$81 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 26, 2014 Check-out: Dec 29, 2014

Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

3 stars
18700 MacArthur Blvd., Irvine, CA 92612
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
375 reviews
Short business trip

Atrium was in a great location for a great price. The atrium area is a beautiful atmosphere. It was... See full review

  • Family Business Traveler
  • Oct 16, 2014
Beyond Expectations

We chose this hotel because it was walking distance to the airport. Ease of access was only one... See full review

  • freq traveler90
  • Jul 25, 2014
The first hotel built near the Orange County Airport (John Wayne Airport - SNA) in the 1960s, the Atrium Hotel was originally known as "The Airporter", evolving into today's chic hangout, spilling over with water fountains and lush with native greenery. The business facilities are impressive - a 700-capacity event space and seven meeting suites, from boardroom to poolside. Guests can ease any travel stress away at the Ilum poolside lounge, with its outdoor sofas and intimate cabanas, sipping a Cosmopolitan in the California sun. As the air cools in the evening, sample some of Chef Chris Reischl's global menu, from the Far East to Continental Europe, at Waterfalls restaurant.
Key facts
  • On-site car rental
  • Salon
  • Outdoor pool
  • Poolside bar
  • Restaurant: Waterfall
  • High-speed Internet
  • ATM
  • Laundry facilities
  • 24-hour business center
  • Meeting rooms and event space
  • 24-hour front desk
Neighborhood
Across the road from the airport in the Irvine Business District, the Atrium Hotel is minutes away from the Irvine Business Complex and just off the San Diego Freeway. To the south is San Diego Creek, which twists and turns its way out to the famous surf haven of Newport Beach. If you're looking for shopping options, the South Coast Plaza's luxury stores and boutiques are less than two miles down the road. The Plaza is also the place to go for delicacies like the roasted crabs at AnQi Bistro.
Hints and tips
Take advantage of the hotel's free shuttle to and from the airport, which can work out cheaper than parking if you're not traveling around the wider area by car.

For the quietest stay, book a room away from the pool, since there is often poolside entertainment by the cabanas in the evening-though of course, you could to the opposite and join in the fun.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport also booked these hotels.

Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport Rooms

Standard room with king bed
One king bed. Furnished balcony. Desk with chair. Armoire holds cable TV with pay movies. Complimentary high-speed Internet access. Coffee/tea maker. Complimentary USA Today.
Standard room with two double beds
Two double beds. Furnished balcony. Desk with chair. Armoire holds cable TV with pay movies. Complimentary high-speed Internet access. Coffee/tea maker. Complimentary USA Today.
Winter Special
Special promotional rate. Room with one king bed or two doubles.Furnished balcony. Desk with chair. Armoire holds cable TV with pay movies. Complimentary high-speed Internet access. Coffee/tea maker. Complimentary USA Today.
Triple Play Room
Includes - King or Double/Double room, daily breakfast and parking. Furnished balcony. Desk with chair. Armoire holds cable TV with pay movies. Complimentary high-speed Internet access. Coffee/tea maker. Complimentary USA Today.
Advance Purchase
Book in advance and save. Room with one king bed or two doubles.Furnished balcony. Desk with chair. Armoire holds cable TV with pay movies. Complimentary high-speed Internet access. Coffee/tea maker. Complimentary USA Today.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Bren Events Center: 2 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Atrium Hotel will satisfy all of your meeting, conference and banquet needs. Our professional staff will cater and serve your event in facilities for small meetings to grand receptions of up to 700 guests.

Dining

Waterfalls Restaurant
The Waterfalls Restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner 7 days a week and features an array of European, California and Asian cuisine! Enjoy your meal in a casually elegant ambience tended by attentive, friendly waiters. All for the nominal price of $14.95.
Sunset Lounge
Looking for more than food to satisfy your appetite? Join us in our Sunset Lounge located on the 2nd floor mezzanine. Our friendly and courteous staff will provide cocktails and appetizers while you enjoy the cool sounds of our prescriptive background music.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (375)

Ratings and reviews for Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
92 out of 375
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
llaud39
Business
Portland, OR
Nov 14, 2014

Room furnishings very old

I think our travel company must have been assigned the oldest rooms in the complex. Most furniture piece were nicked and damaged. There was only one chair [for 2 people??]. We requested a second and received it. One of the lights by the bedside had a burned out bulb. Our room was at the very back of the complex and the 2 room card/keys didn't work and TWICE we had to return to the desk to have them re-keyed. And finally a technician had to work on the lock. When we wanted to report the burned out light bulb the phone were not working. The lobby and reception and pool areas all still look very appealing but the room was a disapointment. This is a 3rd stay in this hotel mostly because of the location. But it may be our last.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rockovage
Business
orrange county
Oct 19, 2014

Great place for the price !

