stayed in La Jolla. Not really an area for kids. Shopping,Dinning is nice. The beach is within blocks of our hotel but not big enough so we ended up in mission beach and del mar. Next time staying in Del Mar. The hotel is not bad for a 3 star hotel, rate was cheap. Staff not friendly and housekeeping didn't clean very well. The coffee maker was not cleaned out and bathroom was okay cleaned.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn by the Sea

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Annie Em
Business
Gilbert,Az
Jul 16, 2012

Great Couples Get-a-Way

We were amazed that these rooms were available during the high summer vacation season. The price was much lower than many other hotels in the area, but the accommodations and amenities were excellent. The hotel looked newly refurbished and fresh. The free breakfast buffet was more than expected with several hot foods, and a daily newspaper was an added bonus. We'll definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

We enjoyed walking the trails along the cove. The trail north starts behind the La Jolla Cave Store. There were many picturesque areas for a camera. Wear good hiking/walking shoes.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn by the Sea

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Colonel Al
Business
Murrieta, CA
Jul 14, 2012

Big disappointment

The room was not anywhere close to a 3 star rating. The mattress needed help to say the least. The hole in the wall beside the headboard needed to be repaired and the area needed painting. There was no refrigerator or microwave and the coffee maker should have been in an antique shop. The continental breakfast was just "okay", but should be upgraded to rated 3 star. It was just wrong to charge this much for a mediocre room and then charge $12.00 per day for parking. This hotel gives Best Western a bad name.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Gas Lamp District is a must for an evening of enjoyment, both dining and entertainment.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn by the Sea

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BlackPit
Business
Evergreen State
Jul 9, 2012

A Nice Vacation

Great location, minutes walking distance from all the restaurants, shops, coves, ocean. Friendly staff. The parking is a little bit stressful, but with perseverance you will find a spot. Included continental breakfast was good, every day something different. Bottled water and chocolates in your room. Good beds and pillows. Iron & board, hair dryer. Complimentary ice coffee and apples in the lobby. Overall a great experience and we will come back if we travel to La Jolla.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn by the Sea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
nazarenah
Business
Portland, Oregon
Jul 5, 2012

Awesome walking vacation!

Can't beat the location. Park your car and walk around beautiful La Jolla. Only problem was the temperature of the room. The air conditoner heated the room, and the heater cooled the room. Didn't figure this out until the last night so the first few nights were uncomfortablely warm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn by the Sea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vivace55
Business
Hutchinson, KS
Jun 27, 2012

Satisfying Getaway to La Jolla

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Inn by the Sea. The location of the hotel was perfect for me and my 2 daughters. Short walk to the beach and shopping, very clean room, comfortable beds, pleasant and helpful staff, sufficient breakfast. Our room was on the second floor. My only issue was that it was a bit noisy. You could hear sounds coming from the floor above us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top