Great location , clean room and very comfortable bed . For the price I would stay there again in a heartbeat .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

walking distance to airport

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Family Business Traveler
Business
Palm Desert, CA
Oct 16, 2014

Short business trip

Atrium was in a great location for a great price. The atrium area is a beautiful atmosphere. It was quiet, clean, and the room service was fast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Frequent Disney Gooer
Business
Temecula, CA
Sep 2, 2014

Good Location

Excellent place to stay if you are going to fly out or into John Wayne. It is an older hotel with old rooms, doors, shower, alarm clock, etc... and you can hear everything in the hallway. However it is a pretty good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Month end maddness
Business
Irvine, Ca
Sep 2, 2014

One night getaway

Nice outdoor area to sit and relax under your own cabana with a TV.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
VictorianPornStar
Business
San Diego, CA
Aug 18, 2014

Fun pool party.

I came here for my wife's freind's birthday pool party and we had a great time. They were able to easily get a cabana by the pool and we swam and hung out and had a good time. We shared the fish tacos and a few drinks at the pool which were all good and reasonably priced for hotel fare.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DesiKitty
Business
Lancaster, CA
Aug 18, 2014

Great POOL

This was a really nice hotel. Even being right next door to the airport we did not hear any planes. Staff was really helpful. You do have to pay for parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CrossFit couple
Business
Rockford, Illinois
Jul 29, 2014

Review

This hotel was pretty average. It did have a really nice pool area though. We stayed 4 nights. A couple things I didn't like... The room smelt funny. I think it was from the AC unit. Every night I had to request an additional wash cloth. I'm not sure why they were only leaving one. I was also surprised to find out that it costs $12 a night to park there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Fashion Island is a great mall.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Beach Trip Couple
Business
Beaumont
Jul 25, 2014

Feeling Deceived.

On the website it said nothing about parking costing $12 a day!! We reserved 1 king bed, they sent us to a room with 2 queens and we had to wait 30 minutes before we were able to get to our room. The "fitness center" consisted of a closet sized room with 4 things... Treadmill, stair climber, bike, and a chest machine... And there was no jacuzzi/ spa at all. It took asking 3 times before we actually got out towels at 11pm. Overall, I feel if the staff had more since of urgency or if they cared a little more about the guest experience...my stay would have gone better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

El Torito had excellent service and staff. See Jorge for the guacamole!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chris the Travelin Man
Business
Temecula, CA
Jul 25, 2014

Good airport location

Checkin was 3pm, we arrived early at 2pm. Was told by clerk at front desk that room would be ready at 3pm and that we could hang out at the pool if we wanted. So they stored our luggage and we went to the pool with a small soft cooler which had a six-pack of beercans that we brought for the room. The Pool area is beautiful and was literally deserted. Only two other people were there. We ordered some food at the pool bar and drank our beers waiting for the room. At 3:00, the room was still not ready. Our food arrived and we ate and had two more beers and then I checked again at 3:30....room still not ready. Checked again at 4pm...still not ready, so I complained and the other clerk offered me two free breakfast buffets. I accepted and went back to the pool area as my wife was gathering our stuff as the Manager told her she couldn't have her own beer (in cans, mind you). A few seconds later, a bellhop brought us our keys. That manager who harassed my wife walked by us several times when I was out there and never said a word about the beer. As soon as I walk away, he confronts my wife....what a weanie! Finally got our room, it was very small but the bed was comfortable and the Flat Screen TV was a nice touch! With the exception of the one manager in the pool area, we had a very good stay. Although the breakfast buffet in the morning was very sparse. I wouldn't pay for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

El Torito Restaurant is within walking distance as is a IHOP. Avoid the breakfast buffet.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top